I see Mary Lou is joining the compo culture brigade with a defamation lawsuit against RTE.
Fair play to her. Rte are extremely biased. And she must have confidence she's in the right too, she's willing to defend her character in court. A stark contrast to Varadkar who threatened legal action and never followed through.
i find these threads hilariously entertaining. The shinners are doing something right considering all the whinging against them
ist his all happening in your head or is it a movie or something? certainly isnt based in reality from what ive been reading. where do you find this online mob so you can check if they are outraged?
If you haven't signed up already I am sure they are accepting new members
https://www.sinnfein.ie/sfos
Where can I sign up to become a fee paying member of RTE? Oh wait, I am one already, dictated to me by a draconian law, whether I want to be one or not.
Mary Lou, Maria Bailey, Clare Daly, Mick Wallace, Alan Farrell will you all **** off with your **** ridiculous claims. In the public eye, where do you think society leaches get their ideas from.
**** pricks.
**** pricks aswell that come into the thread with their party agenda. You're fooling no one. It's as obvious as daylight whether you support FF, FG or SF.
Same old clowns, could name them.
All on the back of deleting their pro Putin and Russian files and speeches.
Wonder what they will do to RTE etc when they take the reigns soon?
It always amuses....one min,their violent thugs patroling streets with guns,who ignore the law (one particualar brain-doner posted a dissident easter commeration as "proof")
While also simutaneously believe,without fear of contradiction,that shinners are sueing all into obliblion and hiding behind the law to silence anyone speaking "bad" of em (seriously do they think noone has read a newspaper here in last half century😂)
RTE criticise the government every day whether it’s prime time, Claire Byrne etc
The victim complex from SF is bizarre.
They literally don’t have to do anything or say anything to gather votes.
The media and the government do that job for them.
What’s wrong with supporting a political party?
Who do you vote for?
Didnt rte literally recently have a programme,dedicated to people giving their reason for not voting sinn fein?
I mean,such a programme would be bizzare by saudi arabia standreds,its even worse to try ascribe coverage of em as same as other parties
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/rte-viewers-fume-one-phrase-26231488.amp
If they get in I hope they cut it down to one channel showing Irish only content and news. Keep TG4 and one or two radio stations. Cut salaries at the top. Let Duffy or Tubirdy go if they get uppity. Be brilliant.
'Victim complex'? I've been reading a lot of amateur dramatics about this. She's suing RTE. Not the first, not the last. We don't even know the details. But sure go on with yer bad self.
I like the ones were the SF online mob are both active and suspiciously quiet, simultaneously, depending on the story.
Saw that. Talk about loaded questions. I recall that traveller making a few fair points in which he mentioned he was no longer a member and pointed out why they may have gotten a rise in support. Clare's only follow up was, "but why did you leave?".
No, they didn't - they did a program on the rise of sinn fein, featuring people who are supporters and opposers to sinn fein. You/sf also conveniently ignore the many, many programmes rte make that show the government in a bad light - yet jump on anything that shows sf in a bad light as part of some overarching agenda,
This is the classic fake news/"the mainstream media is the enemy of the people" rhetoric. Throw enough **** at the media and you can dismiss any valid criticism down the line as another part of "the agenda"
Tell me again,when did rte hold a similar programme for any other individual party?
Actually,tell me,when something similar happened in any other country,it was by the low low standreds of rte utterly low brow stuff,which failed because it was obvious bollocks
What other country state owned media,would hold a leaders debate at election time,and its national broadcaster would have to be pressurised into including even a single opposition politian (no labour,green,pbp leader included either,how is that?)??
At no stage,have i accused rte of fake news/being enenmy of people,stick to reality,not what you wish it to be
Opinions you don't like aren't 'fake news'. It was a show about SF. We are discussing it on an RTE/SF thread. I've never seen such an attempt at a hatchet job on any other party. Thats my opinion.
Yes I've seen shows featuring the various frauds and corruptions within FF/FG. So what?
"The rise of sinn fein" is a fair topic considering the fairly impressive rise of sinn fein. It wasnt even close to a hatchet job - it was a fairly predictable mix of pro and anti sinn fein opinions.
But remember, if you keep repeating that "the mainstream media is out to get you", it gives you a great get out of jail card to dismiss any future criticism
This is all a bit strange.....seems to me that MLMCD is potentially opening a whole can of worms again. Would imagine topics that will be raised in court would be IRA kangaroo courts and IRA/Sinn Fein links. All you would have though would not be good PR for SF. Maybe I'm missing something..,,
How many? Guarantee that for every shimmer there is one from the power swap. You wrecked your own argument her lads with the usual sensationalist pile on.
What chance does this have of getting to court? RTE might be happy to pay a small settlement to quell the flames. They’ve done it before, and you’d think Mary Lou is looking for the win, not necessarily the big payout. (I could imagine any payout being donated to a charity/the party with big fanfare).
She must be sure she has a solid case. These libel cases can bring up a lot of old skeletons; sure look at Ian Baileys libel case - he went at the papers and lost big time.
3 SF TDs in the past 2 years...
But they cant do any wrong I guess.
You're the one spouting stuff and putting it on others. I gave my opinion of a TV show I saw.
Were they successful, had they a right? Do you begrudge people their rights if you don't like their politics?
Ultimately if RTE are in the right, fair play to them. If they are wrong, they cost the tax payer money.
More amateur dramatics.
So if you feel you've been libeled and sue, you're the same a putin?
Any chay bowes insults today?
Yes nobody piles on journos.....such cod waffle.
He'll never blame anyone but the SHinner.
Perhaps if the likes of Joe Duffy didn't tell blatant lies about people RTE wouldn't be challenged?
Just an idea. 😁
This is how sinn fein work now.
If you antagonise them, they will take legal action against you in order to silence you
Makes a change from sending heavies around to the house to challenge people on things they put on social media.
Maybe they are growing.
Anyway, yes, a potential future Taoiseach using the legal system to try and bully media into silence is concerning. This is what SF are doing now.
If RTE is so terrible why you spend so much time watching/listening to it?
Seems like we have ANOTHER Francie u-turn on a subject once SF say it’s bad then of course it’s bad.
MLMD is interviewed frequently on RTE, and is often addressed as "Mary Lou", usually by a female interviewer. It always sounds a bit too cosy and familiar to me. I hope that this will now stop.
Cue accusations of misogyny. Not guilty, your honour 😁
Where have I said RTE is 'so terrible' BA? Are you projecting again to have a rant.
I am frequently on the radio forum defending RTE presenters against irate government defenders. Go have a look.