Zero , 99% cull cows here.
😂,it’s just so hard to get used to the 5,that’s how mistakes happen
That is a 90c/kg drop from the quote I got...... I get mixed up myself with the heady 5euro
met an agent this afternoon, Bullocks 4.10,if you had a large number 4.15 would be got, he thinks they will hold at this and then pickup again in around 7 to weeks he just thinks that the cattle aren’t there, he had a few men that fed out of the shed that would usually graze there cattle , he said cattle are very scarce and he is very quiet at the moment
Strange that the Munster processers are paying more than northern ones now, was the opposite for months. https://www.ifa.ie/markets-and-prices/weekly-cattle-prices-29th-june/
They are r+/u grade bullocks so they’ll eat 4-5kg a day for up to 8 weeks.
How many days do you feed them for and how many kgs do you give them?
Are they weighing heavier than last year?
Are you mealing them?
Will probably start feeding a few next week to have fit for September.
This week is the first week I'm happy with how cattle are killing off grass. Starting to kill better than they look.
Yes but lads like him are getting contracted prices 30-50c/kg more than you or me......and they wonder why we have exited winter beef.
The new 100 euro sub 24 month beef premium is a subsidy to processor's. I see ABP are back trying to promote their Advantage beef program
There is a link to it at the bottom of the article. But in general it's a load off hoops to jump through. The real catch is a minimum of 20 animals under 26 months ( dairy bred 28 for sucklers) with a 24 month average age. Only one movement allowed and QA all there life
20c/kg bonus so 66 euro on a 330 kg DW animal. Again it only a winter finishing bonus
They were only paying a higher than EU average for the last 2-3 weeks. The Netherlands young bull price is still above ours. Polish beef is 4.92.
Remember as well the 5.25% vat rebate. A 5/kg base is costing them about 4.75. Irish steer beef is sold at a premium to Continental bull beef at present. In Germany Irish beef is like Kerrygold butter.
Remember ordinary farmers do not benefit in general from the higher prices. It's generally feedlot beef that is paid a premium.......but the photographs are of your and mine steers on grass.
They were paying a higher price then uk and eu prices up to 2 weeks ago .Who in their right mind would expect this to continue .I would expect base to settle back 50/60 cent from peak so 480 roughly tops .and what would be wrong with it
Heads they win ,and tails you lose.
They didn't let it over heat, the raised them slowly in a period of exceptional demand and supply shortage across Europe and global beef markets.
They arguably ran a tighter ship than normal over the last 6 months.
It's only 7 weeks since the last article I read about Irish beef prices lagging far behind.
It's like they skimmed the cream and protein out of the milk, gave us back watery stuff and called it slim milk and it would help lower our cholesterol. I'm not grateful and they weren't being nice.
No the margins have not being cut to shite. Prices have increased I. supermarkets to more than cover extra costs.
What going on at present is once again market manipulation to increase profits and margin. Yes supermarkets want produce cheaper but farmer need to cover costs as well.
I have calculated that on my grass based system costs have increased by about 50c/ KG. I only have the animal for 12 months. Even allowing for reduced calf prices the calf store man needs another 30c/ kg to cover his costs.
Processor's would not have been as active in the marts and keeping the kill so high unless they had entry of outlets willing to pay for beef.
But now they are trying to drop the price to collapse the autumn store price. We have been below the EU average price for the last few months and that is without the UK price included.
Lamb is the same
We have got nothing like that,
Hopefully that won’t materialize, the only thing cattle seem scarce, my neighbor had two agents ringing him last weekend for cattle but he had none as he finished out of the shed
Their margins have been cut to shite, They'll have to cut the price well to get even with you.
50 - 60 c cut off lamb price this week and threatening the ewe price as well
They didn't. They are losing more winter finishers every year. The dairy farmer that used to finish 40-50 has mainly switch to all dairy.
The suckler farmer finishing his as young bulls is reducing cows. The bigger suckler farmer is gone dairying. The tillage lad now sells his grain off the combine or is selling it dried.
There is less and less lads finishing cattle. As well jJam said there was a lot of 18-20 month cattle hung last back end. One time most winter finishers stock up on beet, grains and silage( maize or grass) but the risk has become too large.
To feed cattle indoors up until Feb this year was costing 3.5-4/ day, at present bits hitting 5/ day.
The factories as well had to complete around the ring for some types of cattle mainly cows and traditional breed cattle. As well heavier cattle were going there as well.
I used to winter finish 20-40 cattle one time. I know jJam used to up until this year
https://www.boards.ie/profile/Jjameson jJam will you go back to winter finishing next year.
Just to give an idea about the rain we got. Passed this river today.
Lads ye sound like ye have been getting overpaid for ye’re cattle all along. Almost sounding institutionalised!
One would still be a while putting together the price of a new tractor, Jeep or a bit of land from the profits of the enterprise.
It’s funny, back here we could do with more, everywhere is still very dry, hopefully things will settle down but your right I don’t know how the factory’s let the thing over heat so much the past month
Alo will depend on ground conditions ,over 4 inches of rain here in s.w. and counting in a 4 days and we have enough now .I off loaded a fortnight ago as growth slowed due to lack of rain so we needed it as but enough is enough!!!
How the factories let prices rise out of control the last month is beyond me
How do you think it will play out? If they get it under 5 will it stop at that?
Factories bought a huge amount of stock in the marts over the past 3 months so they could do this cutting, they have regained some control now again. True a lot of HE and AA were hung at 18 months and more earlier this year. Still most of the FR bullocks though approaching 30 months now, I have 12 myself and a few that will be 30 months in a couple of weeks. They are borderline P/O- now anyway so am tempted to leave them run over the 30 months and take my chances as they have only started to flesh up properly now. Its a though one to call.
I wouldn’t be so sure. There’s an awful lot of dairy beef stock that’ll be coming 30 months old from July to October and lads will move them on no matter what the price.
Have 5 bullocks 26-28 months c.600kg, go to mart now or hang on Bass?
Factories playing games. Quoting 5-5.05/ kg and saying they are full. Killing last of the shed cattle probably at 5.2/ kg or even higher but trying to back up grass cattle.
Very good description
The snakes are a lot longer than the ladders