Had a fr heifer calf born this morning in cubicle shed. Cow due 15th January. I served a few in early April as I was penalised for not supplying enough milk last January. A sexed mo salah calf. All good. Best of luck for calving 2022
I think she repeated and someone served her. Especially considering how over she went.
yes
Busy few days here we had another 3 and that’s 2 to go. Lots of heifers in these later ones
Had one lad who was 300kg when sold on 7th July that was with her a couple days. Wouldn't have thought he could bull her but dates would make I think he did.
Her mother had a similar colour calf off a Ch few years back.but that mother is a similar colour herself
Just delighted that it has all worked out.
A horse of a calf from heifer. Tweeddale Lennox bull calf from bluexcharxdairy heifer, 286 days gestation. Had to assist with the jack.
That’s all that matters really. Just as well you didn’t give her a shot of estrumate when you were thinking about it,
Its really only a last resort if the cow is in bother imo.
Is this easy, was often tempted to try myself?
Tempted to test to see if was Ai, not sure how much it cow at these days. Not much use if its not the ai bull I'd be none the wiser
Ya better to leave them to themselves.
Have an other late calved bull with them this year but have separated him this week so I know what's what with them. He's a nice bull off fiston after again should be too young light to action. Tempted to keep him too.
Finding it difficult to get good bulls from local lads, should just book in the straws this week.started bulling this week too.
Ok sometimes I don’t hate twins… 1 left now
Soy milk :)
No such thing as soy/a milk - https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/dairy/why-soya-milk-could-be-no-longer-a-thing-eu-court-makes-unprecedented-ruling-on-plant-based-products-35825488.html
Fookin vegans
thats from 2017 😂 we already won
You wish.
We did :)
This girl is from a Ch /Lm heifer.. it was ment to be LM2388... there was no bull near her so I am thinking the Ai man put the wrong straw in her... looks a bit like a BB as it had to come out the side door....
A few years ago i left a heifer in for the local Ai man, told him to put the Saler Highfield Odran on her. When i came home i saw the straw on the ground, he put DEP the BB on her. Had to inject her after two weeks, was lucky i checked.
Would you have grounds for getting the cost of the section off the Ai company?
Looks more like a Simmental head to me.
Sometimes the ai man drops the straw from the last farm he was on here. Yesterday there was a limousin straw outside the crush
I always check the straw here.
@patsy-mccabe I will be checking all straws from now on.
@baseprice you could be right in a way I hope you are, as if it is a sim I wouldn't mind keeping her for a cow, as the breeding on the cows side is good. I will know when I get her genomic tested next year all going well pg.
One of the 2 I use has started taking the straws with him since I pulled him in a big limo he put ina good bb heifer
Knottstown Roy hfr 5 days old from a bb 1st time calver
Got this boy out yesterday. Saw that cow hasn't made any progress for at least good two hours, so went in to check and found one of the front legs bent under the calf. Fixed that and decided to help the cow. Had a thought that it should be a big calf. Well, had abit of work with the jack, but got an alive calf and cow.
64kg, 290 days gestation. Surprisingly an alert calf, nursing well. He gets tired pretty quickly yet, but walks quite often.
Smashing looking calf.
Nice calf! Worth the work. Surprised he's standing carrying that amount of muscle. Whats the breeding?
Had a cow calve yesterday, assumed she was in calf to the whitehead stock bull. It was an Angus ai calf , 293 days, monster, aa4640. Calf was dead when I jacked him out. Biggest calf I'd seen in a long time
He is even nursing himself!
Piedmontese sired. Cow is 25% angus, 25% blue, 18,25% charolais and the rest is dairy. The biggest calf for the cow. However, two her half sisters, from the same dam, had bigger calves- 66 and 73kg.
Anyone know what type of scour this is ?
Calf only 2 days old, born inside and let out yesterday evening and in good form.
What would be the best thing to give him for it ?
I wouldn't worry about it, it's just things getting to normal after birth. Once the calf isn't sick