New thread as old one is nearly at 10000 post limit.
Old thread
Andy North would like to join this conversation......
Two US Opens and one other Pga tour win in a long professional career was some going.
Paul Lawrie, with a better Majors record than Monty and Westy combined
i wonder with alot of other pros now willing to play in the LIV invitational tour does Rory regret saying it's done and that he'll never play there, i can't see why they can't play a few on each tour some of their ideas actually sound interesting and i'm usually a traditionalist
But the discussion is about the worst player to win a major, the 2 boys never did, contended a few times, Lawrie won one but never finished top 5 in 43 other majors, so he’s a strong contender, it’s opinions though and there are a few different ones
darren clarke has to be up there aswell
Lmfao, you are taking the mick big time!😁
A man who has top tens in every major, a man with three PGA tour wins, two wgc wins, a host of European tour wins and multiple other tournaments worldwide.
Pure luck 😂
Just going to leave this here to start major week.
You'd hardly know there was a major on this week, things very quiet. It's probably the most boring of the 4 to be fair
Southern Hills is supposed to be a good venue though isn't it?
It's the same every year for the PGA. Phil winning last year probably got a few tuning in, but generally speaking, only golf fans will even know it's on.
I've said it heaps of times, a major that tours the world would be huge. Look at what Portrush meant to the Irish golfers. You could repeat that for the Aussies, South Africans, Japanese, Spanish, etc.
the whole concept of majors is a load of marketing shite anyway
Only majors people get excited about are the masters because it's the masters, and it's the first major in 9 months and also the open championship because it's on a links, in the UK & only major outside the US and is alot easier to go to.
i like the PGA because of the lack of hype around it and it’s normally exciting . The last three masters haven’t been great tbh - Dustin Matsuyama scheffler all winning easily
Most of the last few majors have been disappointing. Even the memorable ones are memorable because of who won - Phil, tiger, shane.
One of my favourites I ever saw was Rorys last pga. Unfortunately I can't imagine many saw it beyond golf fans.
It really isn’t.
this tournament looks wide open to me very hard to pick a winner, Rory will have a chance if his wedge play is up to scratch
I was listening to the 3 off the tee podcast last week with Tony Jacklin (very good). In it he mentioned that the majors term came about when Arnold Palmer back in the day got his journalist friends to start pushing the term around the tournaments we now know as Majors. Obviously the tournaments were long established in their own right but the term major was something dreamt up more recently.
it really is, just trying to get bums in seats and keep the auld sport TV subs rolling in for a sport which is grand to play but well by its nature boring to watch
no harder to win than the waste management, no more special
No, it really isn’t.
Why do players want to win Majors? The answer to that should tell you what you don’t know.
they want to win full stop
why?
money
Which seems ironic, and ill informed in the week that the LIV has garnered so much publicity. Even with the prize money on offer, the top players turned it down.
Try again.
Maybe look at the history, prestige, qualifying, course set up etc attached to Majors. Or the fact that the standing of top players in the history of golf is often measured by the number of majors they won rather than prize money earned.
Well they are harder to win due to the strength of field. Majors are just that though, 4 competitions that attract the strongest fields of the year. Course set up for the US Open makes that a bit different too
they risk losing money there, that is why they haven't jumped and they havent been allowed to
you must try harder
Prize money is not the driving force, marketing money is, ask rory, jack, phil and of course the BIG dog, tiger
Seve lost out on the prestige of a ryder cup over money, and jaysus he loved a ryder cup
The waste management Phoenix Open gets lots of spectators so suggesting that the term major is to get people in is ridiculous. They've had close to 800k people for the week.
The Masters only lets in circa 40k people per day. The PGA doesn't even report attendance figures. The US Open record is 295k at Torrey Pines in 2008. The Open record is under 240k for the week, Portrush might have that record now or is very close.
Pebble Beach has been close to 200k fans. Torrey Pines for the Farmers gets 150k.
The Memorial, the Arnold Palmer and the Fed Ex playoff events all get huge numbers too.
I've read some nonsense in my time but that last line is a real clinker! 🤣
I'm not sure what your point is? They are marketed as the biggest events in golf
the masters is the ultimate hype machine, they dont have the space and want to keep that exclusive tag, I havent looked but I bet they are head and shoulders the most expensive to attend too
how many people watched the Waste management vs the masters, 3, 4, 5 -10 times as many?
anyway the attendance record there is 40k per day right, so 160k over the 4 days
seriously its all about making you believe its special enough to part with some cash
I don’t want to pile on you, but the main selling point of the LIV is the almost unlimited prize money which they will offer to try and make it work. So for the top players money is not the main driving force in their careers, they make that anyway by virtue of being near the top, it’s the kudos of winning majors. That is not marketing hype, it is tradition. There may be more money on offer for winning races or tennis comps, but the top athletes want Olympic medals, the top tennis players want majors. Same with golfers.
no no, you cant pile on me
there is massive risk to switching
you don't seem to appreciate this
the whole phil thing revolves around him wanting to make even more money, this is what drives these people, In case you don't know, he is not short of a few bob