Percentage of total population who were born overseas is higher in Ireland than in :
Belgium
Estonia
Netherlands
Spain
Croatia
Slovenia
Latvia
France
Denmark
Greece
Italy
Portugal
Finland
Hungary
Lithuania
Czechia
Slovakia
Romania
Poland
Source: European migration network
Emn.ie/useful-statistics/migration-and-migrant-population-statistics-in-eu-28/
Anyone who thinks this level of immigration won't have a negative effect housing, healthcare and education capacities in a country with housing, healthcare and education legacy shortages has had a bang on the head and isn't thinking clearly.
Excellent post, but the vast majority of people only know what the TV tells them to know. They just aren't capable of joining up the dots. Those few who can are dissuaded from doing so by the same media branding them as evil.
Yeah, it was a bit telling those Pakistani or Indian doctors that got pulled up for openly cheating in exams here to make sure their standard of education was up to scratch for working here. They made no attempt during the exam to try and hide the fact that they were cheating, even speaking in their own language to each other across the room, arriving by the same car and leaving together. Now don't get me wrong, I've met lots of very nice and very qualified doctors and consultants from India and Pakistan and I've no problem with them providing my medical treatment.
the corruption in those 3rd world countries is on another level. If you have enough money you can get a dregree in anything
That's a tricky one. I understand why so many African doctors come to work here, it's human nature to want a better life than the one you have. We do have a lot of them here and many of them are a real benefit to our health service, some, not so much. I won't go into the story of how one of them treated my Mother. It was so bad that the staff made an official complaint against her, though being a fat black African woman I doubt anything got done about it. Yah know, not being seen as racist is more important that the well being of the vulnerable patient. That being said, there are racist idiots using the HSE and nobody of any colour or nationality should be abused racially or otherwise. It's kind of hard to reconcile our need for doctors from poor countries with 3rd world health care who our own student doctors jet off to on a gap year so they have it on their CV.
No doubts.
Let me add further. The next time one of these cockamaney jobs has a guy deliver something to your door, have a look at the name on the receipts. Don't be surprised to see a woman's name when it was a man, or vice versa.
That's because multiple people are using one work permit illegally.
It's all bullllllllshaisse, the whole lot, from top to bottom.
Cheap imported labour, legal and illegal, to undercut wages and simultaneously pressurise housing for the profits of a few. It's gone about as far as it can, like all pyramid schemes there is an endpoint where it all falls apart and we're there.
All you need to do is take a look at the nationalities of the Deliveroo guys, mostly Brazilian where I live. You'll find most of the people working in hospitality aren't Irish and they're from poor countries. Often these lads are living in double figures in shared rooms and here on English language studies visas. They don't go home, the employers ask no questions and are happy to pay them cash in hand off the books. Honestly, there's lots of free online English language courses available. It's farcical to argue that people need to come to Ireland to learn to speak English. Without all the cheap foreign labour the hospitality industry would be forced to pay decent wages and provide decent working conditions.
They don't just want young people, they want non-irish people.
"Mr O'Keeffe told politicians that the COG working group is examining short-term measures to help address the problems in the industry.
He said the group is looking at integrating Ukrainian workers in hospitality, and the international recruitment of staff into the Irish market, as well as building future skills"
Irish people, by and large, are waking up to the unaffordability of many jobs, not just retail/hospitality. These employers want people more desperate and probably less educated so as they can put them under the thumb. All to maintain profits.
And simultaneously that reduces/stagnates wages for people all around, and also increases price pressures on housing for profits. It's a twofer.
It's all about profits, make no mistake. "Multiculturalism" is the propaganda arm of a profiteering policy that has just about run this country into the ground.
Eyes, ears and a brain are all you need.
I don’t like the idea
actually I don’t care anymore
A diverse Ireland will never produce another Berkeley or Beckett.
A very good piece with some data on the topic
Ireland is now a multi-racial and multi-cultural country and Government policies should promote and encourage the development of an inclusive and integrated society with respect for and recognition of diverse cultures. The internationalisation of the population presents Ireland with the key challenge of developing a truly integrated society that values cultural and ethnic diversity.
They want only young people who will work for minimum wage . There is age discrimination in the hospitality sector .
It's genuinely hard to believe just how easily people are misled by cons.
A school with 43 nationalities. "Oh that's great, wonderful news! Separately, I can't find a place for my child in school."
"I have to wait 4 years for a medical appointment even though my head is falling off, that's weird."
"I can't afford to buy a home, that's weird."
"I can't afford to rent a home, that's weird."
"I can't move to take up employment because there's nowhere available, that's weird."
"These wages aren't enough to live on, that's weird."
"I have to wait 20 years on a social housing list, that's weird."
Like, for the suffering jaysus h Christ Almighty, can people not link the above to the simple fact that a f*ck load of extra people have been arriving into the country year upon year despite all these problems existing year upon year? Come on!
During a global pandemic, when people weren't allowed down the street, somehow yet another extra 11,000 people arrived in 2021. How?! By all accounts, it looks like now that the pandemic has lifted, there are record numbers arriving. We have to wait until next year to get those numbers though. And then the Ukrainian refugees, all ready being primed to take up the unaffordable jobs as part of the great pyramid scheme, is just the cherry on top.
Again, "multiculturalism" is nothing but the propaganda arm of a con job. The next time you're shocked at the state of the place and there not being enough to go atpund, think no further than this.
And don't mistake "immigrants" versus "migration". One is a way to make you feel guilty, the other is a cold economic fact.
Employment numbers are at an all time high
New record as number of people employed in Ireland passes 2.5 million
Yet many businesses are having to close up during the week as they don't have enough staff and can't get more
It's little wonder employers are shouting at the govt to fix the permits system so they can bring more people to Ireland to work
So little old Ireland with nearly two hundred organisations against racism isn't completely daft? And that's just one teat the NGO's suckle from. How many ones for the homeless etc? We're awash with NGO's to a farcical degree.
Im involved with one of those 170 organisations. Its entirely made up of volunteers and has zero government funding.
I asked for the name of the organisation, which you didn't provide. Pretty safe to assume that such an organisation is an NGO of some form, and also, on the receiving end of State funding considering the Government attitude towards racism.
This diversity lark is more like a fetish at this stage.
"Multiculturalism" is the propaganda arm of those milking money out of nation's to maintain a pyramid of cheap labour.
Nothing more than a con job.
Now you are actually making stuff up that I didnt say. 🤣
Just like providing some reference about the NGO she/he works with and is supposedly representative of being completely independent of State funding.. Somehow I doubt we'll get anything to verify their claims.
This poster has a long established habit of making claims and accusations without providing any evidence to support them.
Yer man was thrown out of the National (Nazi) Party. Doesnt that say something. Too extreme for an extremist racist party.
Are you really trying to argue that the National Party are not racist? Its literally built into the founding principles of the party lol
Feel free to take it directly from the party leader
or indeed have a look through their Youtube channel or website for a full view of their stances regarding
There's a reason these lads get less than 0.3% support
If you still feel like reading more
No doubt you can provide proof for your accusation !!
No government funding. No state funding. No grants.
This conspiracy that every group/organisation that is a member of INAR gets state or government funding and a CEO is drivel. And links from 2004 prove nothing.
You're the one claiming black is white not me
its entirely made up of volunteers and has zero government funding
Lets me guess, somehow a grant isn't government funding, even though it matches the literal definition:
"A grant is a way the government funds your ideas and projects to provide public services and stimulate the economy".
Black is white, men can be women, and government funding isn't government funding. We're certainly living in mad times.
I didnt say I volunteer for an NGO. 🙄
Anna, give us the name of the NGO you volunteer for, and we'll see if they're completely independent of State funding... cause I highly doubt they are.
After all, why turn away from such funding when the government supports your policy agendas already. It's not as if NGO's are operating in an environment with a hostile government or political scene.
Did I say none of them get grants? I am sure some do get grants. The conspiracy drivel about 170 CEOs and all these 170 organisations getting government funding was what I was talking about. Try better than a link from 2004 though.
There's grants that all of those groups qualify for. Are you telling me that none of them are getting grants?
https://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/NPARAd.pdf/Files/NPARAd.pdf
I honestly wish that progressives would put more effort into their dishonesty, as a few button clicks can prove them wrong in a few seconds.
Yes. A large number of the 170 INAR members dont like some of the mad conspiracists are claiming.