May as well start the ball rolling.
Nadal does it. Valiant effort by Fritz
Commentary is woeful cash castle and that French guy whoever he is
Not in the tie breaker it wasn't!
Fritz blew it...but Nadal...what a player...let's hope he can recover for the Kyrgios match
It's Feliciano Lopez - Nadal's Spanish Davis Cup team-mate
Andy Murray's mum's favourite crush apparently - as if he would go near that!
Do the BBC really need to show us Beckham about 100 times.
Never count Nadal out.
Low quality match overall, hard to see Nadal at this level getting over Kyrgios.
Ya match itself was quite boring
Nearly as bad as the commentsry
Showing the same faces throughout the match
Let's not go that far...Andrew Castle....ffs....stealing a living
Absolutely - makes his opponent stand around, heads for the towel, a new racket, anything.
Fritz looked absolutely knackered there towards end of 5th set, could hardly get the ball over the net in the first few points.
Didn't help him that the crowd were giving Nadal a huge lift in the 4th set and onwards. Really tough for challenging players when the crowd really roots for the old favourites.
Well hopefully the semi-final against Kyrgios will be fun
Fairly brutal quality match there and commentary to go with it.
The match was like watching paint dry, apart from the drama
Nadal doesn't help much with his attitude and scowling throughout
Watchin borg & mac back in the day is like watching tennis in slow motion - not saying it was bad just that it was a totally different game back then what with the wooden rackets, the state of the courts, the fitness of the players, todays fitness levels are way higher modern players are more like athletes todays game is all about power & endurance but back then it was more touch & finesse (imo)
Good actors for sure .
Grand slam 23 coming up for the arse picker
Nadal would have you believe at times that he's the "Caballero Negro" lol
Having got up to speed on tennis I don't rate nadals chances
Hadn't heard of krygios prior to this Should be interesting him and Nadal
Nadal is annoying as fukk to watch always scowling and timewasting
It's guaranteed , the calendar slam is written in the stars for him this year
Not a chance is he beating Kyrgios and Djokovic back to back.
I can actually see Kyrgios going all the way, as much as it pains me to say it
so what would "pain" you more?
+ Crowd Spitter, "default him now" opponent crier, umpire incessant rubbish talker, accused domestic abuser etc Kyrgios to win
+ Djokovic to win
wrong on Tan - no, said she wouldn't threaten for the title and going out in the 4th round she didn't.
Watson out too same round.
Are you there? oh you're banned - bad luck.
seems the inevitable happened as predicted...
Is there something wrong with the state of the game? Nadal has some ongoing foot problem, yesterday abdominal pain - gets painkillers and away he goes, bouncing & running around the court like a bunny. Regularly beating lads 10 years younger in the prime of their athletic lives. I have my doubts.
Some cyclists recently offered a perspective on that
Another French rider followed up on the issue on Tuesday, with Guillaume Martin speaking extensively to French newspaper L’Equipe.
“What Nadal did would have been impossible in cycling, and I find that normal,” the Cofidis rider said, referring to the UCI’s no-needle policy that was introduced in 2011.
“If you’re ill or injured, you don’t race, you don’t compete, that makes sense to me, for several reasons. Firstly, for the health of athletes. In the long-term I’m not sure that will do any good to Nadal’s ankle. Moreover, medication - and especially injections - don’t just have a healing effect; they can certainly have effects on performance or be twisted to improve performance, so it seems to me to be very much on the limit.”
Well you know the old cliché - if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, walks like a duck etc - then it's a duck.
I wouldn't say that but the cyclists do make some valid and interesting points - certainly worthy of a conversation around where healing starts and ends and where is the limit crossed over into performance as they said.
Ah, neither outcome is going to cause me any pain 🤣
We don't all obsess and fanboy over certain players. Not all like you with a myopic view of tennis and an unrelenting hard on for Djokovic.
But, fwiw, I would favour Djoko as I can't stand Kyrgios.
i presume they're all drug tested after each match?
it was just a question.
and fair enough you provided an answer.
no need to go off on one!
Apologies. My hatred for Kyrgios, coupled with the fact he is likely to make the final (and possibly win) is clouding matters at present!
On the flip side I'd rather see Nadal win Wimbdledon than Kyrgios - couldn't bear to see that odious yoke Kyrgios gloating around -
I don't remotely buy into the "he's good for tennis / just a character" concept