It was obviously too much for him to criticise anything to do with the Religion of Peace so he invented some spurious wittering about climate change.
https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2022/0613/1304483-higgins-nigeria/
I'm sure you know the old Churchill quote about democracy so no need for me to repeat it.
He was in office for 7 years and went for another go.
Every one knew what he stood for and what they were getting.
He was the people's choice, end of story.
The choice of 24.18% of the electorate. Establishment candidate wins election where over 50% of the electorate didn't bother to vote. Ain't democracy wonderful?
Regards...jmcc
55% of those who voted plumped for MDH.
He was the popular choice of those who got off their rear ends and went to vote.
Over 50% of the electorate never even bothered to vote because the fix was in for the FF/FG/Lab candidate.
You really think that I'd be better off bottling it up? 😀 Remind me never to employ you as my shrink!
As quoted elsewhere:
The President added: "Building homes is what is important.
“It is not to be a star performer for the speculative sector internationally."
Speaking to the Irish Mirror after hearing his comments, Labour’s Ms Moynihan said: “he’s right, it’s more than a crisis, it is a failure.”
Good man yourself.
The crisis is beyond politics. We need people calling out the failure that it is.
I've never quite seen someone with such an interest in another's pension arrangements.
Some people golf, some learn the spoons, and others...well others make use of their time in less mindful ways.
president ‘3 pensions’ Higgins - soon to be 4. A socialist by all accounts that worries about the poor and disadvantaged
he did drop his salary from 320k to 250k when he was elected first but got a tad shirty when asked if his pension after 7 years of hard eating out would be based on the 250 or €320 - he refused to confirm.
he also said back then that he would not claim his 3 state funded pensions when in power, would not confirm if they would be forgone or the monthly payments would just not be taken and ‘saved’ for him until he retired from this job.
and just for those that don’t know after 7 years of eating out and no living expenses his pension for this job is 1.5 times salary (250 or 320, he won’t tell us) as a lump sum with the first 200 not taxed plus 50% of salary for life (so that’s 125 or 160, secret apparently)
he is in his second term, is it only the one presidential pension he gets? I’m sure it is but who knows really. The taxpayers are not allowed to know what the socialist champion of the poor gets
And as mentioned he sold his rental property, it was within 7 years of buying and thus satisfying the rules of the time that capital gains tax was not paid on the profit
maybe he donated the tax that he saved to the poor - or used it to pay for his own dog grooming
i think myself that perhaps 3 pensions should maybe campaign that politicians can only get one state pensioN - would that not be equitable?
it’s the lifting his head out of the trough to champion the poor that I hate
and remember these pension s are all paid from future taxation so work hard everybody
40% tax rate in Ireland kicks in for a single person at €36,800 - in the Uk (well England, a bit lower in a scotland) it’s £50k/€60k so €23,200 or so higher - with usc in Ireland on top of course
so at €17 per hour here any hours above 40 per week will see you lose over 50% in tax
anyway a bit of a rant, I am from scotland and here for 25 years and paid a sh*t load of tax Both myself and employees, I can’t vote in referendums or for president (here or in scotland) - I could earn €2,800 gross to get the €1,300 net in order to pledge allegiance to the president and become a citizen but no thanks
and for those that are about to say feck off home I do like this expensive wee country and have many friends (and a few employees) - it’s the hypocrisy and some would say unpunished corruption at all levels that does my head in
€200 a day ms zaponnie used to claim in un taxed expenses to go to ‘work’ against all the rules - nobody seemed to care.
The problem is that Higgins needs to listen far more than speak. He’s too political and eager to shout his mouth in a role thatis not appropriate for it.
Rejoined Twitter recently to talk normal shite about movies, music , holidays etc. Sincerely though it has become a hot bed of virtue singalling "amnt I great as I am a vegan and donate to the cat shelter", I do get sick a little every time (not a fan of Vegans, I couldnt eat a whole one). In tandem with this though is the same names on all the trans threads repeating as nauseum how trans people are not the gender they identify etc etc. Both these positions are very similar in nature - one proclaiming the moral high ground over the other. Seeing middle aged men having coniptions over some supposed matter that is an affront to them or some Gen Z'er trying to be holier than thou. On the surface they appear the opposite however its just the exact same position - people roaring to claim one is more righteous than the other ...🙄
Newsflash : Politics is a rough trade.
He won they lost.
822,566 first preference votes says it all.
Did you actually see the other candidates ?
Oh and you left out the little nugget that three of the main political parties all backed him and did not run any candidates.
His nearest rival was nowhere was pretty poor, but went from last to second just because he spoke the unvarnished truth about our over protected over excused not responsible for anything so called native ethnic group.
So away with your shyte about how popular he was winning the last presidential election.
Millionaire landlord with a fake socialist persona who wasn’t shy about evicting tenants so he could sell one of his houses complains about the states housing policy. Odious little man. Should have stuck to being a second rate poet.
This is the true gauge of MDH's popularity.
Less than 4 years ago he polled more than all the rest put together.
I was kidding but Normally Micky D can't let 30 minutes go by with the néed to recite a Pooooem, wether to himself or those unfortunate enough to be in ear shot.
Epic pain in the Arse.
There no consistency with that type of person. Did he genuinely do a new poem? I can't summon up the courage to read the updated media report, wouldn't be good for me blood pressure. Nothing other than "I am a virtue signalling eejit and I must stop sounding off on all and sundry lest I keep make a fool of myself again" is all I want to hear or read from him.
Reddit 😳 that's used to gauge Mickeys popularity, that's actually depressing.
Funny how they think the Prez is the second coming of Christ on Reddit Ireland but the middle aged anti-everything boards.ie crowd can't stand him
I see he's made a statement of clarification and has submitted a Pooooem 🙄
Can't abide the man.
Michael D saying the government has failed the country for the lack of housing for its people, the same man who wants us to take in more refugees
That wee pretentious champagne socialist makes me cringe, the presidency should be scrapped.
The RIC supporters are really annoyed that Michael D isn’t a slave to their shtick. More popcorn.
Michael D Higgins: President of Left Wing Politics in Ireland.
President of 'all the people of Ireland' as he put it himself, my arse.
Complete and utter tosh! With an added touch of inflated pomposity.
It used to work like that when Presidents were former political hacks put out to grass in the Aras, but hasn't done so since the days of Mary Robinson. It's true that the DFA and other government departments draft formal speeches for the President when s/he's on official business (e.g. one of their "royal visits" overseas), but they neither draft nor veto nor have an input into the large majority of his press releases which are, generally speaking, all his own work.
He's really not - although I'll grant you the bar isn't very high.
Higgins should record some of his dreadful poetry, it would be a great antidote for insomnia. At least then he'd have provided some actual value to the country. Judging by how rotund he's become he's almost round, he probably hasn't got much time left now.
Yep. And I am a leftist. The type of cackhanded virtual signalling Higgins comes out with gives the left a bad name.
Thanks man!
In much the same way that you're the best poster on Boards.ie, presumably.
Ireland has a socialist president - the horror.