Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
Galway are not in the same league as Kerry.
Well they will be next year, but you know what I mean ;)
If Mayo cant beat Monaghan how on earth can they hope to compete with the likes of Kerry or Galway?
Thank you ☝️
Not a local but O'D's would be my shout. Plenty of space, big screens and a good atmosphere.
I would still love to hear some actual evidence of players being run into the ground in training or the supposed deterioration of our S&C program.
It seems that people are seeing the injuries mount and just making assumptions.
There's no denying that we've seen record numbers this year but a lot of them have to be put down to bad luck imo. A lot of them down to ridiculous asks being placed on players by club, county and college.
I think there's a big issue with players playing through pain/playing injured in general, but I don't think that's unique to ourselves... But the fact that we've had a decade of long seasons, it catches up eventually.
Amateur players shouldn't be allowed play if the need to injections to do so. This isn't just county players, it's going on in club teams around the country as well...which is absolutely banana's on both counts. The body needs to be listened to.
We are where we are imo, due to
1. Bad luck
2. Crazy schedules
3. Playing through pain
The county set-up can be blamed in part for 2 and 3 but player's push themselves too much as well. I've heard of instances where players will have their own physio (as well as the county one) to keep certain things off the radar for fear of losing their spot etc.
He's being shown up for the malevolent bullshitter that he is.
Hopefully the few fanboys he has on twitter will slink away and leave him starved of oxygen
We dodged a serious bullet when the county board told him where to go,all he has now is a lot of bitterness and a twitter account.
Couldn’t agree more with this. Stay as far away as possible.
I find it hilarious that someone claiming to be a Mayo superfan and saviour was dressed topped to toe in England kit, flashing his Mickey at an Italian penalty taker during Euro 2012 on the same day Mayo played Leitrim in the Connaught Championship. Loyalties eh!
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2165338/Euro-2012-England-fan-flashed-Diamanti-penalty-shootout-revealed-millionaire-businessman.html
Where would a visitor watch the match in Belmullet?
well lets hope your right , along with those rumours of Horan having got a 2 year extension.
Are you one of these lads who believes the tweets from toxic Tim?
This is how it goes time and time again.....Timbo posts some nonsense that of course turns out to be false,often times he takes it down the next day when he sobers up,other times he leaves it there for all the world to see.Yet still some eejits follow him on twitter spread the nonsense.
Interesting comments on the idea of 'running the players into the ground'.
Most managers,in the distant past did this initially to get the winter pounds of flesh off and then once fit the players played more with the ball.
Remember Mick O'Dwyer ran the legs off his super team and it was only in later years that they paid the price with health issues.Then again it was just MO'D on his own,he was the management team,he did not have the huge backroom that the likes of present day managers have! He did well all the same from a results point of view....and sure if lads needed new knees etc later in life they had the memories and the medals to prove it was worth it.
Present Offaly manager had a similar army means of training when in charge of Mayo,they were fit but......getting to the final was the best Mayo did and its the same ever since.
Remember Graeme Souness the great Liverpool midfield hardman and present TV pundit destroyed the Liverpool team when manager,the injuries were horrenduous due to his training methods....then again the players were professional and were getting paid for it unlike the GAA players.
Present day players will suffer unbelievably in older age due to what they are doing to their bodies.Some of the scrawny but very skillful lads I looked after at under age are now 'ready to burst',bloated beyond all recognition,in some cases.Is it an amateur sport with professional training methods ? And if it is ,is it any longer safe?
Kevin Mc may just be spending time with the new born twins. Real life has to take precedence at times.
I see he did a press conference this afternoon and confirmed no one has left the panel.
Horan intensive training methods has injured half the squad, and now hes falling out with our few players that has ball skills and the vision to open up blanket teams.. ,
Poor kev mustn't be able to run hard enough for James..
I didn’t hear anything about it and got a good bit of news re the team last nite, so unless it happened today.
Doesn’t sound like McLoughlin’s style
Half the injured lads back in training this week.
Darren McHale will be in the starting forwards IMO
5/2 on PP now, thats great value, never backed against mayo and wont start now but for any neutral its worth a bite imo
Re KMcL, saw yer Man Tim O'Leary tweet that, but didn't pay much heed, is there soemthing to the rumours so?
The allocated seats didn't work great in my section last time. One Elderly man wouldn't go into his seat due to mobility issues and sat on the Isle seat and thereby the whole row were in incorrect seats. Also a few were in wrong seats as a result of poor markings and stupidy, and were reluctant to move. Felt sorry for the two young stewards having to deal with all this messing so maybe it's for the best revert to a first come first served basis.
I'd agree with that, play him instead of Orme. Supposedly Kevin McLoughlin has left the panel too. They might be better getting bet this year early and start afresh next year with all the injuries.
Yeah it looks like all tickets are GA so its back to first come first serve for the good seats in McHale park!
Were stand tickets available to season ticket holders at any point today and just snapped up fast?
Odd to see no stand for at least some season tickets or released to the public on ticketmaster. Not sure what's happening there.
Edit: Seems they had so many season ticket holders abandon poor seats in the stand for better options on the road side they've decided to go fully GA for all tickets this time around.
Seems a very odd choice to abandon the potential additional revenue of stand tickets rather than simply giving season ticket holders a better choice of seats.
Monaghan are so unpredictable and inconsistent even this years league showed that with beating Dublin and well beaten by Kildare. Under Banty they are more open defensively and less tactical aware than they were under O'Rourke and I think if Monaghan defend like they did against Derry whereby 3 goals was conceded could have been more i think Mayo will win.
Not much scoring power in our half forward line. I’d start Darren Coen for this one. On his day is as accurate as anyone and can shoot from distance.
Very annoyed to just get a GA restricted ticket on Season ticket.
I've a wedding that day, it might cover it.
Monaghan +3 at near even money is great value IMHO. Seeing Monaghan at better than 2/1 in most places, which is astounding.
Too early to call, we'll see how many more injuries we get in the next week.
I wouldn't be putting us as odds on favourites like the bookies have.
what do people feel on this? monaghan big chance?
Get Kevin McL in there, his limited time has been one of our main issues imo. I know he had some relatively poor games in the league but he's key to us playing our best.
It may get a lot of criticism from journalists and some pundits but the provincial championship with local rivalries such as Galway will always attract bigger crowds to MacHale Park than a qualifier. I'm thinking 18k max for this Monaghan game.