Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
With the amount of idiotic, mutually exclusive ideas and schemes by this government, I can only think is to piss people off so much at any authority/government, that it'll lead to increased anger when SF come to office and fail miserably (and its a when at this stage)
Then majority of people in the World are vulture funds so. If someone buys a house, lives in it for 1-20 years, upgrades it etc and then sell it they expect to make a profit after all the money they invested in it. They don't expect to sell it at a loss. The size of profit is dependent on a number of things
The fact is they are vulture funds and they do what Vulture Funds do. Which is to buy property and flip it so they can make their money.
Investing in a property doesn't make you a vulture fund, it makes you an investor.
Nobody is going to build houses for free.
We in FF have more in common with SF than we'd like to admit.
You see, Sinn Fein are gun-running populists who'll promise the world for free.
But we in Fianna Fáil are ... uh ... you see it's complicated
Hopefully not much longer.
They own and invest in buy to let property schemes and you claim they have bog all to do with housing? What rock have you been hiding under?
How Ireland works
A vulture fund is a financial institution that buys underperforming loans from banks, and pursues collection of that loan very heavily.
They're pricks. But they've bog all to do with housing.
I feel like 99% of the housing comments from the far-left demonstrate a genuinely incredible lack of understanding of housing in Ireland. You're arguing against the villains of their imagination, and not actually solving the crisis by dealing with the true parameters of it.
The Garda are highly politicised. Always have been. There's a strong nod and wink culture within the Garda.
...so they believe SF, Lab, SD, PBP, industry experts nonsense about vulture funds, REITs.
" Feels great that this lot are in control " seems like a sarcastic cut from where I'm looking.
Where do I imply that? Let me see, no where
Interesting posts.
I can see FF+FG getting less than 50 seats in the next General Election. My best guess would be 45 seats
I am also seeing the establishment aka permanent government changing their tune because they know FFG will not be in power after the next GE.
May you live in interesting times they say...
Do you believe we're the only country represented in Brussels who are facing higher energy prices ? Have you just awoken from 2019 ?
The Taoiseach in Brussels today warning about even higher energy prices- feels great that this lot are “in control” doesn’t it? Very reassuring indeed
The state institutions hate SF, but that's changing.
Remember when SF were doing well in the 2014 local elections and the Gardai arrested and held Gerry Adams for 4 days? That was a message on how they felt about SF then.
It's a little different now. Civil Servants tend to respect the pols who are well prepared on the policy and their briefs. Since 2019, SF been making a hardcore concerted effort to grasp their actual briefs, especially on committees. A few mandarins have said to me that they're often the best prepared.
Having said that: the older civil servants still hate them, especially when SF throw digs at them in the media, always good for a few votes. But to the civil service, if you're in power, you're just some guy who's passing through town.
Remember when Stephen Donnelly's request to be included on the HSE social media accounts more was leaked? That was almost certainly a response to something he'd tried to get done that the HSE didn't wanna do.
For purely entertainment purposes, I'd love to see SF get and try to reform the civil service, or even just make them do stuff they don't wanna do. The chaos that would ensue would be terrific television.
I say this because I've been in the game for many years. I see FG doing events, big time, in rural Ireland. And I see SF doing incredible social media work under the radar - their recent campaign on apprenticeships, for example.
They pick a voter persona, target them heavily (ads broken down to a constituency-level pixel), get them signup - signups go back into the retargeting audience in that electoral area - and it goes into Abú. Then when the SF rep canvasses their house, they know a little more about them. And the young fella tells his mates and his family how sound the SF rep was.
They're shoring up votes in a big way. Turning that soft support into real committed personal support.
FG are doing ok in the mid-20s now, but only because we in FF are in 'front'. As soon as we vote for a FG Taoiseach it's unrecoverable.
Because the party leadership team will do what it's been doing for years, which is sweet F-A. Our bench, which is the party youth, doesn't get nurtured at all, so they all join SF or FG. The average age at a Cumann meeting is like 105. All the ambitious hacks are joining SF now. We don't really run events or campaigns.
We also seem determined to keep our successes a state secret. Housing for All (I'm a big housing policy nerd) is brilliant, but we only announce things on the 6.1 news, which young people - the ones affected by the housing crisis - don't watch. So they believe SF nonsense about vulture funds.
Party's toast.
They can also read what I posted...what is your point?
Everything can read what I posted
get up the yard
Indeed, absolutely astonishing the ongoing incompetence.
You have the opportunity to clarify if you wish. That you stoop to invective rather than clarification says a lot.
Just more of the reactionary, instead of pro-active engagement we have come to expect of this constantly chaotic government.
😂
Seems you failed to comprehend my post again.
Get up the yard
That's two members of a political party and YOU extrapolated that to mean 'the rest of the party wouldn't agree to it'.
ROFL
What do you mean "but but", I cited news reports on things FF'ers did. I made zero claims.
Only on the appropriate thread.
lies and misrepresentation
Seems you accuse everyone of that. From the link you provide
However, Fianna Fáil's finance spokesperson Michael McGrath said coalition with Sinn Féin was not a "runner" because they were "poles apart" on economic policy.
Fianna Fáil's justice spokesperson Jim O'Callaghan also shot down any suggestion of a coalition with Sinn Féin.
As I said FF is a political party. Even if we take (incorrect) that MM wanted to join SF, that was 2 v 1 and FF wouldn't. So who is lying now?
You are stooping to lies and misrepresentation again.
I never said 'MM WANTED to go into coalition' with anyone.
Everyone bar a few stubborns saw that he opened the door in a form of language that is traditional in sleeveen politics here. He may not have wanted to coalesce with SF in exactly the same way as a FF party would not have 'wanted' to coalesce with FG of all parties.
But he did, because it was his only route to being Taoiseach first. He lost interest in SF when it turned out they had won more seats and would demand first dibs at Taoiseach.
You provided the link Francie, I am confirming what is in the link. I can't assist if you don't read the link you provided.
FF is a political party. The clue is the word in bold.
You are accusing someone of making things up when you then say that that we don't know what the party would have done after negotiations!!!!! What negotiations???? There were none!!!! 😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣
You have made up an another alternative history in your mind that there was a chance that FF would do a deal with SF.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KX5jNnDMfxA