The Right religious conservatives and who knows who else have today overturned the constitutional right to abortion in the US.
Will this now embolden anti abortionists in this country to fight back?
The US is a cold place for women now.
There is a selection process in picking curriculum material. By picking one book, you are excluding another.
Besides which this stuff isn't Turgenev or the Brontes, its the flotsam and jetsam of left-wing politics, which is everywhere: women get a raw deal, blacks get a raw deal, climate change, take your vaccine etc., etc.
Parents, when it comes to mathematics, want their children to become proficient at mathemathics.
Now if I encounter five racists and I kill three of them, how many racists are left?
I wasn’t saying medical was the only reason, but we can add rape or abusive relationships to that one, a mishap with BC or protections. The list goes on, and it’s up to the woman to have control over her own body. Simple as.
Im thankful that the majority of the electorate saw that in Ireland and voted with common sense and decency.
@is_that_so 'Wholesale bans are just one step above the bonfire!'
The books have been banned from use in schools, not banned outright. It isn't illegal to read this politicised dross, just you can't force it on other people's children as part of the curriculum.
Read it to your child on evenings/weekends.
Parents in general want kids to be educated well and widely not to kowtow to their own narrow views of the world. These are real world examples but thankfully we don't suffer from this backward mentality of strictly controlling what children can explore in education. If the material is effective it should be used. That is always the metric, not how many people it offends.
Cool, so provide some actual proof. Should be easy, actual texts now rather than claims.
Lads...when ye are referring to the coup/insurrection can ye please specify is it the one where Trump colluded with Putin or the one on Jan 6th when a bunch of unarmed morons somehow managed to force their way into what I would have thought was a very secure building?
I don't think anyone would believe that left-wing political themes have been put in school textbooks because they are more recognisable as real to children than other material
The gender pay gap is an abstraction to children who have never had to negotiate a salary. (As indeed many Irish adults on predefined salary scales or working as self-employed have never had to negotiate a salary).
I can believe that many Irish parents would be in favour of this material which is sad.
Could and should be impeached but won't be
Clarence Thomas should also be impeached for his wife supporting the insurrection
But won't be. Biden is such a weak president
beside the nonsense of your reply, it looks like you got your answer above ;-)
Why don't you go back and see who brought up the topic of CRT? There's a good boy...
Introducing new themes is an attempt to upgrade things from a random train going to Philadelphia or the output of orchard in Wisconsin. By including topics about areas that people may recognise as real you stand an improved chance of a better initial engagement on a topic. It is a trend in the development of learning materials. Clearly, they have some merit as textbooks if they were in use but as a state and big customer they could push the publishers to tweak it.
Wholesale bans are just one step above the bonfire!
Just for a bit of clarity on the topic here's a report on abortion in Ireland from a year ago...
In relation to your point about medical issues the following quote from the above article may be relevant;
"In 2020, the vast majority of terminations – 6,455 – were carried out in early pregnancies of less than 12 weeks, according to the notification report.
Of the other abortions, 20 were carried out due to a risk to life or health under the grounds, five due to a risk to life or health in an emergency situation, and 97 due to a fatal foetal anomaly."
What's outlined there is that less than 2% of abortions carried out here were carried out on health grounds.
I'm not banging any particular drum here but these statistics are freely available and need to be referenced in these type of discussions, for clarification if nothing else.
CRT seems to be a repackaging of the idea of "institutional racism" which I was hearing about 20 years ago from a lecturer acquaintance.
Leftist fanatics want to teach it to children to turn them into leftist fanatics. Anyone who isn't a leftist fanatic doesn't want their children taught it.
ITs simple as that, and no wonder the GOP who are frankly awful can win elections at every level and pick who gets to be on the Supreme Court.
Gay marriage and the right to contraception were specifically mentioned in a concurrence by Clarence Thomas
The Handmaid's tale was not supposed to be an aspirational novel
You claimed critical race theory and now all your examples which may or may not actually be real don't have anything to do with race.
Shame if they used real world data for maths, best avoided if we don't want to offend some. Won't be long till some get offended at the train example for encouraging public transport.
Of course those who can’t keep their nose out of women’s bodies are trying to deflect by bringing up CRT.
Have a day off lads.
Ah here, the bible is full of things that go against being a good human being. You using the OT for a discussion in 2022…maybe read more than one book.
Do you really expect to be taken seriously with nonsense like this? All this alpha, beta, sigma nonsense with nothing going for it.
Burden of proof falls on you to produce some actual evidence. The GOP have used CRT as a scare mongering buzz word. Invariably this results in them damaging public discourse...
You are wasting your time there...I asked two posters yesterday a similar question and they scarpered!!! No sign of a response.
What a really stupid thing to say, you must live in a weird world to believe any of this tripe. You making the claim it’s being used as a form of birth control…you best back that up with some stats or evidence, because you know full well it’s not true.
Abortions are not used as a form of BC, you must have ignored the stories during the 8th of women and families who had no choice to do it based on medical issues, where it would put thr life of the women in serious danger.
But to you, you’ll brand them all as a drunk girl who got knocked up and so she should deal with the consequences.
You’ve literally no clue at all what you are talking about.
Your problem is that you're being rational.
You need to go into a blind rage and accuse anyone who disagrees with the topic of being a racist or 'phobe of some description.
Articles that I've seen said they were "themed" maths books that used examples like gender pay gap, race, climate change, vaccines etc.
So instead of calculate what time two train comes from Heuston, it might be something like Dolly is paid less than Bob because she is a woman. Calculate how much less she receives for the same work.
In an Irish-language school every subject is taught through Irish. I guess in a leftist school every subject is taught through leftism. I would be interested to see what leftist geography looks like for the novelty value.
Of course DeSantis was right to step in and ban this stuff. A maths books that's about maths and not about politics will do just fine.
The public schools are paid for by taxes and not every parent wants their child turned into a politically correct fanatic snarling that women have been cheated out of money.
I have a bridge to sell you then. Totally mine to sell. No need to look at evidence it is mine.
What you are saying is that you don't have a clue why they are being banned but are happy to take it faith. You say CTR like it is a drug.
Well, then don't ask me for evidence, clearly i'm not the one who reviewed the content of the books. Do your own research and find out
The reasons why the books were banned have been made public, they contained CTR. if someone comes here and says otherwise it's on them to provide counter arguments
You don't seem to know what Catholic beliefs are, which is quite funny given you how strident you are about them
Before we even get to that though, you don't know the difference between a belief and a policy. Might have a bit of growing to do there.
Evidence goes the other way here. They want to ban books then they should point out the bits they don't like.
Hard to defend an entire book when we don't even know the bit you are complaining about. Lol at protecting children and families though.
Maybe you should provide evidence of your statement
There is no other reason why Florida would banned match books, the decision was made to protect children and families
Private Catholic schools in the US are often of a higher standard than the public ones. No wonder so many good lawyers and judges are Catholic.
Even the President is a Catholic.
$15k would be a bargain, the most recent stats I could find are from 2020 and in most states it costs upwards of 20k for a complication free vaginal birth. Extras like an epidural, gas and air, skin to skin, delayed cord clamping and c-sections would all incur additional costs.
I did see an interview recently with a woman who had triplets over there last year and only for the fact that she had insurance, her bill was over 1.5 million dollars as two of the babies had to spend some time in the NICU after delivery, and surprise surprise, they charge extra for that too. I believe her contribution came to around 50k after insurance.
I’m not sure about you, but I can’t imagine many people having a spare 20k on hand to cover that kind of expense.
https://www.cbsnews.com/pictures/cost-giving-birth-in-united-states/