Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
.... my suspicions are that some people think sf are gonna wonder in and sort all this sh1t out, thats more than likely not gonna happen, largely due to the complexities involved, i.e. peoples expectations are simply gonna be too great, no government could fulfil them. im expecting sf to win strongly in the next ge, but a large proportion of floating voters will eventually float off, to god knows where, possible further to the extremes!
unfortunately i suspect sf already have their comfy slippers ready to go, again, id expect it, so if it happens, we pull them up on it, id expect their own flavor of sh1t, but in saying that, its gonna be interesting to see what happens with them in government....
I'd expect it too. My hope is we move toward social housing builds. I can stomach some cronyism if the goals help rather than hinder.
Another poll in the Sindo tomorrow. Wonder if it will be good or bad news for FFG?
Regards...jmcc
Theres people in this country struggling to feed their kids,the government are working to make it unaffordable for vast tracts of the country to communte go to work.....but bruce springsteen sold out,so its all good because a bunch of middle aged/elderly music fans can attend a concert,
Utterly mind boggling,head-in-sand stuff
Given recent efforts to rehabilitate eoghan harris,and the rather desperate fear-mongor tweeting as regards ireland place in europe all week.....
it would be unfair to speculate at this juncture....why do they just refuse to sprt their mess
They are worried. Word has obvs reached FF and FG headquarters of tomorrow's poll results
Its getting that bad, they are trying to bring back Eoghan Harris to save them
This is where you completely fail to understand.
Based on a budget available this year, would you buy 100 properties or lease 3600 properties, there simply isn't the cash available to buy 3600 properties (in this example, it can be extrapolated per council) so you need to make a choice here and avoid the populist answers or money trees (and whatabouting about other money spent).
The DAA fiasco may affect the %s but Ireland Thinks is an online poll and it had FF on 16% last month. If it goes below that, some FFers will be very nervous about holding their seats. As for FG, the DAA thing may affect it but Ryan/Greens was effectively being scapegoated in the media for it. Not sure about rehabilitating Eoghan Harris. Due to him being out of the limelight, it is very much a case of "Owen who?" and then the Barbara J. Pym stuff is remembered. The DPP has yet to make a decision on the file that the Gardai submitted.
Id assume they have the figures as it would be remiss to not ask for comment/input before publishing
Did the ersi not say,few months ago , its better for government to borrow to build vs this messing about with long term leases....its not a money tree,if long term it saves state money and gives a income stream going forward
As an aside,the government have set themselves up for a fall,using completed houses as a measure of their success....theres housing being adbandoned across state and estates not entering next phase across state....construction is grinding to a halt over costs
Remember when the Sindo had its "Quantum Research" polls? :) The figures for the Ireland Thinks/Sindo poll should be on Twitter later tonight.
Yes of course you just voted SF 👍
No it wasn’t a joke, but now you have figured out you can’t complain about Harris why promoting Bowes who is at the same disgusting behaviour, plus the party you just voted for is famous for it.
Bank holiday weekend,so likely pass under rader id say....cant see too many patrons of jordans being too fussed about it😅
Of course, it’s need parties in government and in opposition to try resolve issue like housing, not use it for childish games against each other.
Some parties have already spent 5+ years trying to make it worse yet people just ignore that….
At the moment the housing crisis is just been used as a points scoring topic, the opposition have no interest in fixing it, they are blocking everything they can so it’s worse
The question I ask, what’s to stop FF and FG doing the same if they move into opposition?
Now I know the answer but let’s see
The opposition are to a man and a woman fulfilling their duties as 'opposition' TD's. To call government to account and to propose a different way of doing things.
The government can choose to take the suggestions or ignore them and carry on what they are doing.
They are doing just that, insisting on their way. That's not opposition's fault.
Yes they can do that while making their opposition known to projects but granting them to resolve the crisis
As I said, you and the likes of SF have no interest in the people suffering with housing crisis, it’s just points scoring. It’s the I’m alright Jack club so screw everyone else. Disgraceful
Whats to stop Sf putting on record their disagreement with the project due to XYZ, but as this is a crisis they will allow it to move forward as it will give people homes….
Nah it’s better block everything they can 🤦♂️
Get up the yard
Who are struggling to feed their kids?
Have you tried to help any of these people? (P.s. I know you will make up some story now)
The reality is no matter what the cost of living you will find people struggling to feed kids etc. For a number of reasons and why you should always volunteer your time, donate etc to help these people
Not use them in some points scoring exercise on the internet.
If you think Ireland is an utter dump then no idea why you wouldn’t leave….
Very reasonable questions asked by Murphy here. Ireland under Fianna Fail and Fine Gael governments has been rotten to the core.
Have sinn fein not openly said they dont want build to rent,or profit driven deals on public land
The fact,the market hasnt evolved to cope with this,should tell anyone about free market theory,and how utterly retarded it,and its proponants are
50% of population are burning through savings to keep heads above water,SVP are giving out more and more food packages every week
Theres any amount of testamony of people saving they going without,so their kids dont....this is the logical endpoint of liberial policies persued unabashed all my life....ffg are doing to the poor,what the english attempted to do in 19th century.....theres more than enough money to feed,educate,house and provide healthcare to all here...but our politians are utterly useleas at facing down vested interests
The fact the best responce ffg can offer to any mild critism is to tell people leave,says to me,they havnt changed 1 iota in last 40 years,and have absolutely zero to offer for next 40....failed policies/solutions from a failed idology,liberialism is ending in same way communism did,utter contempt by its rulers by those they rule over
Any non sh1thole country,this would be enough to topple a government..... ireland we so beaten down by cronyism,and decades of misrule,this is accepted as how things are
We deserve so much better,anyone would be better than this never ending farce
Poll results are out. FG drop off continues
FG down 3%. The DAA fiasco affected it more than FF.
-3 % FG, that's not pretty. Surprised FF + 1% 😏
Wow. That's a big drop for FG.
The Margin of Error is typically around +/- 3% for these polls. There may not have been any real increase in FF support. The FG drop is far more important.It will be interesting to see the analysis of this poll tomorrow. The FG heads will be rather upset and FF heads will be overjoyed that they haven't been completely obliterated yet. :)
He's going great. He should go ahead with the EU army election if he is still there and maybe set some sort of record for losing elections.
Sinn Fein have blocked housing because they don’t suit the area, that’s how ridiculous SF are
No idea why in 2022 you think using the the word starting with r is acceptable is beyond me….
Just thought I'd share this Headline 😁
Yous complained that sf dont give reasons for their objections,upon being pointed out...they do,yous fail to respond,or engage with the facts and logic presented,prefering instead to rant on again
Wee bit like talking to a painting there lad,only a painting would be less sore on eyes,than yous poor quality posts,which fall asunder when exposed to facts and logic
,and result in yet more rants when anyone dare and correct your poorly informed assertions....have at it,facts dont care about your rants