I'm not a big rugby fan but used to occasionally listen to the SC rugby stuff after big Ireland/Leinster matches and it never grabbed my attention. That said, although I can enjoy a rugby match I've rarely found much of the analysis that interesting, perhaps it's too technical for me?
Who would provide good rugby analysis?
Just catching up with some podcasts and that 'Branno' statement/retort to the stupid jersey argument was one of the cringiest things I have ever heard. The 'Sneyd and Branno' shows really irritate me, would love some more variety for LOI chats
Emailed them.
Came back to me in a couple of hours, solved now.
McConville must be staying in Miguel Delaney's gaff.
Shocking quality. Sounded like he was in a conference room speaking into his laptop from a distance.
I agree he’s a cheerleader, what I meant was most interesting / least boring. But yeah, he’s hardly objective
Best pundit? You mean best cheerleader? He also rarely comes on if Ireland are losing.
Listening to it now, McConville sounds like he’s trapped down a well
Yeah it’s not great. Best pundit is probably Gerry Thornley though I find his incessant moaning about refs whenever an Irish side loses tedious. Overall the best contributor is Simon Hick, I think they could use him more. No more Shane Horgan please
Yes.
Are mcconville and flynn due on today's podcast? Looking forward to some analysis of the football semi finals
Suggest reaching out to the lads on twitter, they're pretty good at picking up messages of these nature...
This is wrecking my head. Tried a different card, same result.
same here!
Anyone else have a problem with the Patreon payment?
Doesn't seem to like the card I've been paying with for ages all of a sudden.
The rugby audiobed today felt like a Podcast in itself
I don't know why but I always chuckle when I hear Maria Bailey explaining herself amongst all the Denmark trash talk.
Yeah, that one is seriously dragged out. Wifi wànkers quote is used about 3 times
Haven't said this in a while, but their rugby coverage is consistently woeful and boring. Doesn't matter who they have on, it's always a snorefest.
The longest ones I can think of are Arsenal winning the league, Liverpool winning the league - both are at least 2 minutes worth of skipping forward.
BUT the longest one I think is the Denmark one...that has to be the longest. So much filler in it...I think Maria Bailey appears in it at one stage which is just unnecessary (I'm sure it was somewhat relevant at the time) but I even think Ken said that was weird when he listened back to it a while later.
I believe Murph kicked the back of kens foot from behind. Ken fell onto the ground and scrap burned his jaw neck.
I think they were blind drunk one night and murph jumped up on him. Might even been 2012 at the euros.
I remember Ken having a crush on Diego Lugano.
I had forgotten about that David Silva rant until they started playing the bed earlier this year, apparently it's from July 2020
Ha, Yeah, it's that specific line where he goes full culchie!
YES!! "sitting on the sidelines" or something like that. It goes full Oirish haha. Love the audiobed
I don't mind Ritchie but It has the whiff of getting someone from the RTE canteen to go on The Late Late
It's my favourite one. Ken puts on a very strange culchie accent at one stage during it and I dunno if it's intentional or not
The audio beds are great in general, but some are ENDLESS. The Mayo / Kerry gaa one, Lmerick winning all ireland and the rugby one are the biggest culprits. They feel like 15 minutes each.
It's been mentioned before, but the David Silva "put some respect on my name" audio bed is brilliant. No only do i not skip it, its stays funny!
"quarter final, didn't get on"
Something about the music and how Kens rant goes up in tone slightly with each "didn't get on". Amazing
My vague memory of it was that Murph caused an injury to/mildly disfigured Ken in some way.