RIP
I was on that road around that time today Northbound. Traffic was extremely heavy but moving. I was filtering between lane 2 and 3 and was gaining on a bile in front of me doing the same but then I took the Ballymount exit.
A lot of the crashes on the M50 are low speed. Drivers on phones is a bigger problem than speed
Condolences to family and friends.
Spot on.
I personally think fluttering about doing 80 in the middle lane is a bigger issue than 120 in the outside lane.
That said combining speed with lane jumping especially for exits is a big problem.
because the gimps in the traffic corps would rather hide behind a bus shelter and catch someone going 7 kmph over the limit for 5 seconds down a hill. As opposed to engaging in improving driving standards by deterring all bad drivers.
when is the last time you saw them pull a HGV, motorcycle, bus… ?
It helps it to stop happening in the future, if we stop kidding ourselves that road deaths are unavoidable tragedies. We know the causes of road deaths.
We have a traffic corps, I think from that we should also have a dedicated motorway squad - who enforce the law. It might improve our motorway driving.
Another motorcyclist was killed on the old N10 Carlow road between Kilkenny and Paulstown. Roads were damp I think around that time, whatever happened. Seems a few motorcycles also were involved
https://kclr96fm.com/a-motorcyclist-has-died-following-kilkenny-crash-as-five-others-are-hospitalised/
I hate it too- it’s like a concertina- the littlest thing causes the traffic to bunch up and halt.
I've been stopped on the bike and queried about lane splitting once. Guard thought I wasn't checking my mirrors while lane splitting as I didn't move my head to check the mirrors.
Other than that-never!
Great vantage point on the bike. I see everything.
There should be more garda bikers on the roads
Update
I am up and down the M50 fairly regularly on the bike and hate it. I usually just settle in behind some granny on the inside lane and potter along with the brakes on high alert.
Two weeks ago on the M50 and was passed by some fella on a sports bike. He had a lady riding pillion. He was wearing shorts and tracksuit top. She had shorts and a blouse of some sort on. And they were booting it. 140 at least. I think he must have missed the safety bit of his IBT.
An appalling thing to happen. Some motorists are just so fcukin unaware of bikers regardless of what happened here. Far too many bikers are dying in proportion to the number on the road.
Condolences to his family RIP.
I remember when we started to learn to drive my friend was petrified of bikers. I remember saying to her...if they are in full leathers or at least a proper protective jkt etc they are grand they know what they are up to.
If they are in skanger tracksuits ,pull back put as much distance between them and you.
She said that piece of advice worked well for her.
I do remember Bike magazine doing an article many moons ago...if your pillion is in jeans you should be wearing jeans too..... basically the point they were making was your pillion should have as much protection, clothing etc., as you have and adjust your riding style accordingly.
That said the above takes the piss.
Is this the second time a biker has been killed in a charity event relatively recently?
Depends on what's defined as recently, I lost a really good friend on Rev-up some years ago, I crashed myself on a Blood bike event not too long after that (walked away thankfully).
What was the charity event where this happened?
We have made huge strides in road safety in Ireland- it’s time to work on and invest in biker safety as they appear to be one of the particular weak areas.
3 bikes taken out of it by one car and the driver is being charged with dangerous driving!!!
The recklessness of that car driver must have been on another level.
Very sad for the families involved. I've three kids as well. Doesn't bear thinking about
I'll have to invest in a camera set up for my bike. Front and rear cameras to record everything just in case.
Does anyone know if retraining is part of a penalty for dangerous driving like that, or is it just points/fines/jail?
Lads, if you're waiting for the government, the gardai or the RSA to do something to improve safety, you'll be waiting a long time. It's down to the guy riding the bike.
Very sad to hear this story, thank fúck no one forwarded me the videos. RIP to the 2 guys on the m50 and guy in kilkenny. Apparently the kilkenny crash was a car driver coming around a bend on the wrong side of the road
I don't know why there isn't some tax incentive for motorbike PPE in a similar scheme like bike to work.
Good PPE is very expensive, but I've heard stories of high quality back protectors being split in half with the rider walking away after a crash.
PPE won't solve everything, but it's the best first line of defence
If anyone knows the old N10 it is a pretty wide straight Road with decent hardshoulders. Was never a major accident point. So wtf was he doing on the wrong side? Either pissed or on drugs? Or a waylaid foreign driver?
Terrifying!
Potentially a 100mph impact then assuming the car and bikes were doing 50mph each with a head on collision.
Should be charged with manslaughter if that's true
Gardai not messing about with this one
https://kclr96fm.com/man-due-in-court-on-charges-relating-to-fatal-road-crash-in-kilkenny/
Must be strong evidence of wrong doing
don't think that's how it works but a 50mph crash is something you rarely walk away from
on the m50 for me, its safer than any other non motorway road
The **** people pull on motorbikes or bicycles on 2 way roads is mad, with the i didn't see you excuse the reason for all, the I couldn't be arsed looking more like
I often thought the m50 could do with a dedicated motorbike lane in the centre of the road to reduce the risk of collision.
I used the drive the entire length of M50 twice a day in a car. I used to try move lanes to allow bikes to pass. As M50 got busier I realised it's safer to stay in overtaking lane and let biker overtake/ undertake with and without indicators. I sometimes indicate right to let biker know I saw them. Typically I try to not change lanes as it's so dangerous even in a car. When it's quiet I keep to left lane. I often see near miss, actual accidents occur and lots of crazy driving. People in rush hour drive like bumper cars in salthill. Thankfully I no longer have to suffer the M50 daily. Many motorists never see bikers until they have gone.
I actually don't know, I had it in head it that he was a blood bike rider but I can't find anything on line ...I thought it was in the last year or so but then with covid timelines have become a blur.
We should all use the correct lanes when we are on the road.
Short video from UK but same rules apply here, although you wouldn't think it on any road in the country. Garda cars do this regularly. This is something that should be heavily policed, but it's ignored.
Overtaking on the left (undertaking) is 3 points and €80 fine
Take a wonder down the M7/N7- it’s seen as the complete “norm” unfortunately!
U.K. living in Canadia national charged with Kilkenny motorcycle accident death
https://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/crime-and-courts/830918/man-charged-with-dangerous-driving-causing-death-following-weekend-collision-in-kilkenny.html
We all share the roads with these sort of idiots unfortunately - from what I can make out and reading it there was a jeep turning right to cross the path of the motorcycles and was waiting for them to clear- this clown in the Skoda comes up behind him, overtakes him and straight into the path of the oncoming motorcycles- am I reading this correctly?