Pretty sure that without Joey Carbery's late turnstile impression, and with Wale's win over SA, we'd be World Number 1 this evening.
We needed a win by 15+ and for SA to lose.
There's always next week
Been out the whole so havent been able to comment
There arent words out there for how incredible and significant a result this is for this team, the only thing more impressive than the result is the manner we got the result, it wasnt even close! Farrell's selection vindicated!
I do think Ireland without question should save the celebrations to next week as the next step this team needs to make is try seal the series next week!
Think I saw McCloskey on the pitch at full time talking to Henshaw and Ringrose, he must have been one of the extra men for today, which suggests he'll probably end up getting a game this week.
As great as this win was, I would like to see a few changes next week. I think solidified depth will help at the world cup. I hope to see Casey in the 23 along with Coombes and/ or Timoney.
Carberry got 8 minutes. His tackling is dire! In saying that, I hope to see him start! I know. Wtf! Fcuk it, let j10 bench and give Joey Swisscheese a go.
Our best available 23 will be named for next weekend.
Everyone else has Tuesday to impress
I'm looking forward to seeing more of Frawley at 10 during the week and the fact that it's on Tuesday rather than Wednesday probably makes it more feasible to get guys who impress involved at the weekend.
We are now playing for a series win in NZ. There will be very little unforced changes.
True! But the long term is more important, imo. Imagine if at the world cup we're down 4 or 5 lads...., best to develop alternatives.
Putting in back to back winning performances against a top 4 team away is a pretty big learning and will be needed to progress in the World Cup. Agree with others, there will be no changes that aren't enforced given its a tie now.
Long term a series win could really set the mentality going into a World Cup. Our match day 23 is not going to change massively in the next 18 months bar injury. Or perhaps a massive loss of form in Sextons case. The depth to cover into that 23 is coming from the Māori games.
We will have injuries though, both before and during the World Cup. Hopefully Baloucoune and Coombes at least will get a run in the Autumn and 6N. Stockdale might even make a comeback.
It doesn't matter that much but if we win next weekend I'm pretty sure we'll be ranked #1 in the world.
Did we get to #1 briefly under Schmidt or am I making that up?
Briefly in 2019, just before world cup, we were number 1.
Any win will put us 1st in the world.
You do realise this isn't an either or situation? We can win this series and blood players, we can leave the blooding of players to the autumn, this weekend a series and trophy is on the line.
Crazy thinking. Do you want to lose?
It's a chance to win a Test series in New Zealand. A chance to make history. And you want to hamstring the team?
Carbery got 50 minutes in the 1st Test, and played a big game against France in the 6N.
I'm thinking long term. The benifit of getting lads involved would be great. The series counts for nothing in relation to next year's world cup!
Or maybe achieving things they've never done before - like winning against the All Blacks in NZ or winning a Test series in NZ - will give them confidence to go on and do something else they've never done before.
This obsession with World Cups is so bizarre. People have been playing the game of rugby for almost 200 years, the World Cup has been around for 25 years.
4 teams ever have won a series in NZ - the Lions in 1971, Australia twice and South Africa once (in 1937).
I find this notion that we should just obsess over a tournament that comes around every four years and forget about trying to achieve things in the interim period really strange.
Why are Ireland being so indifferent about HIA's
Look at England who have sent home 3 key players who have failed HIA's no questions asked and not doing HIA 2&3
Where has player welfare gone for Ireland?
only Curry has been sent home, due to the fact this player has suffered 3 concussion within 6 months and will likely be stood down for a long period, similar to how sexton was stood down in racing due to the number of head injuries in a short length of time.
Itoje and Underhill have both suffered concussion and are not available for selection, but have not been sent home.
Underhill is just back from along lay off himself due to concussion issues, and has along history of similar issues having missed 3 months already this season, so it makes complete sense to stand him down without having to go through the HIA 2+3
Itoje failed his in game HIA and as he displayed clear concussive symptoms on the field, it was not required that he do the HIA 2 + 3 as concussion was clearly diagnosed due to what the medical officials could see.
you can argue, with merit, that Ireland stretch the elastic on this, but your post is factually incorrect in a few different aspects and disingenuous in others, your argument is much better placed if you stick to what is known.
To add to this, Ringrose has rightly been stood down, was pretty much immediately ruled out of the game this weekend.
A problem with the concussion discussion is that we in general don’t know enough facts to really be able to discuss what’s happening. Its not to say certain teams don’t play fast and loose with the facts but as we don’t actually have the facts it’s a pointless enough discussion.
and as an addition again, POM most probably used the HIA procedure to allow Doris come back on for him, or we'd have been down to 14 for the last few minutes. But really, we dont know, he could be stood down for next weekend, but if hes selected there could be more "ireland don't care about concussion" claims but they could be completely baseless in that instance.
Live in the now.
RWC has been around for 35 years and international rugby would be about 150 years.
Also France have won a series in NZ. 1994.
Sorry, just sloppy on my part on all three points.
My obsession with the world cup, is I want to be the best. Ireland won't win many world championships in any team sport, if any. The 6nations is grand! It doesn't make you the best. I believe we think small. A qf win is seen as a success, a 6nations title? We should be setting the goals higher. We should be aiming to win every competition. Fcuk the small mindset of winning a series. Go win everything!
It's really not. The world cup is the pinnacle of rugby. It's the hardest competition to win and the only true marker of how good teams are, because everyone has equal preparation time and everyone is going all out to win it. Our record at world cups is embarrassing. Our best ever finish is the same as Canada's. And no matter how many times we beat NZ or how high we climb the world rankings, I don't believe we can ever consider ourselves a true powerhouse on the world stage until we at least win a knockout game. And we should absolutely be targeting winning it.