Very little grass, move the cows into different fields everyday for change of scenery so their happy until after grass is ready. Feeding 5kg of nuts for last few weeks. Theirs a cool breeze every evening where I am. Ground is still rock hard and hot weather on the way.
In the same boat here, struggling to grow any meaningful grass all year, we are quite exposed to the wind that bloody hash cold breeze is hanging around all year
If I could feed the cows ragwort though they wouldn't go hungry..pulling the the bastards for a week now, why do I always forget to spray the hoors every spring!!!!!
Ah lads ye were giving out about Gerald potterton last week and now look ye. Some of you could never be pleased with the weather.
Wexford is in drought conditions. Next to ne meaningful rain at all
I can't remember the last day it didn't rain here, solid since mid May. Land could be in bother if we don't get a decent dry spell
Had rain here the last week. But ground is hard all the time, next 10 days to be dry so possibly time to up the feeding if you think you will be in bother
It's amazing what happens when a government uses the carrot instead of the stick approach
Unfortunately our government is reactive instead of proactive
And they seem to have already decided reducing livestock numbers is the only game in town, based on this quote at the end of that article:
"Where it [AD] may have a role would be if it was to potentially displace livestock – that’s if farmers were no longer producing beef, for example, and they were to grow grass for a feed stock; then a big emissions abatement would occur from the displacement of those livestock from that land.”
What's the mix ratio for gallup per acre ? Was thinking of a bit of reseeding a few acres any chance this fine spell of weather were promised could last for weeks !??
Wait a few weeks. Not a great time to reseed. Could have issues with moisture and frit.
No shortage of carrots in Holland and it didn’t help.
It’s Germanys solution to pollution…and falling profitability.
Its sad to see but they're wasting their time.
This is what kicked it all off in Holland. The Dutch were hauling slurry to the Paris Basin…the EU would get involved in this carry on fairly lively. Not good.
If it was the national government they’d have some chance, but now Brussels are involved.
The **** is going to hit the fan now. Especially as it’s brexit sh1t now
I wouldn’t think so. More of a planning issue than an environmental issue. Saying that Brussels don’t need to be turning the sheeps eye on Ireland. Better off national government sorting their own problems.
Wait till they trawl through the old planning applications in the north with fake documents listing lads in the south that are taking slurry etc. Lads will be shut down over it.
Is it even legal to take slurry over the border anymore??
If it’s legal to trade allsorts on a cross border basis, why not?
It remains a planning issue. One does wonder did Teagasc know it was ‘foreign’ fym that was involved? If so, why did they sign off on it? There’s supposed to be fairly strict regulations about importing/exporting manures between farms, not to mention between countries, whether inside or outside the EU trading block.
Probably nothing at the end of the day once Brussels don’t get involved.
I’ve no idea of the ins and outs of it legally.
There was a report on Rte news last night about all the hassle zoos are having transferring breeding animals for conservation programmes due to Brexit. Prior to brexit there was about 1400 transfers a year between the Uk and rest of the EU. That’s down to less than 50 now.
We'd no problems importing an animal from Scotland recently
Expansion to the dairy or suckled herd?
Young lad bought an in calf pedigree Angus heifer in Scotland for his 21st
Was down at Solohead yesterday, very impressive with zero chemical N. Particularly the bit that no N is required in the spring with enough clover in the pasture
Some setup in Limerick today at the IHFA open day.
It sure was ,you knew turning in the gate looking up the avenue and fields of lush grass and clover left and right and an immaculate yard the place was special …..savage herd of cows ,can fully appreciate the breeding and quality of stock on show ….
Impressive spot alright but it’s put out as a wet farm but a near bottomless budget for drainage and reclamation.
We were saying that, cows out until December, they'd want to visit North Mayo and see what wet is
Is turf cut out or did they reclaim the high banks
I remember ballyhaise doing extended grazing trials. They had the cows in Groups of 20 or something going to different fields. No comparison to 200 cows going to the same field