It's all falling apart alarmingly fast for Boris Johnson across the water. How long you reckon he has left as British Prime Minister? Hours surely?
How many parties are they talking about now? I've lost count.
Threadbanned users
Packrat
Monopoli
Not so.
Look at one of the recent poll results from YouGov:
Despite all the fuss made in the media about Johnson's antics, Conservatives still remain at 34 percent.
With a new leader, the Conservatives can easily claw back any lost support.
That's why I'm upbeat about today's resignation. Long-term, the Conservatives will benefit from this at the expense of the Labour Party.
He doesn't care about NI or the NIP so he has no reason to hang on to get that done anyway.
They were only to distract people and he doesn't need that anymore.
he got in because Parliament was completely broken. You had one third who wanted Brexit, one third that didn't and one third that was going to do all it could to be a pain in the arse. If it wasn't for Johnson and his underhand antics, parliament would still be debating the withdrawel agreement.
Not to mention having a raving communist as opposition leader, who was elected on the same basis that the new arctic survey ship was almost called boaty mcboatface. when a group of student union nerds decide to crowdfund a "True Socialist" they really need to check if he is pro or anti the EU.
that is done now, there needs to be a general election that is run on something other than Brexit
Why?!
That's far from a given. The party is just a dumping ground for creatures too incompetent to threaten Johnson.
Because this poster has already said that politicians are as bad as each other but Boris was "a bit of craic". That's it. That's his/her reason.
Well, if he is replaced by former soldier, Ben Wallace (seems to be gathering support) I might be less pleased.
Anyone for Chaos With Ed Miliband?
So what happens now? There’ll be leadership contest in the Tory party, probably soon. Then once they have a new leader Johnson will step aside? How long will that take?
I find it mad how Irish people can cheer for this conservative government when they’ve caused nothing but drama in the north of this island, raising tensions and showing zero regard for the peace process which transformed this island. Putting it all at risk with their current “strategy “ . Do they not give a shite about peace on this island or are they just thick ignorant beyond belief?
That will take about 3 months. Labour has said they’ll call a VONC in parliament if he is not removed as leader immediately.
Wallace is the new bookies' favourite to take over in fact.
Welcome to the Republic and the various shades of popular opinion down south.
I think Ed beating David Miliband was a real turning point for UK politics. Had David won, I think Brexit may never have happened. He was the strong leader Labour needed instead of the drip that Ed was which lead to a fracturing of the party and resulted in the militant and unmitigated disaster that was Corbyn
Know nothing about him, hear him described as solid and a 'safe pair of hands'. Former military people are not the worst, at least they have some concepts of respect, integrity and chain of commands etc.
No you would have a few other lads on Boards obsessed with Trump and all that culture war nonsense who would be fans of his.
You are just one of the few who isn't gonna hide for a few weeks.
And one of the reasons we are where we are is because English people are obsessed only with English politics and nothing else (except the US and the odd rant about Sturgeon). Maybe if they cared a little more about the politics of their land border countries they would have had more cop on about Brexit.
He has history in NI and would likely be very Pro Unionists
Which given the instability in NI at the moment might be pretty bad.
I am interested what exactly do you see as the difference between the Tories and Labour right now?
From my perspective the only difference between them is one is was led by an unscrupulous but charismatic establishment figure and the other is led by an honest but bland establishment figure.
Other than that nothing
Its like Ireland in the 70s except all one party.
Or probably more accurately a one party state like USSR post Stalin.
Indeed, David was the more popular of the two, but internal machinations and eejitry within Labour manoeuvred Ed into power with disastrous long term consequences.
Which they will lose because no tory will vote against him and risk triggering an election right now. Its a pointless empty threat from labour.
I had better count you we now have a mandate, just the two of us at the party.
I wonder is Boris a member of boards.ie. I just seen him on the news talking about herd, bit like what we have here.
I don't think I've ever enjoyed British Politics this much. Ever.
It really is a massive failure on Johnson's part. He won the GE, with an 80-seat majority. Brexit had been delivered. It really should have, and certainly was talked of at the time, that Johnson was pretty much guaranteed 5 years and probably the next GE as well. So he was looking at 10 years.
And yet he managed less than TM. He had the majority of the media on his side, and the majority of the public was seemingly willing to forgive and forget almost anything once Brexit was delivered. He then got the 'gift' of the Ukraine war, where he could look Churchill without any actual risks or dangers.
Coupled with all of that, he had a party of pretty terrible colleagues, with one of the main reasons he wasn't dealt with sooner being that even the party knows there is really no one else. And finally, an opposition leader that has all the charisma of a piece of wood.
And yet, despite all this, he managed to lose his job so quickly. What a complete disaster and no other way to look at it than that it was a complete failure.
Looking forward to Michael Gove's contribution as well.
unlike the SNP, who is led by a lying and incredibly annoying establishment figure.
I wouldn't be so sure. I think it'd be a win-win for Labour.
If its successful, Boris is removed and the Tories turn to choosing a new leader which I can see turning quite nasty. This is going to happen either way. It would also give Starmer the chance to say how he forced Johnson out when no-one else could.
If if a VONC is not successful or doesn't even get enough support to go ahead, it'd just highlight the self-serving nature of the current Tories and show them up as a bunch of hypocrites who put the party and being in power before the country, despite all the moralising soundbites being rolled out this week.
To be completely honest, when the pandemic hit I thought Trump was guaranteed a second term. Guaranteed. All he had to do was listen to Dr. Fauci and let him make the calls while he laid the foundation for a second term.
Similar but different for Johnson. He caught covid and recovered. He had his opportunity to be wartime PM and instead decided to do what Tories do, flout the rules and award lucrative contracts to his friends and cronies. There was no public space for opposition.
We shouldn't be here. He should be on course for another stonking win in 2024. Instead, he's worse than anyone could have imagined.
The guy was a fraud and totally unsuited to being PM. I don't think he's even particularly intelligent (talk of him being a towering intellect was mostly made up guff by his fanboys). Probably the worst PM of the last 200 years.