I see Mary Lou is joining the compo culture brigade with a defamation lawsuit against RTE.
The 'SF online mob' have been very, very quiet the past 8-9 weeks for some reason, especially on Twitter. Almost like they lost their office space or their broadband was disconnected or something.
Also if there is a sad accident with lives lost - car accident, house on fire , a drowning , etc, etc, etc, it is mainly a SF rep that is ‘rolled out’
how about just still to the thread in hand? It is about MLMD taking action against RTE. No need to make comparisons to someone falling off a swing or leaking some paperwork. I didn't hear the RTE piece in question so it will be interesting to see if they defend it or mea culpa and settle before court.
I've very little time for SF or MLMD but I do support anyones rights to take legal action should they feel they have a case. No broadcaster should be allowed to air defamatory statements unchecked (nothing proven here).
with all the talk about freedom of speech with the twitter nonsense it is nice to see that in Ireland at least there may be consequences for defamatory comments.
Why don't you just use your scroll wheel and scroll past?
Similar phenomenon on Radio Nova, every day there is a new clip of some SF head ‘outraged’ about something or other.
Jesus, the Shinnerbots over on Twitter are active today. There’s a lot less of them since February, but individual accounts have really upped their output. Levels of whataboutery are off the charts.
Or give out that the government haven't reformed the defamation laws more quickly.
Message from party HQ:
”Cry havoc and let slip the dogs of war!”
That must be it, because there defo is one, sure they're all over the shinner thread....
Nobody interested in RTE possibly costing us all money? I hope she doesn't win too much if she's successful. Taxpayer money and all, but if she does, its on RTE. TBF it'd probably only be a weeks wage for Joe Duffy.
It was you who raised it as a source of embarrassment in Europe. I was just helping you understand whose fault that was.
Now Sinn Fein are sending in the lawyers to silence opposition.
In 10 years when they have had 2 terms in government god only knows what sort of Putin like tactics they will be using to silence and eliminate their opponents. We're in for a rough decade or more lads.
Yeh, they could run censorship campaigns and call them 'Sections; just like the old days. 😁
If it helps puts a stop to political programmes giving a platform for one party to attack another,without right of reply
Would seem a good thing as regards basic standards in media....yous wouldnt be allowed do it in a school level debate ffs
this whole sf surge/hype over last 2 years was started in earnest by rte effectively only wanting to have leaders debate involving ff and fg
(famously pat kenny on virgin media gave both martin & varadkar, a platform to attack shinners in same time frame with no right of reply,and a child could see that carryon is wrong)
Sf likes to use every excuse in the book to coerce the media so that in the future the media give them an easy time.
Good to see this from Mary Lou, its high time RTE are held accountable for the type of absolute tripe & bias they produce on a regular basis in favor of the two major parties. Truth of the matter, they're petrified of what Sinn Fein would do to their organisation if they got into power.
RTE have become an absolutely despicable organisation & the sooner its completely removed or re-structured the better.
How's that worked out for the most scrutinised party on the island? Go compare the amount of print and verbal coverage they get, mostly sensationalised and negative, to the rest.
Threats of litigation don't seem to be working do they, if there actually are that many threats.
Ahh yes shut down RTE because you don't like them. Strange how every other party in Ireland doesn't seem to have an issue with RTE except Sinn Fein.
It's not just RTE is it? check online and most newspapers are also accused of showing bias against SF.
RTE is opposition? Losing the run there. She'll only be successful if the authorities agree with her. Calm yourself.
Before you start, you brought in no other party having a problem with RTE.
Strange how every other party in Ireland doesn't seem to have an issue with RTE except Sinn Fein.
All examples of compo culture and how they'll have us living in putins Russia? :)
The debate in question is here: The opposition was represented by Brid Smith PBP. Hardly biased. The potentially defamatory stuff probably comes in the last 2 mins.
If that is the bit she is suing over I expect they will want to shut up Mairia Cahill very quickly after she picked out Mary Lou walking beside someone who was involved in her "investigation" by the PIRA.
Was it not an exchange that took place on a certain afternoon radio show, also discussing the Womens Council protest. That exchange got very heated 🤔
So the possible next leader of the country has a problem with our overlords in RTE .😁
But you constantly come out with “but what about” anytime anything negative about SF is brought up. You’re incapable of being objective when it comes to SF or IRA.
Quick quick point and look at this….deflection isn’t it?
Are they suing RTE or is that just articles in another media source.
Get up the yard
Who is it they are trying to fool?
Having listened back to that Morning Ireland clip , hard to see what's behind the action. I recall listening to the show at the time and did think the Presenter (Audrey Carville) being very pointed in her last question to Brid Smith (who was actually quite measured, I thought) , mouthy Regina Doherty can't of course help herself and added fuel to the fire by taking up the Presenters question.
I also recall at the time there was a furore over Regina's comnents about funding of the NWC.
I Can see this thread going a certain direction, so I'm out but worth noting, numerous TD's from numerous parties have sued for defamation not just SF TD'S a party I don't support incidently.
O and before I depart, all very quite regarding a second resignation from FG today 🤔
Nah, it's usually that other dose Louise O'Reilly you hear. I reckon she must have a caravan in the RTE car park. Way overexposed.
All is very quiet because its a councillor. But it's not just any old councillor, it's one who ran in the last general election.
Yet you're the one brought in other parties.
'Look, all the cool kids like RTE' :)
If you are going to tell porkies to try up the drama, you'll be pulled up on it.
If MLMD sues successfully I'm sure they'll all be apologising, justice having been served. They'll certainly be all over her if she loses.
It is understood the case relates to a comment made during a recent radio segment.