Extremely relieved and delighted’ says Fine Gael senator acquitted of attacking and injuring a man in a brawl outside a bar in Dundalk
Looks like the civil case might not go the way the other lad expects based on this.
@Dempo1 looks like the other lad wasn’t as credible as some people thought.
Indeed there's been many a curious verdict despite strong evidence and credibility of a Plaintiff .
Ultimately the DPP decided it was a strong enough case to pursue a prosecution (not done lightly) they too must have found the Plaintiff credible and presumably combined with the available evidence, we're persuaded prosecute.
The Jury didn't agree , that's our Justice system and it's to be respected like it or not.
Who knows the full story but Mcgahon doesn't come across well.
He is probably the biggest dicj head in Leinster House and that is a description from a TD from his own party.
Fair play. He'll be delighted boards FG'ers will now acknowledge he exists.
The plaintiff with the CAB settlement?
A lad like that wouldn’t have much credibility in my mind. Can’t understand how anyone could suggest that he had credibility.
Re the CCTV, have you actually seen the CCTV footage?
I ask because I pointed out previously that the defendants barrister said that the CCTV would show the plaintiff started it.
If you haven’t seen the CCTV footage then you have no idea what it shows.
Not a lot to see here.
Correct, just an innocent man.
This is a disgrace!
The jury was bribed and are FFG voters.
We need a retrial in a kangaroo court…..
I’d say Paul Murphy would get ‘biggest dickhead in Leinster House’ with a near unanimous vote.
So your assuming the DPP didn't actually look at evidence, make enquires, Gardai didn't investigate 🤔 basically just thought well prosecute for the craic 😳
Do you have any idea the Threshold required to decide to prosecute , it's not done by picking a number out of a bag.
But I notice your still harping on about the CAB matter, kind of proved an earlier point I made about narrative.
Before I go, what's going on with that bizzare thread in after hours referring to pooing in a kettle 🤔, seems to be directed at you .
Very odd
Good night
A very simple question - have you seen the CCTV or not?
“strong evidence and a credible plaintiff”
Based on what?
Same poster was making accusations of ‘violence against women’ in this case earlier this week.
Clearly has an axe to grind.
I'm not engaging with your nonsense, read the post , slowly if it helps . The DPP looks at the evidence presented by investigating Gardai, which undoubtedly involves the credibility of the plaintiff and indeed witnesses. If there was poor evidence, poor witnesses do you seriously think the DPP would have decided to prosecute the case 🤔
Obviously the Jury reached their own conclusion, that's how the system works, not at all sure what part of this your missing 🙄
Don't bother responding, I've said what I wanted to say, I see your busy deflecting this evening on another Thread, as I said there, you'd argue with your own shadow.
Strange post.
Plaintiff has no credibility. I wonder did he ‘forget’ to mention his CAB settlement in advance of the case getting to court?
A Google search of ‘Breen white criminal record’ (without quotes) brings up the following article as the first ‘hit’:
He doesn’t seem to be named in the story though, so why was it returned by the search?
Curiouser and curiouser.
Doesn't CAB just go after people who don't pay their tax ?
Someone could have a legitimate business but don't pay any tax it doesn't necessarily mean they are involved in crime.
This has some more information.
https://www.sundayworld.com/crime/irish-crime/prolific-smuggler-aidan-grews-property-empire-targeted-by-criminal-assets-bureau-40706877.html
Yeah, fair point.
I naively assumed the FG aspect of this case was the reason enough for ‘particular’ posters to be contributing, but in hindsight I can see now that the plaintiff was the real cause.
Highly credibly indeed. What a pisstake.
No. That's Revenue.
No, clue in the name "Criminal Assets Bureau"
If I don't pay my taxes revenue commissioners will be after me. CAB is for the criminals.
Picture caption says it all:
”Smuggler Breen White.”
How anyone can claim a ‘smuggler’ who made a significant CAB settlement was a ‘credible’ witness is actually incredulous.
😏
You don't make a settlement with CAB!
Yes criminals can.
https://www.thesun.ie/news/8742185/cab-name-shame-criminals-dodgy-businesses-crime/
I'm not looking at the sun.
It was first link, plenty more, CAB have always made deals with criminals. The question is why do the criminals names get withheld while a normal person who doesn't pay taxes will be named
The senator will be out celebrating tonight.
Hopefully the celebrations don’t get too rambunctious. 😂
I maybe wrong (wouldn't be the first time.) I'll have a look.
I can't see how, as an organisation this would be counter productive.
I don't see them as snitches of being of any use.
Maybe it's a case of non criminality and just a mistake and good auld tax evasion?
I don't understand how CAB can do people for not paying their tax but they never do people for criminality.
It's like it's OK to commit crime as long as you pay CAB some tax.
I'm not sure what you mean. Not paying tax is a crime. Revenue give fines in lieu of jail time, but if you don't pay...
Again, CAB are not Revenue!