The Brazilians, a great bunch of lads
We never seem to get the new Ronaldinho, Romario, Rivaldo, Ronaldo, or Bebeto though. Someone, we could fast track to nationalisation so they could play for Ireland.
There's probably that number deliveroo riders! Iirc their economy is in trouble at the minute so their may be a few more coming- great for bunk bed sales anyway!
The number of Brazilians living in Ireland has been continuously increasing over the last ten years I have been living here. The Brazilian Embassy estimates that around 70,000 Brazilians now live on the island, and many more plan to come.
Unfortunately have one of these houses next door. There's bunk beds in the kitchen and the turnover of people living in it is crazy. I reckon there's at least 10 in there at a time in a 3 bed semi and they have been all Brazilian as far as I can tell for the last 7/8 years. The current crowd haven't been too bad but we have had a lot of midweek parties lasting 24 hours plus over the years, which is pretty annoying!
One would argue here of course that you are selectively picking all the good things Christianity teaches while ignoring the fact that people have done and continue to do terrible and irrational things out of what they perceive to be a pure following of the faith. Progressive values in the West, alongside a relative respect for science, have acted as a counterweight to the meaner end of Christian fundamentalism for a long time. The development of Christianity as a relatively tolerant faith (in Western Europe at least) has much to do with progressivism and intellectualism helping people not to take faith so seriously as to take every passage of the Bible literally etc.
The kind of relatively chilled out version of Christianity that exists in Western Europe (at least in comparison to some of the whackjob Christianity that exists in Africa and the USA) owes a lot of that to progressive values and people who were willing to risk the censure of their peers by taking the whole thing a bit less seriously — i.e. the ‘woke’ people of their day who didn’t necessarily believe in, for example, imprisoning gay people. The combined energy of that has cultivated, or perhaps forced, the modernisation of European Christianity into something more tolerant where we keep all the good bits that align with progress — while kind of setting aside all that other less fluffy stuff about a vengeful God and homosexual sin.
One would argue here of course that you are selectively picking all the good things Christianity teaches while ignoring the fact that people have done and continue to do terrible and irrational things out of what they perceive to be a pure following of the faith
Then "they'd" be ignoring my words, because I said that the faith was abused by others. Christianity for a large part of its history has largely been based on the NT, which is completly inline with my views on the softer more pacifistic elements of the the faith. The worst of Christianity is found in the OT, which hasn't been followed for a very long time, so I'm not picking and choosing, as most Christians, even the ones who abused the faith, were meant to follow the NT, which they clearly didn't. That's not the fault of the religion itself, it's the fault of the men who abused the religion for their own power and gain, something which is literally against the teachings of the faith.
Men punishing men for sins, judging the sinner, and taking Gods laws into their own hands, which we've seen many times throughout history, is all out of sync with the literal teachings of NT Christianity. Which is my core point. They were men who either abused the faith, or interpreted it incorrectly, which makes little sense to me, as much of it is written in clear terms. I suppose the fact that your average believer back then likely didn't even read the Bible helped contribute to the problem of abuse.
Well, if you’re talking about your adherence to the “softer more pacifistic” elements of the faith, then you are clearly rejecting the harder less pacifistic elements of it, right? The full menu of Christianity would mean adhering to the soft bits and the hard bits with equal vigour — and there are still plenty of Christians out there who adhere very strongly to the word of the Bible as a whole and over history (right up to the present day) the holy scripture has been used as the justification for everything from homophobia to racism to war. You would call them abusers of the faith while others might tend to say that they are simply following the faith to the letter — rather than just picking the softer bits that align with the moral relativism of the day.
When you talk about how you interpret the Bible, and how you think others have misinterpreted it, I do not think your opinions would necessarily be the same if you were born a few hundred years ago. So it sounds to me that you adhere to a version of Christianity that aligns to softer, more liberal-leaning values, and I would argue therefore that your religious beliefs are not “pure” Christianity at all — but a Christianity which has been shaped by modernism and a Christianity that would not exist in its current form without progressivism.
You should be grateful for experiencing what a favela might be like, after all this is what enrichment it's all about!
we have Neymar tho!
Perhaps you should google sometimes.
https://www.studyinternational.com/news/no-more-international-students-for-english-language-schools-in-ireland/
https://www.thejournal.ie/english-language-college-closures-ireland-2085691-May2015/
Neither of your links relate to the discussion at hand so I've no idea what your point is
Your first link from 2020 relates to covid stopping new arrivals, no big surprise there.
Your second link is from 2015 relates to schools closing and students losing out.
Maybe you didn't use google correctly?
I get the feeling they will be a lot less reports and articles for anything that views immigration in a bad light, the more society becomes PC.
the more society becomes PC.
I recall people using that old chestnut back in the 90's. How PC is too PC?
Christianity for a large part of its history has largely been based on the NT, which is completly inline with my views on the softer more pacifistic elements of the the faith. The worst of Christianity is found in the OT, which hasn't been followed for a very long time, so I'm not picking and choosing, as most Christians, even the ones who abused the faith, were meant to follow the NT, which they clearly didn't.
I have to agree with @ArthurDayne here. You really are picking and choosing the bits which suit your argument, when in reality, Christianity still to this day incorporates and follows both the Old and New Testament. Different denominations of Christianity will have disagreements over which books are relevant, but they’ll still incorporate the Old and the New Testament, or Covenants -
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_views_on_the_Old_Covenant
https://www.massbible.org/exploring-the-bible/ask-a-prof/answers/why-are-catholic-and-protestant-bibles-different
Their application and development within different cultures is as much a product of their introduction into that culture, as it is a product of the existing cultural values and norms. Catholicism and Protestantism didn’t develop in isolation in either Ireland or Europe, or on continents like Africa, or North and South America. There were other influential factors in play such as Arthur was alluding to like politics, science and progressivism.
You’ll see the differences for yourself if you went to mass on a Sunday where there are plenty of immigrants there too besides just the Brazilians you’ll meet on a night out on the town. The Irish mass is very different to what they’re used to back home, and the Pentecostal service is different again, and the Protestant service is different again. It’s no different than the various differences in any denomination or sect within any religion, be it Christianity, Islam, Buddhism or Hinduism.
It’s for cultural and political reasons for example that new laws were passed in some Indian states prohibiting marriage between Hindus and Muslims -
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-56330206.amp
That kind of thing still goes on in Ireland today, though you’re probably not exposed to it or aware of it, but this is a well-known case in recent Irish history -
The Fethard-on-Sea boycott reflected longstanding nationwide religious divisions, and could have taken place in any of several previous decades. What was chiefly remarkable about it was the extent to which it was blunted by international pressure, deriving from official concern that Ireland be presented as modern, tolerant and attractive to international investors.
It is indicative of changing attitudes in subsequent decades that, while in 1957 Sheila was publicly denounced even by her own family and Church of Ireland representatives for ‘breaking up a home’ and violating a solemn pledge, journalistic coverage of A Love Divided and of Sheila’s death usually praised her for showing moral heroism in standing up to clerical bullying. Some commenters claimed that her action contributed to the liberalisation and secularisation of Ireland in subsequent decades.
https://www.thejournal.ie/fethard-on-sea-boycott-2898080-Jul2016/?amp=1
Goes into his local centra, robs it n pulls a knife of the till worker, gets a suspended sentence. It'd probably be racist to jail him judge!
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40874930.html
This lad exposed himself, committed a lewd sex act in front of, and then sexually assaulted an undercover Garda and gets a tiny fine. A child could have walked into that bathroom.
Giving out visas like candy.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/chef-fined-400-for-performing-sex-act-on-himself-and-grabbing-undercover-gardas-bottom-in-shop-toilets-41663096.html
And if a child had walked into the bathroom, the pervert in question would have been handed down a much stiffer sentence. No need for the embellishment adding in things that didn’t happen.
“He was in Marks & Spencer and something came over him,” Mr McGarry said
I’ll bet it did, that must have been what finished him off.
How do we know it didn’t happen previously. I doubt there are always undercover cops in the jacks. He should have been on the next flight out of Ireland.
We don’t, nor quite frankly do I care all that much either. Pervert got caught red handed doing his best George Michael impression, sucks to be him.
On the next flight out of Ireland? That’s a stretch 🙄
What visa are we giving Brazilian general operatives?? No unskilled Europeans??
I have no idea what visa the individual in question has or had, given he could be married to an Irish citizen, worked as a chef and then as a general operative, or… handyman, if you will 😂
Sorry Fandymo, I just think your handwringing on this one is a bit overwrought tbh, I’m struggling to take it seriously.
You're not the only one
A perfect example of how not to do it
In pursuing a right to remain in the State, the applicants claimed they would be persecuted or killed if they returned to Pakistan because they have a
child together out of wedlock.
But also:
The judge noted that, despite the foregoing fear, the man obtained a false marriage certificate for the couple to get a Pakistani birth certificate for their child in order to enable visits to family.
So they fear they will be killed if going back to Pakistan but also they go back to Pakistan to visit family. And this happens with a lot of these asylum seekers, they claim they will be killed in their own country yet that's the country they usually visit.
I would say good fekin riddance if only I would know they will be actually deported.
Shocking antics by these foreigners, they should be deported.... Oh wait
Three men from Ireland and the UK jailed for running roof repair scam and swindling elderly Australians out of €288,800
Irish criminals have never once been tolerated by any poster here. They should all be deported from whatever nations they commit crime in. This has probably been said hundreds of times on this thread, yet as usual, you're pretending that that's not the case, and acting like we think that they should be treated differently. It's so dishonest, so disingenuous, and at the end of the day all it does is reflect poorly on your own character, as you're simply making stuff up in the name of a "gotcha". In reality, you're fighting against a caricature that exists in your mind only.
I think I've heard the justice minister (or maybe someone else, not really important) speaking about justice reform and moving towards a victim centric justice system. That is the focus being on the victim, not punishing the criminals. Because this is how things work in the la la land.
Exactly. Nobody on this thread has suggested otherwise regarding Irish criminals in other countries. I'd also have no issues with the US deporting illegal Irish immigrants from there.
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/language-school-blames-closure-on-visa-scams-qs93rjxpj
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/visa-abuses-at-colleges-set-for-probe-by-gardai-30392266.html
https://www.eazycityblog.com/international-student-scam-in-ireland/
https://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/english-language-schools-shouldnt-help-facilitate-illegal-immigration-31256798.html
The schools were closed because they were fraudulent . You forgot to mention that !! I doubt any students would have reported the illegal activity as it was to their benefit .
I doubt you will see any poster defending them .