Terrible loss of life,but to me clearly self defense.
I'm very relieved for the accused.
He was completely exonerated without even a hint of suspicion that his actions in stopping Dunne and his gang attackers was anything but self defense, justified and the corresponding course of action.
He is a loss to our society but why would he stay given 18 months detained for acting as a hero in the community.
That's not his call.
Bizzare thread. People tripping the light fantastic on fleeing the jurisdiction to avoid catching charges after a young man was stabbed to death.
I never said it was his call.
I'm satisfied that the verdict reached was ultimately the correct one (although personally, I would have taken a closer look at manslaughter, not to say I would have necessarily reached that conclusion either).
But putting a cape on him and calling him a hero? Righty oh lads. Keep the boogaloo going.
Its people that were bullied by knackers as kids. The teen may or may have not been a knacker but people here are delighted he died. If the lads were throwing apples at bento on his bike and he stabbed them to death , this thread would absolutely revel in it.
If I found myself in that situation, I would likely do the same. I wouldn’t criticise him for looking for a way out.
It is still better that he has faced his trial and is free. There are no winners here.
Apparently AGS and the DPP should've chalked this one down to fair knife fight gone wrong and washed their hands of it.
I never mentioned the AGS.
But the DPP in full knowledge of the facts and the whole thing on video 🙄 should have applied the law.
Sure who knows, the next time some guy who has the absolute audacity to say I don't feel like getting beaten to death today and actually fights back and lawfully kills someone, then maybe just maybe the DPP will be brave enough to apply the law. You know, justice, something something.
Maybe Mr. Bento's sacrifice will not be in vain.
Who knows.
Hi Roger.
I’m not delighted he died.
I am satisfied that Mr. Bento faced trial for the death and is not guilty of all charges.
Nope. No I didn't.
I gave a very specific example on a hypothetical.
As for "rich" people getting treated differently when it comes to the Justice system, you are hardly going to try and argue that chestnut are you?
They do. Most recent Example being a crack shot Barrister allowed to go on a Jolly even under strict bail conditions.
There is no such thing as "lawfully killing someone" in Ireland Boggles, everyone has a fundamental right to life and the DPP quite correctly was attempting to vindicate this young man's right (as big a scumbag as you clearly think he was). This is crackpot vigilante stuff and as another poster pointed out, you appear to be revelling in death here.
The jury found Bento not guilty of the discreet crimes of murder and manslaughter, and that's fair enough and should be respected. But you need to disabuse yourself of the notion that "lawfully killing someone" is a legal reality.
Do you know the ins and outs of self-defence laws everywhere? It's funny because clearly a huge amount of people on this thread don't know ours, I won't pretend to know them inside-out either. Plus he didn't know there was CCTV so it would be half a dozen words against his. And I'm going to go out on a limb and suggest that he MAYBE thought he was going to be targeted more by the scum in future.
Who knows, maybe he felt completely justified but was worried that the jury would be made up of 12 of you.
The barrister wasn't so naiive to book flights to the US the day after he shot someone dead.
You understand the difference in the eyes of a judge who has to ensure that the course of justice must flow correctly right?
Of course there is, this case clearly demonstrates that you can lawfully take a persons life in self defence.
Also I never called the deceased any names let alone scumbag.
The Jury unanimously found Mr. Bento not guilty on all charges, please don't try and paint a narrative this was a close run thing. It wasn't.
The bail conditions are a risk assessment of the likelihood of turning up for trial.
Get back to me if this guy is a no-show.
I have no doubt he could show up, he may also be found not guilty.
Moot to my point though.
Great, so you are reasonably satisfied that he isn’t a flight risk and that his bail conditions are satisfactory to ensure he will stand trial.
What exactly was your point?
One of the very few.
What we had here is a classic case of jury nullification. The jury found it, for the whatever reason, unconscionable to find him guilty on the charge of either murder or manslaughter. And that's fair enough, and its part of our jury system. Who knows, I may have reached that conclusion myself.
"Lawfully killing someone" is a vigilante legal fiction. Everyone, and that includes the biggest scumbag (sic) you know enjoys that fundamental right under our constitution and legal order.
No one had the right to take life, and if you find yourself on a slab after acting the muppet and you catch a knife some night Boggles, the state will do everything to vindicate that fundamental right.
Perhaps you should be responding to the people who say they are delighted that a scumbag is dead rather than people who have said no such thing?
"Lawfully killing someone" is a vigilante legal fiction
Jaysus you should write to Justice Burns so with this legal insight of yours.
Mr Justice Burns said the law recognises that a person is entitled to protect themselves from an attack once the force used is reasonable and proportionate to the attack. Even where he kills his assailant, the person would not be guilty of any offence if the force used was no more than was reasonably necessary
Boggles, I’m afraid you are misunderstanding a fundamental difference between killing someone because the law allows you to do so, and causing a death as a consequence of protecting yourself.
Just because someone did not die as a result of murder or manslaughter does not imply that they were lawfully killed.
the law allows you to kill someone if you feel your life is in danger. you have killed someone and it was lawful. Describing that as not a "lawful killing" is needless semantics.
Once more, from the actual Judge in the trial.
Again, it's not my opinion.
I can respond to who i like. There has been a lot to say they are delighted. Those posts got a lot of thanks Those people are scumbags imo.
I also have found posts that seem to know for certain that Josh Dunne was a scumbag.....this, based off seconds of his life, during an incident that he did not instigate, but as a 16 year old, happened to be involved with
I made the point that many a teen could find themselves in a similar situation, and yes, some will/are scumbags, but just because they find themselves in these situations doesn't automatically entitle people to label them all as scumbags.
Other posts are just come across as obscenely happy/chuffed that a teen lost his life here. Painting the killer as some hero
I have called the decease no names or made any assertions of his character, I didn't know him.
I can only make a call on what I know, now he may or may not have been a "scumbag" but the in night question he certainly indulged in scumbag behaviour.
That is unquestionable.
100% these people are scumbags gloating over the dead boy of a child, if it was there own child what would the be doing
One of the two lads was on the ground getting his teeth kicked in.
Anyway, time to leave the troll to it methinks. Bye.
Well, he attacked a man that stabbed his friend.....in those very quick seconds, he acted to defend his friend. For all we know, it was Bento being the scumbag by stabbing people during a scuffle. See, depends how one looks at it. Josh did not instigate it. He became involved due to circumstances. His behavior was split seconds reactions due to what was happening around him.
Could you quote all of these awful people?