It's all falling apart alarmingly fast for Boris Johnson across the water. How long you reckon he has left as British Prime Minister? Hours surely?
How many parties are they talking about now? I've lost count.
Threadbanned users
Packrat
Monopoli
the Unions wanted someone they could control, so they backed Ed who more or less sold his soul for their backing.
Ed beating David was a real sliding doors moment in British politics
Ok by that I assume you also agree that there is no difference between the tories and labour
and they should do that because?
Since when did Scotland, Wales or either of the Irish nations vote for people based on what the English might think?
Same old double standards from the Irish who live/d in England.
of course there is and you don't for one minute believe that there isn't a difference.
All the political parties are run by establishment figures though, that's how politics works.
and those differences are ?
errr, one is let of centre, the other right of centre?
one is under an unhealthy amount of influence by wealthy business people, the other by trade unions.
wikipedia is your friend here
If Trump had treated COVID as a war campaign, been a war time leader. He would have been re-elected on a landslide, if he learnt to shut up occasionally, he would have won as well.
By Tories do you mean people like Blair and Starmer. Who it seems are hardline Tories in the eyes of many Lab activists.
If he's PM, and Mary Lou is Taoiseach at some point in the future, they'll be a few frosty handshakes
Seriously that's all you've got.
Once again I stand by my point - there is no difference between the tories and labour. Nada
that's all I could be bothered to post to be honest. If you don't know the difference betwenn Labour and the Tories, then you really need to educate yourself before voting in any future elections.
If you consider there to be no difference between them, then the only difference between them and the SNP is Freeeeeeedom, because the SNP pretty much cover the full spectrum of political views depending on how they can garner support.
I wonder would the Scots Guards hold more allegiance to a former officer, or to the wee nippy
The only fundamental difference between Blair/Starmer and the Tories is that they are slightly less neoliberal - ie would step back from a full dismantling of the welfare state. The Blair government was the champion of the neoliberal public private partnership and the introduction of private service providers into the NHS.
They really are not socialists in any shape or form.
see post 3080 below
No you are just trying very hard to push a narrative.
I never asked anyone to vote on what another country might think but it is good to be knowledgeable on the affairs of countries you are politically, economically or geographically close to.
Also politics is just an interesting topic so there is no crime in following it across multiple countries.
Why should the UK care about the countries beside it? You will find every country in the World is only interested in their own interests.
In reality if Ireland actually stop spending so much time looking at what is going on in the UK and got on with out own stuff we would be in a much better position. Brexit vote happened how many years ago and we are still crying about it instead of going out and working with all the other countries in the EU which we can trade with.
No it’s not, the GFA agreement will allow for a United Ireland if the people want it, instead of running around looking at the UK government maybe we should concentrate on the Irish government and Northern Ireland assembly actually having a plan in place.
It doesn't matter what Prime Minister is in place the same people will be crying and whinging about them and it makes no difference who is the Prime Minster unless someone comes up with a plan.
How many years have we "republican" parties going on about a United Ireland yet ask them a simple question and they dont have an answer
It wasn't just Covid. He wanted the prestige without doing any actual work across all aspects of his job.
He was never gonna buckle down for Covid or anything else.
Imagine having an interest in the State across the water that still has its sticky fingers in the decision making processes for millions of us across this island.
And here you are too...
Ex-British soldiers ARE the worst when they want to wash away the sins of their former colleagues in Ireland.
3m ago
Boris Johnson will chair a meeting of his new cabinet at 3pm, No 10 says.
Too many lols at this
Incredibly annoying? I'd ask, but it's off topic.
Brexit vote happened how many years ago and we are still crying about it instead of going out and working with all the other countries in the EU which we can trade with.
Em, Ireland did exactly what you suggested. Instead of crying about it, we accepted it and made sure we had the backing of the EU to protect us. We have changed our import/export routes.
It is the Uk that is still crying about Brexit. Boohoo, the EU is being unfair, they are punishing us. Why should we have to pay what we owe, why can't we get an opt-out from the rules, why should the UK have to stick to an agreement!
He has absolutely no shame. Balls of brass as they say..
Sir John Major is saying Johnson should step aside as PM immediately and not remain in Downing St.
it's good to be up on the affairs of countries that are important to you. Ireland isn't important to the English, nor is Scotland or Wales to be frank.
Typical English nationalist nonsense. Nothing to see there.
UK has not control over the decision making process in Rep of Ireland
If you are referring to Northern Ireland, at the moment they are still a separate country to Ireland. Until the people of Northern Ireland vote to join Republic you shouldn't make the assumption they want to leave the UK.
Surely he cannot stay as PM after all of this, either all the key people seem to nhave resigned or been sacked by Boris.
He is after resigning as PM and now he is at the head of the table. I'm going to watch C4 news this evening.
TBF, why would he? The Tories brought this on themselves. Johnson is doing exactly what many said he would. He is not acting out of character. They let him off with everything and then suddenly expect that he will get morals.
Lyin to Queen, grand. Holding parties the night before the Queens husband's funeral? Sure who didn't?
Meeting LGB sons in secret? Not a problem. Getting his missus a job, sure everyone does that.
Hell, he refused to be loyal to TM, walking out in the middle of tense negotiations with the EU, and thus fatally undermining her position. And yet they cheered him on as the saviour.
So, I have little sympathy for any Tory MP that now claims Johnson must go to save teh party. You sold the party to him years ago, now the chips need to be cashed