I see Mary Lou is joining the compo culture brigade with a defamation lawsuit against RTE.
I recall a discussion actually
The one that was mooted upthread
It was an interview with multiple participants
It wasn't easy on Republicans
It was on the exclusion of government women from the women's march
I'd be thinking it's the interview causing the upset as it was referenced on RTE news as the 'offending' piece also
Why the aggression?
You recall AN interview, there has been no confirmation regarding what defamed MLMD, when it happened, or what show it happened on, TV or radio.
they must not believe in the system. Anyone can sue anyone - its up to the courts to make the decision on if it's actually suable.
are people giving out about something but yet dont know what it is?
MLMCD has rights, the same as every other individual. If she decides to sue RTE, then thats her issue. We all have the right to sue - its not illegal. As I say though - theres a quare lot of with itchy underwear it seems about the issue - and they dont even know why she is suing. Does that mean they disagree with her right to be able to sue, considering we cant argue the reason itself?
I do recall the interview but I've no idea what the suit is about
It was an uncomfortable interview for Republicans
Hopefully it goes to court
anyone not giving out about SF is now a SF shill, Did your mammy not teach you its not nice to try call names? You obviously prefer a threadful of people agreeing with you - yes?
6? a lot more than that....
Anyway as far as Sinn fein supporters are concerned it's not a big deal, what has the freedom of the press or free speech ever done for anyone?
We are a lot better just been told to shut up and not make any negative comments about Sinn fein, if we do then expect to be sued or Mary Lou has said herself on the radio she has no problem when members of Sinn Fein show up at someone's door. In the case of the person showing up at the lad in questions door it was to demand her to take negative tweets down.
Read the diatribe again. Useless post with zero point given that that general public have no idea what the case is in relation to. Still didn't stop you coming out with this nonsense.
"Lots of posts, lots of deflection
Still none of the regulars able to say Mary Lou is right"
How can anyone say who is right or wrong without knowing a single detail of what the case is related to?? A fact that seems to be sailing well above and over your head.
Ya the same ones that aren’t really SF supporters but on every thread discrediting anyone in govt and first on to defend anyone or anything SF . Reminds me of another guy who was banned with about 6 different accounts not long ago and guess what he wasn’t a SF supporter either but had multiple accounts defending them . I wonder did they find all his accounts?? Hmmm
The usual cohort have reached a verdict Fandymo, do you not see?
Verdicts can be reached on foot of allegation and supposition when it comes to the Shinners. Once upon a time, the same thinking led people to justify internment without trial and shoot to kill policies or collusion with sectarian killers by the state.
Nobody here knows the details of the grievance nor what McDonald is seeking...but they've decided anyway.
Tell you what, read my post again. Then come back to me with something useful. Not really in the mood for another little keyboard warrior who is just out to attack a poster
Can you confirm what the case is in relation to?
I haven't seen confirmation of what the case is related to, therefore I wouldn't be stupid enough to say if she was right or wrong.
I see the sinn fein shills have come to the thread.
Later than normal.
You've not read the thread? I thought you had up until the last line. So far sf are trying to silence the media, behave like putin, scare the media etc. , all because MLMD has the bare faced cheek to challenge RTE. A drunk with booze in each hand on a swing got defended by the same lot. But as you say, some are more equal than others.
Not sure I understand. Is the legal system only for use by people you approve of? Sounds undemocratic. Very concerning the way the national broadcaster is reporting inaccuracies and defaming individuals in opposition. A worrying trend. Might need to get a state affiliated broadcaster warning on social media if they keep this up.
All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.
...Pig Napoleon
This is what you will get from sinn fein. One rule for them. The rest of you can pay.
Firstly,
Strange how every other party in Ireland doesn't seem to have an issue with RTE except Sinn Fein.
Secondly I've not supported MLMD's claim. I said she'd a right to make a claim. People like yourself, who would support Maria Bailey, are begrudging MLMD her legal rights because of obsession and hate, to use some of your own terms.
The claim was nobody else was suing RTE. Only Mary-Lou is doing that.
She must be right up there with Maria Bailey in your estimation.
What Mary-Lou is doing is far worse than Maria Bailey. Mary-Lou is trying to silence free speech.
If you have turned on RTE anytime in the last two year you will have good odds of Mary Lou moaning about something, the coverage she and SF get is ridiculous when you consider they never add anything to the conversation apart from “guberment bad”
They would be better off just sticking on Paul Murphy for some entertainment
If she loses she can say 'lessons learned' and we can all move on sure.
Just turned on RTE news a minute ago. What to I see but MLMD ranting on as usual. Talk about biting the hand that feeds. A pity they can't give her the silent treatment for a little while: just say she is too dangerous to mention as she might sue.
I know I'm being a bit flippant, but the ridiculous indignation of the Shinners and their sneaking regarders is just too much.
Sorry I was too busy "foaming at the mouth" to see the question.
Who is "the regulars"? I think you can work that out yourself
I would suggest we know Maria Bailey was pulling a fast one for money while it looks like a defamarton/libel issue with MLMD, which nobody knows the finer details. So the two aren't comparable in the slightest, except they both had a right to try. Or try it on in MB's case.
Now what magical mystery tour are we on now? I was highly critical of MB once I knew the details. Are you trying to say all cases are identical? You seem desperate for some kind of a win.
Who, 'the regulars'? Was commenting on the over excited comments. Its a discussion forum.
It does both. When I googled TD sues RTE I found the case of the Cork fella. It said he settled his action for a believed 150k. Handy money from the magic State money tree if ya can get it
So I'll take it you wouldn't dare allow criticism of Maria Bailey for filing a case against the pub that time? We can probably only guess her motivations for same but it is general knowledge that personal injury claims can result in large payouts. Given that I'm sure we can find evidence that some other TD from some random party criticised a pub or event once at some point in history then no doubt you'll be consistent and say that she was right to submit the claim. Because suing is fine once someone else has criticised something similar in the past? Right?
(MB eventually withdrew but that is not relevant to the salient point)
Ya wouldn't be two-faced or hypocritical by any chance now, would ya?
“Foaming at the mouth outrage”?
Cop on to yourself, it’s a discussion forum, looks like a few people want to shut down the conversation
What regulars? Thread is a few days old.
I see yourself has no problem attacking despite nobody knowing if she's right.
The complete foaming at the mouth outrage anytime a shinner scratches him or herself is a little amusing, if not genuine.
We'll see how it pans out. As I said, if RTE is right, fair play.
Only you would know. Surely you know if you are?
She should make friends with Beverley Cooper Flynn who has had bad experience of taking on RTE.