Me too but I don't think he has the legs.
My understanding is that the Leinster Champions meet the Munster runners up or whichever team knocks them out.
I have a feeling Wexford could beat Clare.
Shane Reck played the 2nd half v Kerry today, they have a full healthy squad to pick from and are hurling well.
Hard to know with Cork v Galway because neither team has any consistent form book to go by.
I think these semi-final permutations are correct:
If Clare beat Wexford, then KK will play Clare (regardless of the result in the other match).
If Galway beat Cork, then KK will play Clare/Wexford (regardless of the result in this match).
If both Cork beat Galway, & Wexford beat Clare, then KK will play Cork.
I personally think Pádraig has to play i would have him in midfield i think he would excel there.
Apparently taking the information into account this year.
I suppose if you have technology in place you've got to trust it. My own instinct watching P Walsh is that he faded in the forward position after the league run. I love to see him further back the field but time may have run out for him.
Taking 3 or 4 forwards/midfielders off is common practice now by most teams. I guess what management teams are looking for is huge work rate to keep pressure off backs. And then throw in fresh legs.
Wally was just as bad against Dublin, half forward line were completely out of it for the first 40 mins. Yet he started the next day.
cody and analytics?
Have heard the Pádraig's absence is solely down to analytics. He is in no way injured and according to some of his extended family. I know another veteran who is struggling he's head is completely gone with all the chopping and changing and the lack of communication.
It was great to win a Leinster final and their definitely played a better style of hurling. The backs are doing well I still have my reservations about a few of them and I think a better team could expose a good few of them, I hope not. Midfield is still a huge issue in my opinion, I think Fogarty did an excellent job for a guy who hardly touched the ball but I think the likes of Fitzgerald from Clare or O'Donoghue from Limerick would eat us up there. Forwards were well marshalled against Galway and we'll likely face better so we have a lot to work on for the next 3 weeks.
Hopefully they can keep working on mixing it up going short or long when necessary and not be predictable. It will be very interesting to see how we respond to a more intense pressurised game.
The stamp incident was shown on the big screen in Croke Park. Some days refs go to fierce rounds to check incidents. Owens seemed to think he had covered everything once he yellow carded the Galway player and McGarry. The linesman obviously didn't see the stamp either.
We all probably seen the picture from the Limerick dressing room and all agree we aren't in the same physical condition as most of their players I wouldn't say richie doesn't look athletic compared to the other challengers. Chin and finn are in great nick alright but the others are similar to Richie.
Everyone knows the last few performances won't win us a semi final. we've a few weeks to try get a spark into the forwards and the chopping and changing probably isn't helping but after a bad match a player is discarded. Hopefully padraig and donnelly start the next day both are scoring forwards although their form has being patchy.
Wexford and Cork should get through their matches at the weekend especially with only a week for these teams to recover. If clare do suffer these two suspensions they would need to be careful against wexford presuming they get over kerry. Alot of talk about clare meeting Limerick again and maybe they will but we heard that with Waterford a few weeks ago. They could be a hangover or injuries after that epic match Sunday.Wexford are just so inconsistent it's hard to trust them. They draw with galway,lose to Dublin,draw with westmeath and them beat kk at home.There has being little between these two teams and these suspensions could be a distraction lohan won't want. You would imagine there's a bounce in galway after that flat performance Saturday.
Thurles took about two minutes and yet only 2 minutes added at half time which was a joke. I know I agree it was and is slow but the point I make is over the two matches hawkeye was only used twice and for the controversial decisions its only a a few per match and I think most players would agree we have the technology and we could do worse things than try it next year in the league but then we'll have the debate the lower divisions put in the same effort will they have the technology available? I think its only a matter of time before we see it. Hegarty got sent off for nothing against clare and if that was our player In a 3 weeks time we'd be disgruntled.
I'm not disagreeing with your point about using TMO/VAR etc., but the two times that Haweye was used (in Croke Park on Saturday and then in Thurles on Sunday) was a disaster and it felt like the matches were stopped for an eternity.
I'd have no problem reviewing the 3 or 4 controversial incidents during the match. Stop the clock and review it. We certainly need to try something because players and management are putting so much into it. Clare will feel aggrieved tonight but the appeal process is a bit of a joke they could get away with it.It was a clare man that dived a few weeks ago and got hegarty sent off this should of being investigated at the time because no one likes to see players feigning injury.Fahy will have to take his medicine that was dirty and he deserves to miss a few games.
Yeah id agree. Like a captains call. Maybe get 1 request for a video review each game ..
I dont remember anything as high profile as this happening but I suppose the fact that these players weren't booked on the day gives them the scope. We have to go down the route of tmo sooner rather than later.Players are putting in so much now. It took a few minutes the other day to check hawkeye in Thurles and it didn't slow the game down that much. I was sitting in croke park Saturday night and I didn't see the stamp but within a few minutes it's was everywhere circulating on WhatsApp.Everyone is hooked up to microphones so stop the clock and check these incidents.
Did this happen from any other games over last few years??
surely limerick should have had a few lads suspended..
Glad Fahy was caught. Stamping on an injured player like he did deserves the two match ban.
As for the other two incidents, so much for letting the game flow while ignoring so many minor fouls, yellow card incidents and sending off offences.
Fahy with a 2 match ban after the stamp on Richie Reid
https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/clare-duo-in-danger-of-missing-quarter-final-after-being-hit-with-proposed-bans-for-munster-final-incidents-41741279.html
August 2021
Henry: Brian, I will take you up on your offer to join your management team.
Brian: Good man, Henry. There is a problem though, the players we have at the moment are poor. Any other manager would be struggling to get them to beat Westmeath or Laois. We might beat Wx or Dublin but not a chance we'll beat Galway. Would you go up and manage Galway?
Henry: Put the breaks on them? Hold them back? We'll never get away with that. Everyone knows that we are good mates.
Brian: Don't hold Galway back during the round robin match. After the match, I will hold on to your hand for a few seconds longer than normal and everyone will think that we are at loggerheads.
Henry: Surely people will not be fooled that easily?
Brian: Trust me, Henry. In the final then, Monaghan is a good midfielder. Play him at half forward. Play Cathal Mannion in the corner. Bring on Jason Flynn. That should do it.
Henry: And hold on to the handshake for a few seconds again?
Brian: No. I will shake hands with everyone in the stadium and ignore you. Then, you come up to me with a sour puss on you.
Henry: That will win Leinster for us, Brian. What about the rest of the campaign?
Brian: I have it on good authority that Tipp are sending LC into Waterford to bring disruption to their team. In 2023, we are hoping to send EB into Lk. He will have everyone up there fighting each other. Jackie could do a job on Limerick, MF could hold back Tipp, DL has volunteered for Cork, DH for Clare.
Henry: You are a genius, Brian
Edit: Mullens playing a lot better, would like to keep him out of midfield though, roams too much for me. If its not Leahy, then either deegan up or padraig. I would still have deegan on the field over richie reid if there was a choice between the two in the half back line
himself browne and delaney have missed so much time with injuries, doesn't seem like they got close to their potential. Always thought delaney would have nailed down the full back spot before now, never worked out. Maher in midfield has gone back a long long way from where he was too.
A lot of the scores were league alright but he was pretty consistent overall, 0-5 vs waterford, 0-2 vs cork to pick some out, not all against poor opposition. Championship he got 0-4 vs westmeath, 0-4 vs laois, 0-2 vs galway in first game, nothing against dublin and hasn't played much since, a point in both the wexford and galways games
Wouldn't disagree except C Kenny would need a big improvement on last Saturday. He looked completely lost. Perhaps the early yellow card didn't help. Thankfully A Mullen wasn't affected by his yellow - hopefully it's a sign of him maturing! Would P Walsh have the legs for midfield? P Deegan excels in matches like last Saturday. I'm not convinced his best position is in the backs.
I agree on Leahy. It's just frustrating, especially for himself, to watch him underperform or pick up an injury so often. He'd be an enormous addition if going really well. Were most of P Walsh's scored in the league when the experiment worked?
Hard to pick before we know the opposition but id go with.
E Murphy
M Butler, H Lawlor, C Delaney
M Carey, R Reid P Deegan
C Fogarty, P Walsh
E Cody, J Donnelly, A Mullen
TJ Reid, M Keoghan, C Kenny
yeah, be happy enough with deegan in midfield. Was Leahys first game in a long time, thought he did ok considering the amount of time he missed. Padraigs got 27 points so far this year, he wasn't going to get anything lumping ball into him in the middle of that Dublin half back line, assume its due to that game he hasn't played much if he didn't pick up an injury, not sure we have many great scoring options
Deegan in midfield then? I'm not convinced that the P Walsh experiment is working. Haven't seen enough of Leahy.
Think i would have leahy in ahead of browne or blanchfield in midfield. Billy Ryan to start if he's to play, he's not an impact sub. No Padraig Walsh?
My team for semi final -
M Butler, H Lawlor, T Walsh
M Carey, C Delaney, R Reid
C Fogarty, P Deegan/C Browne/D Blanchfield
TJ Reid , J Donnelly, A Mullen
B Ryan/P Deegan, M Keoghan, E Cody
From the outside looking in Kilkenny just need to get their most accurate shooters on the field from here on in. Padraig Walsh is definately one of them, Donnelly I'm not as certain on. Against Clare and Limerick and even Wexford Kilkenny won't have the bulk of possession but accuracy is what beat Limerick in 2019. That and an early goal. Alot needs to go right for Kilkenny to beat a Clare but who's to say Eoin Cody won't catch fire and score 2 goals. Definately they have work to do but Kilkenny are in a good position. If Cork beat Galway and Wexford beat Clare then it's Cork v Kilkenny. Iv said it before, I don't see Kilkenny living with a Cork. Everyone else are beatable for ye.
I saw Richie Reid in a photo of challengers left in the All Ireland series. He's a fine player and played well the last day but in comparison with the other guys he doesn't look athletic.