I use podcast addict and it was there today
Back to podcast addict I go so. Pity as I like pocket cast
Pocketcasts is definitely slower to get the new episodes the last week or so
I have to say it's bloody annoying having literal minutes of ads during today's podcast... Seems they have partnered with Acast, the podcast provider who just shut down their platform overnight and causing me untold grief setting up all my podcasts through a new provider lately.
Those guys can fuk off.
they arrived in this evening to pocket cast
Or just pay the fiver for ad free and plenty more pods?
I messaged them on twitter last night, they said there's an issue and they've reached out to pocketcasts to fix.
Miguel Delaney trying to get the digs in at Qatar in yesterdays pod. The ironic thing is he will be the first journalist on the plane, sitting in business class and staying in his 5 star hotel until the very end. For all his grandstanding, you wont see him staying at home as a protest
Why would he stay at home to protest ? He will as usual expose the corruption and unfair treatment of workers in Qatar (as a journalist should do) or do you think he covers that stuff up and says everything is grand ?
He can still write about all that from England, my point is he will have no problem availing of all the hospitality that is on offer
Unfortunatly, we will still have to listen to him on Second Captains, aside from the other stuff his football contributions are so mundane and whenever they have another football contributor on with him, the other is always more insightful and more enjoyable to listen to
6.15 including the vat.
Write about it from England. WTF? You go and expose it. You'd make a great investigative journalist :) Sounds like you just don't like the guy which is a different point altogether.
Expose it from your 5 star hotel, in the middle of a world cup, ok...
and yes he is a very unlikeable chap
What do you think of the journos who turned up at the LIV golf event last weekend and asked questions ? Do you think they should have stayed away if they believed it was a sportwashing exercise for the Saudi regime ?
For example, see below.... So turn up and ask questions or stay at home and tweet stuff about it.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6nXs676SBs
Miguel seemed to be dialled in from a submarine in the Mariana Trench yesterday.
I don't mind Miguel, but a long term gripe has been the fact his phone line or whatever mode of communication he is using is unfailingly awful. As a professional journalist who appears on multiple podcasts a week it's really not good enough.
Yeah, I really don't understand why he doesn't get a decent mic.
Am I the only one who doesn't even notice these audio problems until I come here and read about it?
Do you listen on a poor speaker like your phone?
The sound quality is awful and he could fix it for a couple of hundred quid and making sure he's in a room with lots of soft furnishings.
On headphones
Miguel's is very noticeable. I don't think anyone here is moaning about it for the sake it, he's currently their most regular football contributor but has the worst audio. He should make some attempt to fix it Tim Vickery, Dion Fanning, Jonathan Wilson etc don't have any issues with their sound
Great GAA pod yesterday, Paul and Oisin are top notch
Did notice Murph trying to out trump Ken with his Irish sign off again, as discussed by other previously but Murph has done a decent job in the absence of Eoin
As Bill Burr would say: "Oh, you have a problem with my FREE podcast?"
I don't think I know any free podcasts without ads.
I pay for it. Their world service feed comes in hours after the "free" one does for me so I end up listening to that more often than not.
https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2022/06/14/second-captain-podcasters-share-pay-pot-of-555000/
Great, they deserve it. Nice one.
It’s working for them. I’d love them to push the boat out and try doing the odd live watch along and drink along of big games rather than always a daily podcast format but probably not going to tinker with a winning format.
Fair play to the lads, I'm delighted for them
Fair play to them. I never feel like I'm getting short changed for the content.
The longer they keep the whole thing going the better.