Hi everyone
Does anyone know the projected start/finish times of this year's stages.. tried googling but no joy.🤔
here is the race guide
has the route broken down with times for different average speeds
http://www.rastailteann.com/uploads/2022-ras-technical-guide.pdf
I make this out to be the finishing circuit for the last stage, coming up from Castlebellingham.
Assuming I have it right... there's a nice little kicker taking the hard left up the road after the finish line to go up Rock Road.
Hoping to see this in athlone on Saturday
Going to be a long week for lads, groups out the back already and only 3k into the first stage.
I'm heading for Horse and Jockey today and hope to catch it in Loughrea on Saturday.
40 mins from Horse & Jockey but stuck in work.
At least Twitter/Insta should have regular updates for the week.
It was a good set up at Horse and Jockey
Cian Lynch did MC and kept giving updates and explanations for non-cycling fans
Nice warm day with a decent enough crowd to line the finish
I'd say there was a good few lads sweating over the cut off time, biggish groups ...30 -35 mins after the main bunch
(only dismay was an infamous Tipp TD had to plonk himself on the podium 😁)
Are the results to be found anywhere?
There you go, they're only out a few minutes
Had the finish and a chat with Taggert on the news there at tea time.
must have been a big pack which crossed the line together?
I was at the Cat 3 KoH point just before the drop into Ballyragget. It was fantastic to see the race back on our roads and long may it continue. Dean Harvey was calm as can be while taking the points while others were really suffering ! Archie Ryan mid pack and looking good. There were already a few out the back at this stage ( and from 3 km in, I heard !) .....typical Ras!
PS Could a mod put an a fada in the title please á 😁
EDIT:Fair play to ya MB 🖕
I’m just a few KM from the final stage. Might go down to see it even though I’m not into racing. An old club mate from my Dublin days is taking part.
110 riders given the same time as stage winner.
I seen the videos of them climbing the embankment at close to the speed I would descend it, looked like absolute savagery for the first few km. None of those 110 had it easy thats for sure.
45km/h average speed for 140km.
20 euro fine for littering and same for Sticky bottle. Eek!!
48.8 for the first hour. Brutal, they started them cold at the bottom of a climb. Harsh !
Standard was extremely high today. So much for an easy RAS with less pro's in it.
The speed of the first hour or so to beyond Athy was unbelievable--- the KOMs kicked in after that; however from the Embankment to Ballylynan is constant up and down on some heavy roads, and after the said 50km, there were some lads about 15 minutes down; having said that, l hope they improve as the week goes on, that gallop up outta Tallaght must have been some shock.
Also: looking through the start list..
NAME: 'Vince Rhino'
PROFESSION: 'Marvel Superhero and occasional cyclist'
Surely the coolest ever name in the RAS
couple of articles by Shane Stokes in The Times since Tuesday
My dad, god rest his sole, did the Ras in 1960 and 61. He died in 2020, the week of first lockdown.
I must, next time I am in my mothers house, have a look at the finishing certificates he got and work out what the average speed was. Would be interesting to see how it compared to now.
what team did he ride for? my wife's uncle was involved in the Ras in the late 50s (logistics) and early 60s (managing the exiles, IIRC); i bumped into shay o'hanlon while out for a spin last year and he remember him.
Today's official folks
No sticky bottle or littering fines today?
I actually don’t know. He did talk about Shay O’Hanlon at lot and Joe Christle (wasn’t he a republican?)
i think they all were...
Waterford Racing's account is, hands down, the best Twitter feed to follow the Rás on:
https://twitter.com/WRCRas2022