I don't think it speaks to its inclusive nature. Sometimes I feel if I say anything or pass comment on the fact that it is actually an exclusive month dedicated to a minority, I am deemed a bigot which I am not. Discuss....🤔
Ah you must of replied to me by mistake earlier.
Not sure what app you're talking about.
I kinda like the colours of pride.
But I also see it as pointless at this stage.
Your problem, own it.
Pisses me off. Race, colour or creed. Guess what, I couldn't give a flying feck!
Huh?
I was just saying they're my colleagues. I couldn't give a feck what they're sexualiity, marital status, religion...is. why does it matter?
Ireland is an equal opportunity place. Again, why does this matter?
You remove the app too?
You've cracked the dirty little.secret of the marketing industry, and you take it out on a pride banner ad?
Why not? I don't care what they do personally, but I find it dishonest (company wide).
Why do you remove it?
Pretty much. I've got a new lanyard on my desk when I'm arsed to go into the office. Won't be using it.
OK. But eere miles off an example of the claim thst I asked about to begin with. The claim was that heterosexual people are bombarded with the forceful message thst they "must" be more supportive of pride month then they want to be. I've asked a few times for examples of this in practice and it doesn't seem to go beyond businesses taking advantage of Pride month for branding purposes.
I just don't understand the need for a pride month, especially in Ireland.
I really don't understand or maybe I'm just thick. I couldn't give a flying feck what genitalia you'd like to get intimate with. Knock yourself out!
Just don't annoy me about it. It's almost religious. Two men, two women, man and woman on the street having a mooch, again feck it. (Dont particularly want to see it)
The world needs more love.
I only know this from speaking with people. If you look at all the major multinationals in Ireland, particularly those with a US "west coast" presence, most of them will have Pride Month participation. Given the furore over the Liveline discussion, there's a bit of a chilling effect on saying anything publicly, so you'd probably have to have private chats with people to gauge their feelings towards coporate Pride.
I don't believe businesses are being compelled to do things they don't want to. Rather, they now see an event they would have run away from 20+ years ago, as a great Marketing event.
The thread is 7 pages. I'm not reading the thread back.
The example you provided is someone taking advantage of Pride months for capitalist purposes. I asked about your original claim that straight people are being compelled to support Pride Month more than they want to. The vast majority of businesses I see have absolutely no signs of pride month.
Is it just businesses you think are being compelled to do something they don't want to do or does it affect people too?
Please read the thread. It depends on each individuals circumstances. But the classic case which affects many people (gay or straight who are disinterested or wish Pride well but not interested in participating) is an employer who's embraced Woke Capitalism, and wants to get maximum exposure from Pride Month.
Its becoming like not going to the company BBQ and other events, and getting the reputation for Wrongthink and not being a "team player".
How are straight people compelled to support it more than they already do? I was aware that it's pride month bit nobody has suggested I do anything at all about it.
That sucks and I hope you were alright afterwards because even a "light" assault can really **** stuff up. In my teens I twice tried to report assaults on me to the Gardai and they said there was no-one available to take a statement several times. My best mate was jumped in the middle of town and left in hospital. Gardai claimed there was no CCTV when there were 2 on-street cameras and at least 5 businesses with a direct view, and 3 witnesses that we knew of. One silly Garda let slip "Yeah we know who it was, we were watching most of the night". Never an arrest made and the same crew killed someone in an unprovoked street attack within a couple of months. Maybe rape now is an exception because of the attention over the last while but every experience I've had with the Gardai has felt like the only thing they were interested in was minimising how much work they would have to do. So it used to be they dismissed rape victims and the like, can't quite get away with that any more. But for assaults, car crashes, intimidation, the first thing they try to do is minimise and usually leave you feeling like an idiot for trying to get them to take action. Another silly example recently for me was getting hit by some prick who drove off. Being the good citizen I am I reported it to the insurance company but the damage was not much more than my excess so along with losing my No Claims Bonus it didn't make sense to claim. Insurance company tell me I have to report it to the Gardai and get an incident number. Into the Garda station and after an hour waiting got "But sure why are you reporting it if you're not claiming?". Explained what happened 4 times before I just turned and walked out rather than lose my temper. I've said this in a number of threads and on a number of subjects and I really think the world could function a lot better if everyone accepts that the vast, vast majority of people care about their job rather than their work. They seek to protect themselves and to minimise their own effort. When you look at things through that prism our law enforcement (Gardai, courts, probation), health services and social services and their effectiveness and value for money make a lot more sense.
I agree with the "overload" comments, and no, its not possible to avoid. My employer is one of those that flys flags, organises pride events and puts pride graphics on the end of my emails. No thanks.
And then my damn bank insists on changing their mobile app logo - I have to remove it from my home screen!
😂👍️
I'd say there's plenty of piracy. There always is in these situations.
But yeah, Hollywood will bend over backwards. The Chinese version of Iron Man 3 has 45 minutes of nonsense where the Chinese invent some heart implant or something.
HOI3 is unplayable though I do take your point about HOI4. I once conquered the developed world as Lithuania:
A bit absurd I think.
I don't think grand strategy of the wargame variety really gets much attention in China (except for Romance of the three kingdoms variety). At least, I've never seen much of anything, like Grigsby or Paradox, on the internet cafes shared game servers which usually have a wide range of pirated games.
Oh, and HOI3 is superior to HOI4 in every way. haha. I like HOI4 but they've gone the way of arcade strategy rather than proper wargame strategy with it.
Back on topic, Companies tend to bend over backwards to accommodate the interests of the CCP.. Hollywood is perfect example of it. Profit comes first. Which is understandable in a way, considering the costs involved in such productions and the kind of market that China represents. However, I do think companies should stand by their public statements rather than the PR games they tend to apply.
Corporations are principled but the sole principle is profit. If one wants to impress, show me where they tell the Saudi government or any other grubby little theocratic oligarchy that their diversity policy in their content, products or services stands regardless of sanctions or bans.
One of my favourite games, Hearts of Iron IV is and remains banned in China for its accurate depiction of China in World War 2. The devs could have caved but they didn't though I don't know how big the market in China is for map painting Swedish strategy games.
That's not the question, though. I'm not saying society's attitudes are perfect.
What I'm saying is that can you name a human right that trans people do not enjoy in this country?
To take the gay parallel, gay people were denied the right to marry. And we fixed it.
So I'm still waiting to hear what human rights trans people do not enjoy in this country. If you are aware of them, let me know - as I'd be more than happy to accommodate that.
Your ether principeled or not...
By flying the pride flag in the West they are hoping a beef up their social imagine leading to more money...
You either believe in the whole pride thing or now, you can't go picking a choosing when to support when it suits in search of profits...
Hardly buzzkill. You know I’m right. If heterosexuals weren’t reproducing, the human race would not exist.
Gay men using women as beards and having kids with them still needed a heterosexual woman to bear their child.
Im proud that people of my orientation are responsible for the onward march of the human race. That’s hardly a crime?
I believe LGB Ireland is virtually defunct/not active. LGB Alliance was founded in the UK by ex-Stonewallers and has recently achieved charity status, now under attack by Stonewall+ (hearing in Sept this year)
The other Irish groups are women's groups exc Iona Institute
Are these women's groups 'well funded' from the UK and the US? I know it can be difficult sometimes to get accurate and truthful financial accounts, I mean TENI (who directed Dublin Pride's response in the Liveline debacle) haven't provided any accounts for 3 years despite the few million they got from our Govt., for example.
I believe the majority of people in Ireland expect differing views and the expressions of same to be facilitated by the media including our national broadcaster subject to the usual caveat of not promoting violence. Hopefully, that's not changed by any 'hate' legislation we're getting.
Thanks for the answer.
There are plenty of groups I am sure you know that.
Some of which are "charities" and have received funding in the UK at least. A lot of the other money is coming from the usual groups in the UK/USA.
LGB alliance (which has a direct irish offshot)
The countess.
Radicailin
Irish women's lobby
Women's space ireland
And Ireland's old favourite the Iona institute.
All the while Irish media outlets platform people like David Quinn,but they are being "silenced"...
Tbf, we had literally hundreds of years of oppression for various minorities. A few years of them fighting for equality shouldn't make the majority feel so threatened.
Literally. Then you can pull a direct quote of me stating that. Yes? Not your reading between the lines, or what seems to be the case. A direct quote.
No. I didn't say that. I said that it shouldn't matter in the slightest if a couple kissing is straight, gay, or bisexual. It doesn't bloody matter, unless you're going looking to be offended.
Jesus. Really wish people would read the actual posts as opposed to simply agreeing with those who disagreed later.
Well that one went right over your head! Your point was that if it weren’t for heterosexuals the human race would have petered out hundreds of years ago, and keeping the human race going is something to be proud of.
You’re overlooking the fact that sexual orientation and sexual reproduction are concepts that are not related to each other in any way, ie - plenty of people throughout humans history who were gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender, have propagated the human race by means of sexual reproduction. You’re also overlooking the fact that throughout human history, people who are gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender have raised children. You’re also overlooking the fact that throughout human history, people have adopted children into their families and fostered children who became part of their families.
And that’s all before the invention of assisted human reproduction which assisted people having difficulties with reproduction to enable them to conceive and bear children, which brought us to the point we’re at today where Irish law is being changed to recognise the fact that people who are transgender who become pregnant, have an equal entitlement to protection in terms of their rights to maternity leave in Irish employment law, and they can have children by means of sexual reproduction, regardless of their sexual orientation.
Buzzkill, I know 😖
No, it isn't. Which is why you changed the scenario back to what the other poster said, as opposed to dealing with what I wrote.
Honestly your personal abhorrence of LBGTQ people is disturbing that you seek to stereotype them all as aggressive and provocative.
Honestly, I find your insistence on making personal remarks and judgements of those who disagree with you to be disturbing. You have nothing to base that on.
As usual. You do this a lot.
I have not made one insulting remark LGBQ people in this thread. I don't agree with a lot of what goes on within the LGBQT community, but as a member of that community, being bisexual, I think I have a right to frame such criticisms or observations.