FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,568 ✭✭✭✭road_high

She is absolutely useless- has practically zero grasp of her brief. If others can outline a counter to that, her achievements and her vision I am all ears. Apart from launch into your own personal diatribe against me- I don’t see any of the above. Also the infantile lecture on taxation- taking what you want from a post and running with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

If those figures play out as an election result, then good luck to anyone who can form a half stable government from that mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,768 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

yup, government formation is gonna be tricky for the foreseeable!

You’d imagine SF plus FF or SF plus all the other hurlers on the ditch like SDs etc. FG badly need to go into opposition, dump all this woke rubbish that gets them no votes and move back firmly to the centre right

fg would be perfectly setup, if the hurlers fail, which is very likely, for the far right then, happy days!

Before that poll came out yesterday that I posted that a SF FF coalition was probably going to be the most likely outcome. SF talking to all the parties of the left after the 2020 results to me were nothing much more than SF putting the pressure on FG and FF to form a coalition a they are too savvy to believe a half way stable government could hold together for more than a wet week with a collection of left individuals or parties. FG under a new leader might consider going into coalition. FF after a term with their 100 year old enemy of government would probably now be more open to the idea, but if the numbers do stack up that minus FG & FF there are enough TD`s to form a government, 2020 could backfire on SF with both FF & FG playing the same card as SF in 2020 and saying "away ye go, there are enough seats their now to do what could not be done in 2020"

SF will be bigger next time- maybe 50 seats or so? If and when FF and FG shrink even more then the obvious pressure will be on to form and indeed lead a government. Not sure FF will be too keen on going in despite the numbers possibly stacking up that way. Greens wil be gone so I’m guessing their support may go woke left and on some cases could drift back to FG too.

oh id say ff will easily grease up for sf

woke! hahahaha ffs!

No I wouldn’t think so. Anyone in FF I speak to is weary of this government and also the disasterous C&S before it. The appetite for more is very low.There’s plenty in SF praying their mandate won’t be “too” big next as the single hefty responsibility for governance looks less appealing by the day. I hope they do as we will then see what SF are really made of.

On those poll figures it looks a possibility, but I would still have doubts. FF supporters were not happy about the C&S 2016 agreement, and along with Martin`s desire not to be the first FF leader not to be elected Taoiseach, feel they were pushed into a coalition with FG by SF in 2020. I get the feeling that they are feeling pushed around and the latest with this turf war is not improving their mood.

Their are some in FF who would have no problem with entering a coalition with SF, O`Cuiv notably, but even if he does run next time that would likely be his last so if it was going to cause dissidence in FF how strongly he would campaign for that is doubtful. Another problem would be that I imagine many of their supporters, and parliamentary party, fell that by coalescing with FG they have lost a lot of their identity so doing the same with SF would not help with that.

If those figures carried through and FG decide to sit the next one out, if FF do decide to explore the possibility then they would be more likely to play hardball and walk away, than being easily greased up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Wow, let's get this straight, FF had just 2% less share of vote than SF in 2020 election

Now SF are double that of FF, and FF now get to be FG's mudguard for the next two years with no leader coming to the fore

On their way to 10% and out of Dublin, good riddance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Fully expect a SF/FF coalition after the next election.

For the reasons I mentioned in my last post, I would not be so sure of that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭jmcc

It is a RedC poll. It methodology differs from othe polls that use random samples of the electorate. What RedC does is to take a sample from a panel of about 40K voters which it thinks represents the electorate. It has traditionally underestimated FF's % because older FF voters tend to prefer to respond better to a face to face poll. That means that B&A and Ipsos (Irish Times) tend to be closer to FF's support. Those %s look very bad for FFG. Wouldn't suprise me if there was a Fraggles (FF/FG/Greens/Labour) attempt to form a government on those % if they held for the next GE. After all, it would be difficult to find a bigger bunch of muppets. Another interesting thing is that the SocDems seem to be quite steady and may be eating into Labour's vote.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

Yep, that’s what unlimited open borders and migration brings.

It’s the most logical on the figures and ideology but I think the appetite within FF is very low for such a scenario

very little to do about that, its clearly obvious we ve completely stuffed up our political and economic policies, following deeply flawed ideologies for decades, of which are now starting to collapse.....

Clearly when you allow a population increase pretty much unchecked you’re going to struggle with housing, health, education all the services that migrants will demand as they rarely have private means to support themselves. Else they would not be coming here.

Woke lefty free love and open borders has indeed brought us to point you’re spot on there. Unfortunately there’s too many open hands depending on the state for everything so the whole sham becomes a self fulfilling prophecy. More of the same isn’t sustainable so hopefully we’ll see a move away from this kind of hard socialism in the coming years. With inflation now at records levels the days of “sure let’s print more money” are coming to an end.

.....its clearly obvious, if you allow so called free market policies and its institutions largely unchecked, it leads to a big pile of sh1te! free movement of capital has done far greater damage than any other free movements, and this is clearly obvious, 08 crash etc!

'hard socialism', what in gods name are you talking about!

once again, current inflationary issues have little or nothing to do about the expansion of the money supply, since we ve been experiencing a rapid expansion for decades now, from both the public and private domains, which in turn has lead to little or no inflation in the real economy, but massive inflation in asset markets, such as property etc current inflation is largely due to supply and energy market disruptions, we d call these 'facts', as opposed to 'alternative facts'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Hard to get my head around most of the spending from last year in that article, but this one..

€289,000 was paid out in electronic subscriptions to a variety of publications, including the Irish Times, The Economist, and news service Thomson Reuters.

How the FCK can they tot up almost €300k for electronic subscriptions! 🤯

Irish Times is €708 per year for their complete package. The Economist is €325 per year. Thomson Reuters can cost up to around €3600 per year (multiply by 4 to cover all options).

Even if we added another 6 other subs from Thompson Reuters, 50 extra subs from Irish Times and The Economist and a hundred other publication subscriptions you would struggle to reach €100k for the year. That is nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Some outlandish expenditure alright , at a guess every Irish embassy in the world must have individual subscriptions, utterly absurd , the expenditure on vehicles is extraordinary but I see the Irish Centre for Diversity also got some funds , can't help but reminded of Katherine Zappone 😁

Given the world was in the middle of a global pandemic and feck all happening, little or no travel , entertainment etc it's even more extraordinary.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

That’s the only thing governments and their quangos are good at- wasting others peoples money like it’s water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

Then **** on about money trees when the public need funds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Stephen Donnelly always perplexed me, it always baffled me how he got the health job, actually how he got any ministerial job. Whilst I'm no fan of Paul Reid either, a new book is about to shed some light on Relations between Senior Health officials and Donnelly and if this article is anything to go by, it confirms much of what I certainly thought of Donnelly.

Pretty damming stuff..

Roll on a week of typically Dismissive Media interviews from Donnelly

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

An interesting interview with a guy from Threshold this morning. Basically saying that tourists are staying in houses while people who should be in those houses are in hotels. I wonder if the new proposals re planning permission and requirement to register with Failte Ireland will make any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

He was always a run with the hares,bark with the hounds type if you look back at him.

Hailed by those who bitterly oppose him now in his early political career.

A typical politician really.

our whole approach to property is completely collapsing, and nobody knows what to do about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I believe they do know what to do about it but to do what they need to do would mean going against vested interests.

yea this is a very true comment, we re trying to please everyone, but most particularly those vested interests, and its never going to work, this is gonna get very very scary!