Terrible loss of life,but to me clearly self defense.
I'm very relieved for the accused.
what?
can you clarify what you mean
Angles
Clarify what?
your statement, it makes no sense
Yes Mr. Bento never engaged with Josh until Josh starting beating him.
Josh's "friend" was stabbed because he and 2 others were beating Mr. Bento's colleague to death.
Again the whole thing was captured on video.
Between clearly nonsense statements from the prosecution about how you should just let 3 lads keeping beating you up and the CCTV 12 people sat and deliberated and found him not even guilty of assault.
The fact of the matter is that he pulled a knife - carrying such a weapon at all is a criminal offence - and stabbed this kid to death, yet gets away scot free. I think a verdict of manslaughter would have been appropriate
Padraig Dwyer SC is the main reason this man got off. Probably one of the best defence barristers in this country currently.
He didn’t get away scot free. He spent 18 months in prison and has to live with this for the rest of his life.
It’s a tragic situation for everyone involved.
Carrying a knife is a crime, but you can have a defence if you have a valid use for it. Which he had, and the jury believed so.
The gang should not have attacked him as they did. One of them unfortunately paid the ultimate price for the group’s, and his own, actions.
Yeah but he was up against someone who thinks that if 3 people are attacking you then you shouldn't defend yourself.
12 Jurors who had heard all of the evidence formed a different opinion.
Surprised so many 'pro-delivery man' comments there are on this thread, he stabbed a young lad to death ffs...ya I know he was defending himself but who's to say the young lad wasn't playing mediator trying to protect his mates from an over zealous attack.
He can count himself lucky, Manslaughter would have been a more appropriate charge.
Thats one way of looking at it. Another way would be he got a man off who brought a knife to the scene of a crime which resulted in the death of an Irish child.
I am led to believe that the CCTV evidence shows that the deceased young lad was “playing mediator” with his fists.
The event was captured on CCTV so that debate about his actions was easy enough to resolve. By all accounts there was little mediation effort at work.
Aha! There we go!
Was it a crime scene beforehand? No. Pure nonsense. If I'm walking down the street and someone jumps me am I to leave my extremely heavy and slightly jagged metal vape device I use in my pocket? Or if I crack one of them with it then hey, I brought the weapon so I'm not allowed use it? GTFO.
or your shoe is it?
what if it was a machete?
not much mediation post stabbing
If there happens to be a long metal implement that for some reason they haven't picked up then yes, I would be within my rights to use it.
Carrying a machete probably isn't allowed though, so a bit of a difference.
and what is a machete?
why is it not allowed
its a knife
thats why you cant have it
****, I sure do hope the Gardai don't see what's in my drawer. Or my toolbox. Or the boot of my car. Or anyone's work van. Fuckin hell the restaurants and bars will be fucked now that you've given everyone that clarification on the law. Good job, though I fear the financial fallout for hundreds of thousands of people across the state is going to be horrendous. Will there be a grace period at least? Or a knife buy-back scheme?
And that jury was 7 women and 5 men. Women tend to be more questioning as to why he had a knife and why he chased the thief. They would also tend to be less questions of what lead up to it just that a 16 year old was dead.
So the video evidence must have been clear. It amazing the way people questions why he had the knife and that it was only a couple of young lads defending there friend.
George and his friend had tried to retreat without the stolen bike when the gang arrived. However they started a full on assault on George and his friend even though they seem to have being retreating. Josh seemed not to get involved at the start buthe did.
It's like a schmozle in a GAA game. You can go in and pull your friend back or go in swinging. He went in swinging and unfortunately got killed in the fog of war. George SW his friend being kicked and punched if he went down they were both going to end up being hospitalised seriously injured.
We saw a few incidents like this when the pubs first opened and were serving outside. Groups of youths used to assault patrons and staff robbing people's drinks or throwing empty and full cans at people.
The video will never be released but it would show the reality of assaults like this
You'd have to wonder if certain circles of our political system were harder on petty crime that this scenario might never have occurred.
This has gone a bit steven segal all of a sudden
if I decide to attack a bunch of chefs in a kitchen I'll make sure to call him first
anyway, as long as they stay in your toolbox or in the kitchen its all kosher, I presume you can tell the difference between that and carrying one around on you for no good reason or as defense
That would be quite a waste of money if I can't take it out of the toolbox. Unless something is small enough to fit into the toolbox with everything else removed and I can keep the whole process within the confines of the box.
Those delivery men work tough jobs, with bad conditions. And are in constant fear of being attacked by groups of scumbags in certain areas.
It makes sense that people will side with them, over a gang of men who outnumber and attack softer targets.
They should not have got involved, especially with the wrong side in the altercation.
anyway, why do you have a knife in the boot of your car? is their lime and a shovel in there
Wasn't he also aquitted of manslaughter?