Some calves didn't even open and some Mary's were under 1000
I followed lot 44 a long way came up just short …..sorta kicking myself I didn’t stay going ….hammer fell at 3800…tgere was some great calves on offer
She’ll make a nice new cow family for someone
I wouldn't be sorry. That calf has a long way to go before she gets into the parlour. Only had an EBI of 244 anyway. 🤔
That was a savage calve
Great calf. Hard luck on him. Yamaska out of a twist leslie. She went big money fast.
I had intended to make a bid on this one- great cow family backed by longevity
Fecking calf like. I'm selling mine too cheap. You can get lisduff perception in a straw for under 30 euro. Fair play to the Sullivan's though. They're sound out
Sure was …..really good line of breeding …longevity …milk and solids to boot
I’ve come to realise especially in the last few years that no matter what bull you use if you have a good cow family they always produce regardless of the bull- I’ve used some crap ebi bulls and they even produced good offspring when used on good cow families
Lot 10 same family but much better solids
An autumn calf tho so not for me …..just looked …savage solids there ….the Sullivan’s have a serious herd of cows …milk …solids …fertility …classified herd ….stock sales bring in some ball of money there every year
Congrats on your purchase in carnaross earlier in the week!
How did you hear about that
Thanks have big plans for the latest purchases- will flush them a couple of times before they calve
We used to breed alot of greyhounds, sires would differ hugely in cost. But it was nearly always how good the dam was
Can’t understand lads still using yamaska, his fertility is seriously below par, even by American standards, -.5 dpr daughter proven is a serious red flag, a lot better bulls out their
He’s a bull I’d use again in the morning- has everything- milk solids and type- mine are all back in calf - I’ve a fertile
herd thou so I wouldn’t be worried
Got two American semex bulls imported here on special order this year, icbf are charging nearly a grand per bull to get it a ai code/genomic testing etc, it’s a pure pisstake, without their cut you’ll buy excellent genomic/proven bulls for 15-20 euro a straw
I’ve bred dawgs to the highest level also. My father bred (and pinhooked) thoroughbreds to the highest level also. It’s all about the dam line. He always said that there’s nine tenths of the dam in everything.
When I’m looking for a sire, I just look for something with no known faults…physique, mobility, character and temperament must be 100%. After that the dam will look after everything (we hope!).
I buy heifers from a breeder in Finistère. They’re flushed and freshly calved from their choice of worldwide sires. They’ve bulls in the French and Dutch catalogs. The stock are grand and do exactly what it says on the tin. Nothing special though. But I’m guaranteed they’ll do 7k in their first lactation any 10+ after that. I’ve stock that’ll beat them on longevity, mobility etc but they’ll never make the fancy, classy levels that’s needed to be booked as potential catalog superstars. Horses for courses.
Unfortunately the dairy farmers in Ireland are being hudwinked by ebi- it’s a tool to make Ai companies and icbf lots of money- we are now 14 years into ebi but there are no daughter proven bulls that anyone would use in the morning???? Why please people discuss
I would agree Stan older ai salesman said it 25 years ago to my father and uncle. He reckoned a really good family may have upto 85% imput on the offspring
Why purposefully breed infertility into your future generations, your pretty revisionist on our past posting history re this topic, I was an out and out clown in your esteemed view for questioning the steaming dogshit that was Irish ai Holstein bull breeding on this forum when you where blowing about breeding your unicorn Irish Holsteins doing 10% solids ffs….
For context theirs a post from 2018 re bulls used on farm here, of the six yamaska was the worst in my view, with Peresus been the standout and still is his daughters are head and shoulders above yamaska daughters here
People are using Irish daughter proven bulls.
Perseus I’ve seen and I have one are tall pointy lots milk but in lot of cases have por %…temperement also an issue …..seen some crackers of Yamasaka real nice strong deep bodied cows with milk and % to boot…..he’s fertility figs a concern but going on fertile cows in a fertile herd I’d have no worry
I have alot of Perseus here. Not too tall, temperament is very good. Pin bones can be a bit pointy alright. I've used jeronimo and mayday and they would be more leggy I think. My best heifer this year is off of ZSR. And her Dam was only average but she is some heifer.
Not disagreeing with that but if I was selling AI bulls and farmers were complaining about the progeny I'd probably put it down to the dam as well. It's better than accusing the farmer of poor management anyway.
The unicorn Irish Holsteins didn’t deliver what they were supposed to - the first cross went very well and took the stature down a peg- the second and subsequent crosses have been a disaster- poor legs and feet poor udders lower volumes of milk and poor solids- everyone that comes thinks they are great cows but I don’t want to be joe average
Agree on what you’ve said re first x ….after that they went downhill …statutre strength power udders and milk and solids kg all dropped …..really inconsistent stock …..I was slow to learn/change but I’ve a bunch of maidens this year by Yamasaka ,Wikitionary and Batman mostly and the strength and power is back this years bull list included Larry ,altalawson,praser,rager red ,Wikitionary and Yamasaka ….hopefully breeding back in what I’ve outlined above is as quick as it was to take them out
Have you used any frazzled, they'd solve your problems on smaller poor type cows in one cross
They're gorgeous heifers