2 neighbours would have cleared that already net this year, 2 others wouldn't do it in 2 years.
There is nothing average about the average.
Feckin loaded ye are!!
Do the French put out similar data via any group?
The french aren't that stupid
Exactement!
Lads what's your opinion of the Aston Martin DB9 thinking of changing the auld Avensis...
Smaller than you think, you would be hard pressed to fit 3 bags of dairy nut in the back.
Drought mode here,started grazing second cut today.
Drilled a new well today, ours dried up
very early for it
Why do farmers give teagasc permission to skew data in this way ?
Why do they give them any figures at all when they know this is what they're doing with them ?
Its farmers fault
You can’t go wrong. She’s based on a Davy Brown so if you needed any parts your local scrapper should have the few bit you need.
I agree on the David brown bit. I had one ordered but I'm after changing my mind again. Getting a 911 now instead. I think it'll be better for towing.
Some guys love being the teacher's pet up at the top of the class. Often it's the lads that are fully set up that like to show off their figures. I won't be showing mine off anywhere anyway. Co-op report and all that is fine but finances are more private.
How do you find out where you can improve with out getting a look at someone else’s finances
it’s helped me out a lot getting info from other farmers, I agree nothing should be shared with the public but if you can’t get info from your fellow farmers how do you improve your business
This survey is taken from the accounts....actual figures..
This is unrelated to Profit Monitor or any other fanciful figures..
Why farmers agree to be involved.(pretty sure a payment)..I've absolutely no idea, however these figures have been used for many decades for the development of farming insentives, tax treatments, grant aid etc.
The trade off to being helpful is that they do make their way to being public accessible..
With respect someone else’s finances are none of your business ….same in reverse ….no 2 farms are same be it high yielding or x bred ,highly stocked v low ….heavily borrowed v not …developing v developed…..then there is living expenses and supporting parents etc
compare how land is managed …stock are managed ,grass …weight gain …calf rearing in spring herds fertility ,6 week in calf rates etc ……this is where real gains are made
financial figures presented often twisted and manipulated I point blank refuse to submit profit monitors figures or feed financial figures into national surveys due to the way those figures are abused and presented
Beyond me why anyone would present these figures alps .and if they are are they supped up to grab headlines 🤔🤔🤔🤔and ultimately as a stick to beat us with
Would any other industry throw figures like so around so loosely
Can't you go online and get the accounts of any ltd Co.?
It seems that there is a european statutory obligation to collect and collate this information.
Thereprobably is no other industry that consists of so many sole traders (bar prostitution I guess). Its an industry that constantly lobbies for its needs and wants. You can see why the hand that's giving would want to see some facts.
Listening to the input above alone re dairy farming profit levels , you'd swear there was nothing out of it...
Does anyone have the bailing system in their parlours that when one cow goes in she opens the next bail for the next cow?
Just get the simple things as good as I can. Just running a grass based system feeding around 1 ton of nuts so fairly straight forward from a financial point of view. The co-op report is probably one of the best measures. I always did fine in PAYE without knowing what my colleagues were earning.
Well it has been shown that the hourly rate is better on beef and tillage farms....
You don't see it reported much by the vested interests though.
i personally find a coop report fairly unrelevent to how profitable a business is
if someone is making 100€/cow more than me befire tax/repayments/interest I’d like to know how they’re doing it
I’m in a small financial group, guy with 50kgs less solids than me made same money per cow before tax/repayments/interest. I think that’s a hell of a lot more useful than a coop report
and before you say “he probably skewed his figures” he would have had a hard job doing it because he’d have to be lying on his 6 monthly figures and end of year figures along with 6 others questioning him
again I don’t agree with figures being made public but sharing information between farmers is very useful and hard to progress if it doesn’t happen
Every company can manipulate their accounts to zero profit if they wish before the accounts get lodged.
If I was a company I'd be zero profit. But I'm not I'm self employed. My accountant informs me of my income.
Begs the question too. Are company farms involved in this teagasc calculation? And why should they be. When their profit or loss can be manipulated the same as any company for the tax books.
The way it's judged Alps correct me if I'm wrong is teagasc have average farmer groups in each sector. They use the books from these average farmers to get the headline figures.
(A farmer who was judged an average farmer in sheep by teagasc told me as such. )
I have more interest in hitting targets than the whole profitability side of it. If I was just interested in money I wouldn't be farming.
Everybody's circumstances vary so much I'd pay no heed to their financial information. I know myself where costs can be cut if I felt like it. I spent the past 5 years building up this place to how I want it out of cashflow. Now I'm starting to accumulate savings to buy more land or invest outside of farming.
I have more interest in hitting targets than the whole profitability side of it.
I know myself where costs can be cut if I felt like it.
I'll never understand an attitude like this
This is the thing. This data can be used by those with vested interests either for or against you.
For..you could say Gibbons has no argument against dairy farming. That its paying it's way and contributing to the economy. But he's an anarchist going like Monbiot. So..
Against.. the fodder scheme has dairy farmers excluded from the scheme based on these figures. There's no account of earned income for individuals just these figures from teagasc on whether you are in or out.
Personally I think this bs should be done away with by teagasc. If you want to qualify for a government scheme. Your filed accounts should suffice.
Why did they not give what an average fairy farm is and an average sheep farm is.....
Huge difference in landtype also, my accountant told me one day you'd know straight away the land type a dairy farmer was operating in.
I can’t get over how fixated some seem to be about others financial figures ….and wanting to compare ….or feeling there doing something wrong because there not doing simillar at the end of the day who gives a shite about another farmers figures .
farming like anything else is simple enough u do the simple core fundamental things well you will go far and make money ….cash in your account ,your health and been able to switch off from the farm and enjoy life far more important than worrying about what everyone else is at
Every EU country has a statutory obligation to collect and publish farm income and cost data, by sector. Including the French.
Ireland has been conducting the NFS since the 1970s to fulfil this obligation.
But sure if ye want to believe its all a big conspiracy to do down dairy farmers then that's fine too.