Your agenda seems to be to gloss over the Cody-Shefflin thing. That's your agenda. You wouldn't be on your own. But last night showed it's an actual situation and anyone who claimed otherwise is wrong.
Explain what you mean it does not suit my agenda i say other people have agenda to keep it going. They shook hands people on here must be into physology.
Not they didn't Brendan Maher even said at half time he didn't see in real time but taught it was red looking at the replay that exactly what I taught.
There's no gossip. The handshake moment was live on television and we all saw what went on. That it doesn't suit your agenda doesn't change that. Reality still exists independently outside. Rumours are not needed when it's unfolding live on TV. It's the people claiming there's nothing in it are in fact the rumour spreaders.
Everybody else did James McGarry was booked over it.
I wouldn't criticise Owens for not seeing the stamp, it was hard to pick up in real time without the benefit of replays, possibly the linesman should have alright.
Great win Kilkenny and makes the route to Liam Mccarthy much easier(considering Limerick win today). But what a poor game of hurling - 3 points from play from starting Kilkenny forwards. Galway had no shows from Geroid Mcinerney, Joe Cooney, Cathal Mannion and Brian Concannon and Thomas Monaghan, Conor Cooney was more involved but must have hit 5/6 wides. There was a passage of play in the second half where Conor Brown went for a point and it dropped short from about 35 metres out then at the other end in the same passage of play Fahy went on a run and took a shot and hit 10 yards wide, really summarised standard of hurling. 22 points to 17 says it all on a good night but windy in Croke Park. When the game needed a match winner TJ was the man again.
I was in for the second half of the Joe McDonagh. It reminded me of why I loved the game again. Free flowing hurling, forwards being forwards, some of the goals and points outstanding. The modern day Liam Mccarthy teams play with 3 forwards and the rest are practically behind the ball or play the game in there own half, the Leinser Final last night was intriguing to watch but must very poor game for a neutral, and the standard left a lot to be desired.
Henry has a lot of work to do with that Galway team, they threw in the white flag after Cooney missed the free on the 21 under the Hogan Stand.
More childish talk about the hand shake i suppose Ireland the land of gossip rumours. It has covered up Owens not doing anything about the stamping in the first half like the foul on Colin Fennelly in the 2015 all ireland it was also a clearly sending off offence
I'll assume the first line is disagreeing with the comment. Kilkenny's starting forwards scored 0-3 from play. They essentially won the game on frees. Bad as Galway were, if they'd scored theirs they nearly have had a draw. Kilkenny will need 0-3 from at least three forwards in an All Ireland final where they'll be playing a team that'll score an absolute minimum of 30 points, and not half that like Galway. Doesn't look like Kilkenny have even one player who could reliably do that.
Kk will be very happy with that considering their limitations up front. Tj was wonderful today but reliance on him to win puck outs and spank frees over won't win the all ireland vs limerick.
The ref added to what was an intense free taking competition. This suited kk all day long.
Galway were very poor and showed their frail mentality.
The handshake stuff was embarrassing. Shefflin was the bigger man. Cody doing his best to show his true colours. He might have plenty of Celtic crosses but his name is tarnished. A quick shake at the start of the game and the whole thing was put to bed. Petty stuff.
As an outsider I can't get my head around the problem some people have with Shefflin managing Galway. Cork,Tipp, Limerick people wouldnt for one minute question a ayer from their county going off to manage another. Is it because Kilkenny is smaller than those counties and more insular and maybe feel its 'us against the world'? I honestly don't know.
I thought Eoin Cody was ok ,tried to work his way into the game. Could have passed a few times but didn't. Mike Butler was excellent. He's so small but so good. Lawlor was decent after a long lay off. TJ was excellent in the last 15mins. His pace is totally gone, there's nothing there . After that there were alot of competent performances. I think the shackles might come off Kilkenny now and they can play with more freedom. But im not sure if they are any better than last year ,it's hard to say
KK dont have a scoring forward..... Jaysus...
Clare are a much more honest spirited bunch than Galway..... letts face it when galways mettle is tested... 9 times out of 10 they fold.... no bit of fight in them at all when the going gets tough.... i have never seen a galway team being lauded for its workrate or intensity.... and prob never will... actually the only time i can remember galway playing with intensity was 2001 semifinal against KK...
id fancy Clare if they came up against KK
Looked to me like Shefflin over-thought the handshake at the end in the previous game. Joe Canning was clearly very wrong in his "nothing to see here, the two boys will be having a laugh about it, but the plebs wouldn't understand" analysis of that. Looks like Shefflin stayed put to see if Cody would come over. Cody, like any leader, does abrupt and unemotional naturally and very well and did not give a sh!t. Likewise the Kilkenny players weren't rushing to Shefflin after.
The handshake in the end was initiated by Shefflin to, I would say, not escalate a situation by having no handshake at all. And clearly Cody gave him some home truth at the moment judging by Shefflin's headshaking.
Kilkenny should make the final at the least. They'll play Clare in the semi final and they are not the team they think they are. Will be well beaten today. Hard graft would probably be enough to beat Clare too.
Kilkenny's problem is that they don't have a scoring forward. Not every day will they meet a team than can score only 0-15 in 76/77 minutes. That'd be a baseline half-time score for the better teams.
Cody nailed on for as long as he wants right now.
A bit rich out of you i wonder if it happened to one of the shower where you are from.
Henry held firm on the sideline for some reason. Could have sorted it himself by just going to Cody, who had no interest in the panto. I think he looked affected by the whole thing and I also suspect on some level he had a lot of misgivings after watching the most kilkenny of performances. It might have actually dawned on him that he was in the wrong camp, not with his people. I also don’t think Galway were well served with his focus on the Kilkenny players rather than the Galway ones. Shoot over to Cody and show it’s water off a ducks back and then circle his own players with a defiant team talk would have been the right reaction in my opinion (easy in hindsight I know) but I don’t think Henry is in the headspace for that with what he’s endured personally and with the circus around his relationship with Cody.
sheff didnt seem happy as cody pranced around the field , but lets be fair thats a huge win for a dangerous looking Kilkenny team , no one has died yet.....
Nothing special or to be worried about but in fairness, fair play Kilkenny, played smarter today and kept the work rate up. I thought Leahy done well acc on first looking got a score set up another and involved in a few. 3 Leinsters in a row now who can complain. TJ’s free absolutely superb everything I thought that might go wrong didn’t and opens it up for us now. Brian Cody trending on Twitter but he’s Kilkenny hurling above all else no matter who he’s against and the players gave abso everything today. Cody don’t care how many all irelands shefflin won him as long as he’s with galway. Lots to work on of course and after losing the last 2 Semi’s we should be up for it against presumedly clare or Wexford. Good day all round. Strange team we are.
It was a very good win playing some smart hurling and a return to the work rate that is our hallmark. Galway showed very little heart in the second half, and we have much bigger challenges ahead that's for sure. But we're also one game away from an all Ireland. Savage stuff. Performance from tj was phenomenal especially.
At half time I was not pleased to be honest, felt like we were very very lucky to not have conceded goals and the performance from the half backs was awful, for similar reasons as the last day. But all credit to Cody and the detectors, they stuck to a plan, and brought in Padraig Walsh when there was still time for him to do some damage (still should have started). Still a huge amount to improve upon and you'd worry if we have the consistency to up it again now against someone like cork or Clare, or maybe even limerick. But I'd be a lot more optimistic than I was this morning.
Hard not to agree with the consensus that Cody let himself, and let's be honest, the county, down with his actions after the match. The easiest thing in the world would have been to shake Henry's hand, kill off that nonsense story. Not doing so was a choice. I don't expect him to like Henry for leaving, and I don't care if he's a likeable person, but that was just making a show of yourself. And he clearly says something to Henry when Henry has to be the bigger man and go and shake his hand, going by sheffs reaction. You wouldn't mind too much but it's not like Cody didn't owe shefflin anything. Very disappointing and took away from a great win.
mighty win for kilkenny to be fair , looking at the form guide leading into the game it wasnt great ,
it just shows how cody gets teams ready for the important days , it makes it almost impossible to break down the wexford game two weeks ago , workrate that day was two or three timzones away from today
Kilkenny played smart hurling for once. They combined that with the kind of work ethic that comes from a team who were stung. If we played long and dumb we would have been bet, but Galway couldn’t handle our approach because we did it ten times better than Salthill. In fact we turned the tables and made the turnovers. Despite our limitations in personnel we used our wit and were greater than the sum of our parts. Credit to the team and management on that. The challenge is now to avoid slipping back into old habits - following our good day, bad day pattern.
That is absolute rubbish, you said it put a lie to only non Kilkenny players lying down, therefore you are saying he lay down. A nasty comment about a player who had taken a few hard hits but I would not expect any better of you. Bit like our own CityKat poster who is equally one eyed and an embarrassment
With your constant in game moaning about referees( not isolated to today)on the All Ireland thread its pretty rich of you to refer to anyone else in those terms.
Some lads on here have made total **** eejits of themselves with their comments. Congrats to Cody and the team. Roll on the next day.
And the most unbelievable thing for me was the way Joanne Cantwell tried to airbrush over it at half time. The first challenge alone should've been a red, the stamp a definite red and the 2 neck high challenges by Coen both yellows. Unintentional i know, but both reckless and dangerous. When we consider what Hegarty got sent off for in Ennis.....!!!!
I don't think any of those hits put him down but the stamp on the knee from Fahey? Number 14 did the damage.
No, I'm "insinuating" that if a Galway player did similar against Kilkenny he'd be accused of milking the situation. A player is entitled to hit the ground if he takes a hit. But that's not always acknowledged here.
Good to win Leinster again. Backline improved considerably in the second half but bar TJ and Mullen our forwards had a shocker. Won't winning any All-Irelands playing like that again but that's a problem for another day.
Are you insinuating that he dived? Took a clip of an elbow from Fahey and then a frontal charge from Cooney. Don't think there was any dirt in Cooneys tackle but he's a huge man so surely going to be rattled after it.
He certainly put a lie to idea that only non-Kilkenny players are able to lie down.
Based on what Galway showed tonight Shefflin as guaranteed future successful Kilkenny manager is dubious. Kilkenny's starting forward line managed only 0-3 from play and still they could win pulling away. Cork will destroy Galway. No obvious game plan at all. Kilkenny now in the better side of the draw so a great chance of progressing. Match was a tough watch but unsurprising in that.