Hahahahahahaha
The IRONY of someone who is part of a group of people who are consistently on the wrong side of the arguement telling 'progressives' that they are always wrong is one of the funniest things I've read here in a long time.
The irony of people who will believe any old shite as long as it aligns with their beliefs only to have their togs pulled down constantly when it turns out the 'reports' they have read have been, at the very least, massively fabricated.
Needed that laugh. Brilliant.
There seems to be a lot of confusion among some posters here. Significant inward immigration is not the same thing as multiculturalism.
Actually, I'd say that you're a mite confused here, as you're using examples for migration and multiculturalism which don't work very well. Mass immigration is the modern expression of multiculturalism, because the infrastructure has been put in place by the governments, NGOs, etc. That infrastructure is the layers of organisations that benefit from increasing populations of foreign cultural groupings.
The path of multiculturalism rests on the recognition of foreign cultural groups, and the provision of rights/supports/protections to those groups, elevating them above the average native from the host nation, as compensation for the natural advantages that the natives typically have through generational wealth, education received at source, etc. The thrust of multiculturalism is to promote the differences in cultural groups, so that foreign cultures remain separate from the native group. For multiculturalists, they want greater populations of foreign groups, because then, the differences become more obvious. With small populations, the impact of the differences is lessened, and that doesn't tend to increase the influence of the NGOs, activists, politicians, etc.
France tried significant inward immigration tied to the idea that must accept the values of the republic. This is not multiculturalism.
The UK tried an approach more akin to multiculturalism. Those who say this was a complete failure, take note of the many successful first second and third generation Asians in the UK, including plenty of Asian Britons and also black Britons in the current Cabinet (whatever one thinks of the Tories). There have been both failings and successes associated with the UK approach.
In both cases, of the UK and France, the majority of their inward immigration arose from their links to colonial possessions, along with the remnants of their African/M.East Adventures. Both the UK and France continued to play games in Africa and the M.East, even after relinquishing their actual territories, but also extended citizenship and other rights to the peoples from those colonies, or "allies". Their experiences with foreign cultures mostly doesn't come from mass immigration, as Ireland or other non-imperial/colonial empires, experienced. The dynamics are completely different.
The UK has had some success because the core groups of foreign cultures that came there, already had a foundation in English/British culture. India (or those within the commonwealth) continued, after independence, to push British educational standards in their own schools, with many Indians spending time around British people. There was an exchange of culture over decades...
I don't think anyone here has said that the UK is a complete failure. It certainly isn't. However, it's not any kind of success either. The degree of crime/violence that involves BAME in the UK is a good indication of that, and it's not limited to the cities. Same with the presence of BAME in unemployment or welfare statistics, or those who exist within the Shadow/Black economy.
As for France, they're royally screwed, but the demographics involved are very different from the UK, and there was never any kind of exchange of culture between the natives from Algeria, Morocco, etc and the French. They were seen as aggressive and brutal occupiers, and the immigrants brought their hatred of the French with them, when they immigrated to France proper.
Entirely different situations for both the UK and France... but even greater differences for the rest of Europe, when it comes to multiculturalism and immigration. Perhaps you should look at the poster children of multiculturalism... Germany and Sweden, both of whom lauded multiculturalism, and did encourage mass immigration.
In this country we seem to be conducting a brave experiment, which is be a very nice and hospitable and welcoming place to people from cultures entirely different to our own, and hope that we won't ever be affected by the types of issues that have plagued both France, and to a lesser extent, the UK. I, in common with the majority of posters here am sceptical about this strategy. If it works, great, if it doesn't, then the people responsible need to be held accountable.
The Irish have a terrible track record in making anyone responsible for the negatives that happen. It's not going to matter anyway.. the damage will have been done. And no, it's not going to work.. and in fact, we can already see the decline in hospitality by Irish people, the rise of tribalism, etc. And from looking at migrant groups, we can already see the expectations and sense of entitlement that is present elsewhere, which invariably leads to economic problems and social unrest.
There's simply too much wishful thinking going on. We're doing exactly the same as other European nations did, and we're expecting a different result. Forget the UK and France. We're doing the same as Denmark, Sweden, etc. All countries that had a high standard of living, relatively high cost of living, and decent economies within the first world nations. And yet, most of them are struggling now, both socially, and economically.
Significant inward migration and multiculturalism are not the same thing. I can't recall anyone saying that they were... but they go hand-in-hand.
Not at all. Locals got together to discuss the situation and speak to relevant powers that be on the issues. They worked together to address the issues. They met with all local TDs and representatives of the Minister and the Gardai. It turns out a lot of the stories going around had never been reported to the Gardai. As I predicted earlier a lot of the stories were pretty much fake news. All the NP fanboys on here must be gutted but Kinnegad ran the fascist scum out of town.
A nice thread here on the goings on by the right wing snowflakes and grifters.
It’s an issue alright and t he NOG crowd won’ t be cnotent until it’s reflected in your most of rural of hearts… when their poster child nike tykes with issues are standing on placarded doorsteps of great laureates past in their jammies shouting the whole village down like they’ve the run of the place, for mammy to pick up their coco pops.
There’s nothing progressive about it you absolutely want to conserve; make no mistake and I cannot reiterate that enough.
It's just the NGO Industrial Complex and Progressives trying to muddy the waters and implement the tried and trusted "victim" narrative. A serious problem with refugees exists in Kinnegad, but the NGO's and Progressives ignore that and point to four **** eejits who rock up to Kinnegad from the National Party and say "Forget the problems with the refugees! THIS IS THE REAL PROBLEM!!! RACISTS!!!!"
Progressives. They never seem to get tired of being wrong all the time.
I wouldn’t touch any with geographic inaccuracies, let alone historical far too forced that’d be for the overtly impressionable you can only overdo blazing saddles so many times folk become weary regardless.
These product are losing their core market every turn, but with the new potential consumer base being so limitless they’re not bothered…
Its the Smithwick's ad that gets me. The switching on of electricity in a 1930's pub, with a black couple standing at the bar.
What were they thinking,
A women standing at the bar in a 1930's pub.
Just wouldn't happen.
I reckon the whole afrokin thing is a stage. Part of conditioning you to believe that you’re it and if not, then you’d want to aspire to be thing is for anyone with so much as an iota it tends to go the other way
Now I understand we have some condescending people, in prominent places but if they truly are working beyond my comprehension then that’s another level of divisive altogether and so I can’t comment on that 🤐
As an example I was watching the football on rte now. The break after the match
Centra ad - check
Car ad - check
Islands edge - check.
The lotto ad got in an Indian, an Asian and 2 black people
According to census 2011 it's 1.42 % of the population who are black.
I'm sure that number is higher now but it's notnon the scale of the representation shown.
I suppose you could draw parallels with the child that wails loudest. You give them a toy or the trophy; albeit a replica and it might sate their tantrum
Surely around 70% of ads on Irish tv have black people in them despite Irelands black population being less than 3%.
If not the main "character " then as a background individual. A box ticking. You won't see a group of white friends on an ad. There is always a token black person there too. Cars, alcohol, food, clothes etc. It's all the same.
Why isn't their an Asian in every ad?
Or an Indian ?
How about someone from the travelling community?
It's bizarre and a form of mental programming
Thread is confusing. Posters linking to reports of underage girls being harassed by refugees are being countered with pictures of national party oddballs who have turned up to stir the pot.
Is the virtue signalling to strangers on the internet worth more than calling out real life harassment of children in an Irish village? How depressing
I'm sorry for the confusion 😗
I've no idea what any of this means. What 'tired accusations of racism?'. My post nowhere contained any accusations of racism.
@dorothylives as per your comment this is an example of what gets a post deleted and gets you labelled a racist
(dorothylives comment was one of the many comments deleted without any mention for anyone following who is wondering why the @ and where half the last few days of the thread went)
They’re already accountable, why should a handful be allowed alter the demograph of the isle. Irrevocably, in summoning all of their powers to draw from all corners it was put to them once and unanimously disapproved; yet here we are being overwhelmed in return what sort of response.
..and the tired accusations of racism; right out of the block it is well established where protections removed that one obstacle they did fabricate was that to become their own people’s last line of defence. I have gone to the tribes, spoke the elders the people are frustrated; dispirited and weary. Apathetic but we reserve the right to our island, we cannot continue like this.
We want, to make progress but the self appointed progressives are holding us back in return. One thing we know we’ve a lot of people to protect; not least from themselves and if we’ve to pick them up kicking and screaming then so be it. It is our duty they must be removed, to safety whilst we deal with the scourge and maybe in time when recovery is in place then they can feel free to have input and go about their day…
I sense a new dawn; is at hand do spread the word.
Is "Jim Corr News" a thing?
Lot of truth in what you say. Refugee policy is bullshit. Guy arrives from Pakistan? After going over two continents and arrives in Ireland looking for Refugee status?
Don't get me wrong in particular crisis like Ukraine and Syria we should do our bit but make it practically impossible if you skip ten countries to get here
Just a bunch of gombeens spamming sh*te and thinking they are playing 4D chess.
https://twitter.com/EamonnVIDF/status/1545375394030915584
It's funny what you see in their telegram chats. It's basically a group of lads thinking they are modern day Einsteins when they are getting nowhere and laughed at by the public. Being sent into forums and facebook links to respond to posts lol
The video does not load in the first link and no mention its Philip O Dwyer . The 2 links one is from 1996 the latter 2012 .
Eamonn Crudden hes a lecturer in Dundalk IT.
National party lol, You mean people with no elected officials. No one votes for. even Wiki calles them A minor outfit. Tbh Minor gives them way to much credit.
Added to the pressure is the fact that there is nothing to do for 150 men who are not working and have no activity organised within the hotel.”
Nice they left all their women at home.
The problem is not the accommodation but the occupants
The issue is a national issue not local one
Indeed, blue haired moron's will defend anything these days.
Who’s your favourite actor?
Love Philip; phenomenal talent. You know amongst all of those actors, that are gettn big bucks for it too you can who’s truly at ease with the camera who’s just being themselves is like they don’t even have to get into character. Even when cast as the rogue and the ripple effect tends to put those at ease, on set around them as well it’s a beautiful thing