Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
Sounds great as long as its just for public projects.
It is amazing the amount of time some posters spend talking about the North in this thread.
Getting back on topic, I see government is doing more to help business again.
"The Government has extended the lower VAT rate for the hospitality sector.
The 9% lower VAT rate, which was due to expire at the end of August, will now run until 28 February 2023"
ah tis too late, they and their ideologies are dying a death, and thank god for that
The longer they concentrate on shinners while ignoring issues the public care about, the quicker they'll become irrelevant.
And the claim is FG and FF haven't tacitly merged into one to keep the Shinners out. Here is a FG TD canvassing for FF's 'partner's in the north. Bizarre!
Income taxation on average earners is among the lowest in the EU.
Yes, the income tax burden on higher earners is way too much, but property, VAT and many other taxes are lower than the rest of the EU or OECD.
Where we are above average is the take from multinationals and from higher earners.
Taxation is at crippling levels in this state. No surprise to see this- no wonder the cost of living is biting so hard here. The state devours so much of our income to mostly waste on rubbish that benefits none of us.
Ireland, were doing better than when in a crisis is considered doing well. TBF, this time it was mostly not of their making.
Looks like the government have done a good job on the public finances again.
Well done to them.
He is paid 50% more than the Taoiseach. Despite being inept and loose with taxpayer money.
Simon Harris, typically late to the party, so to speak, it must be two weeks since the 2nd FG councillor resigned.
We need some kind of public representative to stand up for the tax payer. Do we have any politicians looking after the people? Be nice for some man or woman to put an end to this kind of thing.
Current lot are cowards, happy to hide behind red tape of their own creation.
Nah he said he wouldn't take during the pandemic or some such nonsense but as soon are furore died down he took it. Watt tied himself up in knots this morning at the Oireachtas health committee. The guys should be removed.
Watt 🤔 I understand he took that when the dust settled
Yes...his salary and ad hoc 80,000 Euro payrise. Didn't he promise to forego that payrise?
He's busy trying to save face on his latest debacle, the new national maternity hospital, just extraordinary, is there anyway this buffoon can get right.
Watt is all over the place on the CMO appointment and especially the funding. Very murky indeed. Wonder what Donnelly will be told to say.
None of these things are mistakes the housing crisis is not a mistake that needs to be fixed it is by design as a result of FF/FG neo liberal economic policy. They are deliberately creating a market where hosuing is unaffordable and rents are artificially sky high.
Same as the working from home bill,designed to fail legislation to benefit anyone bar workers
At some point,people must accept the same repeated "mistakes" are infact concious decisions
Robert Watt was appearing before the Oireacthas Health Committee and guess was line was trotted out " We need to learn lessons", obviously Watt mustn't have gotten the "lessons learned" document from the Department of Foreign Affairs after the Zappone fiasco. They are just taking the p**s now and this from the highest paid Civil Servant.
Indeed. An excuse of hysteria to remove themselves yet another step away from the plebs they pretend to represent
Mostly just verbal assaults from online folk like yourself thankfully.
They won't change policies in the face of numerous crises. Leaves us with two possibilities: They are incapable or on the make. I think it's a little of both.
We should take in as many refugees fleeing war and oppression as we can. I hope we don't end up with veritable slums for these people or direct provision type set ups.
It says a lot more about the type of bs the politiicans here come up with.
Says it all about the type of people who target politicians here, doesn't it?
Politicians heading over to Ukraine while needing security and garda escorts to go to work.... 😂😂😂😂
tis possible of course, but im not so sure, there is intelligence in our major institutions, and a hell of a lot of it, but never underestimate the dangers of group think, and the avoidance of reality, tis scary stuff really!
tis fairly obvious to be fair!
our current issues have little or nothing to do about immigration, even though it is adding to it, we re clearly experiencing ideological collapse, and we dont know what to do about it!
What gives you that impression?
They are currently in the process of bringing in an extra 200,000+ people, so they must have a plan. 🙄
The piper has to be paid.
Akin to playing Darts with a blind fold, so to speak 😏
I'd say they know it is not working but they are in so deep now that they are just going to plow on and just tinkle about at the edges in the hope of stumbling upon something that works.