Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
I don't get what you mean by 'that round of the qualifiers'. My understanding is they are waiting till all provincial SFs are finished till they play round 1 of the qualifiers. By rights there should be exactly 8 eliminated div1/2 teams at that stage and the winners play the provincial final losers in round 2. As I say, AFAIK the only complicating factor is if a lower league team reaches a provincial final, which would mean 9 teams to fill 8 places in qualifier round 1.
Thats fair enough, I thought we wouldn't be going in at the same round as the beaten semi-finalists but we will
Galway were 2 points down when he blew up.
Half time is completely different. It's not relevant to the injury time that is being played at the end of the game. Had the ball even left the Mayo half when he blew it up? I don't think so. I don't think I mentioned about being in possession. I was referring to a situation where a team is pressing hard to get one point to level the match and is pressing towards the oppostion's goal.
Have you even seen a scenario where a team is one point down, coming up to say, 5 minutes of injury time, and the ref blows it up at the 5 minute mark, when you have the team losing by the one point pressing close to the oppositions goal. Extremely rare I would think. I've never seen it. At any level.
Happened in Derry v Donegal last year. Derry held on to the ball too long and ref blew it. It does happen. He wont blow it if a team is close to the opposition goal but he will if you recycle the ball out towards the 45 again.
Ya thats correct, everyone is in the same draw regardless of whether they went out in QF or SF, there is provision in the calendar for a prelim round if necessary
Yeah and it's happened a number of times in the leagues this year. There's clearly been a step change by ref's from above. Before this year it was always wait until the ball goes dead. Now, I think they'll blow if a team recycles repeatedly past time. I'd say Orme couldve recycled a couple of times more in that scenario as the clock had just struck 40, but he wasn't to know that either so I think it was the right decision. McHale park needs to add a clock to the scoreboard for fans also
Agree on the clock, its always annoyed me that they don't have a clock!
Was there not a clock on the tower scoreboard in the past? Maybe im imagining it?
Not sure. I know Andy Moran mentioned the clock in Croke park as being an advantage for Dublin when they had possession toward the end of the first half, they would always hold possession and try to get the last score before half time.
To be honest Croke Park is the only place I've ever noticed there being a clock but there's bound to be others.
There for the Dublin game in '16.
I reckon Mayo would have won at least 1 all-ireland in the past 5 or 6 years if they had the tidy forwards that Roscommon have.
Definitely a clock on Pearse Stadiums scoreboard. Pretty sure the screen in Navan displays a clock too.
I think we would have won all of them if we had a clock
🤣🤣
I was in the albany end on Sunday, no clock meant I hadn't a clue about the 12th minute clapping with were meant to do in honour of Kate Moran.
Did it happen in the stand?
Don't think so. Those things mid-match aren't a good idea imo. People are engrossed in the match and can't keep checking their watch etc
And even if they did, and a goal was scored 20 secs into the applause or something, people aren't going to just continue clapping politely and ignore the goal.
Have a minute's silence/applause before the match so it can be fully observed.
Wasn't it the 7th minute? Didn't happen in the stand in my section anyway.
I'd follow things fairly closely coming up to matches and never even heard of this,I was in the stand and it didn't happen.
Same as that, never heard of it! Didn't happen in the stand at all or the terrace from what i could see!
That was probably the one for Ronaldo at away games by Liverpool and Arsenal fans to pay respects on the passing of his young son.
Not sure who had suggested the 12th minute one in honour of Kate Moran, a fantastic idea I'd love to have supported, but I hadn't heard a word about it. I'd follow most local sports and GAA folks on social platforms and hadn't spotted a mention of it so imagine lots of others fell into the same boat.
Like that I was glued to the match but it was certainly a thing before the game, I'm surprised ye missed it.
Couldn't hear a feckin word out the tannoy either, hadn't a clue how much time was added on!
why is this not being discussed? is it true? i personally believe that its time for him to move on. In all fairness to him, he got an all ireland title with Mayo, albeit league. not a terrible haul, but i think the time has come for him to step aside.
Considering the source, I don't think there is anything to discuss
I'd say most people agree with you that it's time for Horan to step away at the end of this campaign.
Once again he has rebuilt Mayo football.
Not from the pile of rubble it was in 2010 but still after that game in 2018 in Newbridge few would have thought that Mayo would soon be back as a force with a very much changed team.
He's given two four season stints to it, he as much as anyone needs a break.
And he's still only 50 odd so there is loads of time for a third run at it.
you might be right, but hes better informed than I all the same
Wonder if that's the same source that confirmed MacHale park wouldn't be ready for the Galway game?
I actually agree with quite a lot of the publicly stated goals Tim has. The failure to act upon so much of the Strategic Action Plan created over a decade ago is fairly alarming and the desire for greater transparency and accountability on the finances is something I'd imagine we'd all take a lot of confidence from... but the method and choices in trying to achieve those goals leave a whole lot to be desired.
If half of the claims around demands for personal financial gain for deals to be done is true it would be pretty terrifying. When those claims come along with false accusations, bitter comments and petty insults it becomes harder and harder to take them too seriously.
In theory I should be on his side. In reality I'm not actually sure we're playing the same sport.
No he's not.
He just puts out lies on twitter when he's sauced up at the weekend.Often deletes again the next morning.
We dodged a bullet with that eejit.
Doesn't matter if we win Sam or are out after the next game Horan will leave this year,only when he's gone and we're scratching around trying to win Connacht titles will people see the amazing job he's done.I tell friends outside the county that a small element of Mayo fans want Horan out and they think I'm joking.
He's a smart man and I think he's knows the naturel life cycle of a manager is 3/4 years.
Of the four years between his two stints we only one connacht once, but one semi final which we lost to Dublin after a replay and only by a point and the two following years we came closer to winning than we ever did. 16 and 17 finals were the best performances i have ever seen from a Mayo team! Do you really think once he goes that this squad is not going to be contenders? Full credit to Horan of course he has built this squad out of nowhere but I don't think he will win us an all ireland
Dublin won that semi final replay by 7 points.
I don't think we'll be completely uncompetitive but there's no guarantee we'll stay in the top 2 or 3 teams in the country.I think we kinda take Horan for granted,a lot of people outside of Mayo think he's the best manager in the country.
I suppose of lot if it is there's no obvious successor.Managing an inter County team is more than just managing a team and no more so than in Mayo.You have to be able to handle media and other pressures and hold the whole thing together, that comes with experience.
I wouldn't mind seeing Rochie come and have another go with our new squad.
I wouldn't be writing Horan and Mayo off this year at all,we're 3rd favourites to win Sam.
Anyway,all this is academic as he'll go himself no matter what happens this year.