I see Mary Lou is joining the compo culture brigade with a defamation lawsuit against RTE.
So your method of excusing any behavior from SF is to find a single instance of any other person in the history of mankind who had done something remotely similar.
The point is that Reynolds was called a liar. Nobody has called MLMD a liar that I know of. So it ain't the same me boyo. You don't even know why she is taking this action. All we know is that it has been reported that an action has been initiated and common sense will tell you that whatever topic it is claimed to be on, won't be able to be talked about on radio.
It would be quite a good method for shutting up bad publicty, would you not agree? Say for example, political party X had a record of abusing a certain category of people and they didn't want this to be aired? As soon as there was a sniff of it, they could roll out the big guns and make it impossible for a news broadcaster to report on the story. Hoefully tie them up in the courts for a few years until it is forgotten about and maybe even some of the victims have died, after being denied justice.
Cue: 'I feel it in me waters' type evidence. ROFL
Stop the dramatics. You are arguing with yourself. Comment on what I posted not what you believe I meant to post.
Once again, the claim was made no other parties have a problem with RTE. I gave examples. Then we were discussing if others sue in general. Examples were given.
MLMD is suing RTE. Get over it.
Get over it yourself. You showed zero examples of other parties suing the National Broadcaster. ZERO
If you google for TD sues RTE, all you get are links about SF TDs chasing the dollars.
The best you can do is find random isolated cases of non-SF TDs complaining about RTE
This is the third time McDonald has taken High Court defamation proceedings since 2014 and the second relating to reports about the historic handling of sexual abuse cases
Has there been any confirmation that this is in relation to the programmed that has been mentioned in here??
yeah pointing out the hypocrisy and IRA shenanigans is a rant now. typical Shinner deflection
Its not chasing the dollars - its silencing the press.
Sue RTE and it s puts the rest of the press on notice.
That's what sinn fein do here in Northern Ireland yet they have no problem whatsoever defaming people themselves - however its under dail privilege, and therefore no action can be taken.
sin fein are trained in media manipulation to the nth degree. just listen when they are interviewed. the go off on a tangent that usually has nothing to do with the actual point and they make sure they get 60% + of the air time
and notice how they will never ever directly answer a question
In a way it is superb, but I live in NI and they are a shower of crooks
You keep misrepresting and shovelling the same shite.
The claim was no other party had problems with RTE. I gave examples.
Are you understanding this?
surely as a "party" member you are in a better position to explain that along with you trailers from the their threads :-)
great to see one of ye admitting it for a change ,
nearly evolution ..... nearly
It is when the lad is using unrelated rants to prove people aren't out to get SF :)
Deflection my hole. Also, not a member of SF.
The desperate fevered levels government shills will go to to deflect is the real issue.
I've notice that, I was gonna brand it a "Sinn Fein answer". I thought I was really clever.
Then I realised that this has been happening worldwide since the Greeks invented democracy and is already termed "a political answer". Even has an Urban Dictionary listing.
Obsessive conspiracy theory. 'Sin' fein. Good one. Very clever.
Are you saying Im a government shill Bruice?
Lots of posts, lots of deflection
Still none of the regulars able to say Mary Lou is right
This is clearly just another tactic to silence opinion which is not favourable to SF. We have seen it online with the dummy accounts and the pile on against users who are not signing off teh SF hymn sheet
We seen it with the young lady posting negative comments on Twitter and a few heavies sent around to her house to demand her remove the comments from twitter
We seen it with Violet Anne, an actual TD who made the mistake of getting pregnant, the “effin eijit”, who was warned “we haven’t gone away”
The instances of bullying for years in teh party
The links with the Kinahan’s and failure to vote on special criminal court
Now it’s the turn to shut the media up
Very disturbing carry on
She should make friends with Beverley Cooper Flynn who has had bad experience of taking on RTE.
Only you would know. Surely you know if you are?
What regulars? Thread is a few days old.
I see yourself has no problem attacking despite nobody knowing if she's right.
The complete foaming at the mouth outrage anytime a shinner scratches him or herself is a little amusing, if not genuine.
We'll see how it pans out. As I said, if RTE is right, fair play.
“Foaming at the mouth outrage”?
Cop on to yourself, it’s a discussion forum, looks like a few people want to shut down the conversation
So I'll take it you wouldn't dare allow criticism of Maria Bailey for filing a case against the pub that time? We can probably only guess her motivations for same but it is general knowledge that personal injury claims can result in large payouts. Given that I'm sure we can find evidence that some other TD from some random party criticised a pub or event once at some point in history then no doubt you'll be consistent and say that she was right to submit the claim. Because suing is fine once someone else has criticised something similar in the past? Right?
(MB eventually withdrew but that is not relevant to the salient point)
Ya wouldn't be two-faced or hypocritical by any chance now, would ya?
It does both. When I googled TD sues RTE I found the case of the Cork fella. It said he settled his action for a believed 150k. Handy money from the magic State money tree if ya can get it
Who, 'the regulars'? Was commenting on the over excited comments. Its a discussion forum.
I would suggest we know Maria Bailey was pulling a fast one for money while it looks like a defamarton/libel issue with MLMD, which nobody knows the finer details. So the two aren't comparable in the slightest, except they both had a right to try. Or try it on in MB's case.
Now what magical mystery tour are we on now? I was highly critical of MB once I knew the details. Are you trying to say all cases are identical? You seem desperate for some kind of a win.
Sorry I was too busy "foaming at the mouth" to see the question.
Who is "the regulars"? I think you can work that out yourself
Just turned on RTE news a minute ago. What to I see but MLMD ranting on as usual. Talk about biting the hand that feeds. A pity they can't give her the silent treatment for a little while: just say she is too dangerous to mention as she might sue.
I know I'm being a bit flippant, but the ridiculous indignation of the Shinners and their sneaking regarders is just too much.
If she loses she can say 'lessons learned' and we can all move on sure.
If you have turned on RTE anytime in the last two year you will have good odds of Mary Lou moaning about something, the coverage she and SF get is ridiculous when you consider they never add anything to the conversation apart from “guberment bad”
They would be better off just sticking on Paul Murphy for some entertainment
The claim was nobody else was suing RTE. Only Mary-Lou is doing that.
She must be right up there with Maria Bailey in your estimation.
What Mary-Lou is doing is far worse than Maria Bailey. Mary-Lou is trying to silence free speech.
Firstly,
Strange how every other party in Ireland doesn't seem to have an issue with RTE except Sinn Fein.
Secondly I've not supported MLMD's claim. I said she'd a right to make a claim. People like yourself, who would support Maria Bailey, are begrudging MLMD her legal rights because of obsession and hate, to use some of your own terms.
All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.
...Pig Napoleon
This is what you will get from sinn fein. One rule for them. The rest of you can pay.
Not sure I understand. Is the legal system only for use by people you approve of? Sounds undemocratic. Very concerning the way the national broadcaster is reporting inaccuracies and defaming individuals in opposition. A worrying trend. Might need to get a state affiliated broadcaster warning on social media if they keep this up.