Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
Unbelievable.
Rural transport declined in line with usage. Fewer, if any passengers led to fewer if any busses. Private bus companies moved into the more profitable urban areas, running busses from housing estates to town centres, shopping centres, etc. The rural service in recent years, in our area called RingALink operate in differs areas on specific days, bringing rural dwellers to local towns or in our case, to Clonmel. It’s free for those with free travel.
They've clearly lost the plot altogether, those figures don't even include the near 10k classified as homeless and in emergency accommodation.
We have town link and whilst it caters to a certain extent for some it's essentially a part time service and requires passengers to take a tour of two counties to get to a particular destination. Whilst I accept profitability plays some part in planning routes, you need a degree in quntom physics to work out town links timetable and route maps.
Why don't the people in direct provision for many years get all these work, driving, housing, medical card and social welfare rights immediately? Is it double standards?
I raised this on another thread and got savaged albeit the same thread has done full circle now that people realise what is actually going on, basically a Train Wreck
Pippa Hackett on Saturday with Katie Hannon desperately trying to save her seat, that little matter of Turf came up 😁, she's really living in a parallel universe.
Governments ability to CPO properties in the context of the Refugee crisis also discussed and my god its alarming. Associated professor of Law from TCD seems to think its relatively easy for government to go down this route.
Do you think elderly and other people like sitting in A and E for the craic? They are obviously concerned for their health. Do you think they are left for hours because nurses are watching Corrie? Do you think they grab trolleys themselves? Somebody medical thinks they need a trolley.
The usual blame the public.
Having witnessed first hand, you’d wonder why some people go to A&E for relatively minimal complaints that could have been treated by a GP or pharmacist. Maybe we need a minor illness/injuries department alongside every A&E.
There is no point answering those questions. Everyone else to blame. She has witnessed all incidents first hand. 😉 The overstaffed dossing triage nurses are being stupid. The other fella will be along soon to discredit the entire INMO.
This is a discussion forum. Questioning the reasons for failures is great. Offering possible reasons for those failures other than blaming the government is also great. Trying to shut down debate/discussion isn’t.
The government have had 20 years.
Did you hear Willie ODea at the end of the radio segment? He said he has been raising the UHL problems in the Dail and within FF for 2 decades. The reporter cheekily asked him why he had not resigned from FF for their inaction.
Once again it’s the government’s fault! Nothing to do with people turning up with minor ailments that could be treated more speedily by their GP or local pharmacist. Try looking for solutions rather than blaming the government. Throwing more millions at the problem won’t change peoples mindsets.
Why is your go to to question the validity of the sick?
Nobody will sit for hours if they think they're grand.
It is. Can you point to any government that has made health better in your lifetime? They won't put slaintecare into action. If its not the government, they are pointless having around at all. Both leaders have been minister of health ffs.
It is actually. They are not providing the services people need in the communities at the times people need. Simple as that. Even the companies providing services in the communities like Roc Doc and Vhi they can only do so much and then they send you to A&E. A&E is the dumping ground for everything and include people suffering mental health issues. So yes it is the government, they set the agenda for health and the HSE and DOH deliver it and all 3 have failed, utterly failed. They are more interested in feathering their own nests and protecting their little fiefdoms they couldn't get a rats arse about providing the service.
But if it makes you feel better to blame the people for using the only service available and weekends and evening you go ahead and do that. Got to protect the corrupt and the cronys, isn't that priority?
“But if it makes you feel better to blame the people for using the only service available and weekends and evening you go ahead and do that. Got to protect the corrupt and the cronys, isn't that priority?” What about Caredoc and other out of hours doctors? Pharmacies offer great medical advice for free. A&E are not the only option.
Breaking News as they say
Interesting the file sent to DPP with NO recommendations apparently 🤔
As I said in my post if you cared to read it places like Roc doc and care doc can only do so much and then they send you to A&E. You know this as does everyone else sure even GP's send patients to A&E.
I think all the people who are still living will point to the improvements in health care. I know it's the normal hyperbole fired out here but bit of cop on is again requested. People are living longer as shown below with link and above the European average. This is because of the health care they are getting
Yes it is not a perfect system and yes the HSE has many issues but the above statement is rubbish.
Now I am sure you will twist the post as usual but the facts don't lie
Life expectancy in Ireland is now above the EU-28 average having increased by 2 years for women and 2.5 years for men since 2008: with women living to 84.1 years and men to 80.5 years in 2018. The EU-28 average life expectancy was 83.6 for women and 78.3 years form men in 2018: increasing by 1.3 and 2 years for women and men respectively since 2008.
Indeed. That’s the correct way to use A&E. For accidents and emergencies. Not minor illnesses. Caredoc, GPs or pharmacies can and should deal with these.
I saw somebody referring to the Ukrainian Refugees yesterday and their alternative being death. 🙄 (It really isn't)
But anyway, could somebody explain to me how they are being prioritised ahead of issues we already have here? I guess hospital numbers will rise significantly with the amount of extra people coming in also.
115 homeless died in Dublin last year. No mention of the amount in Cork or Galway etc.
It doesn't matter what way you go into A&E referred on non referred you are going to be sitting on a chair for hours. My mother fell down the stairs and broke her collar bone and badly bruised her hips and she wouldn't go to A&E. We had to call the doctor who examined her and what did he do write a note and send her to A&E. It's a joke there are no services and yet you blame people for going to A&E.
See you don't get a slap on the back from the great and good of international politics for resolving or improving domestic issues. This is nothing but politicians doing their usual cap tipping and forelock tugging for the international likes. As far as FFG are concerned the homeless here can rot in their tents. It's sickening to see. Why couldn't they do this for the homeless here?
Do you honestly understand how out of GP service's work, I also live rural and can tell you they are hit and miss at the best of times, what you think a pharmacy can do is beyond me and a pack of aspirin hardly of any benefit so someone needing care, besides very few pharmacies outside urban centres open beyond 6pm. Out of Hours GP service go to line, You should go to A&E.
It's been discussed before and as I've said on other threads, there is simply not enough GP hours in any given week and I know of no GP surgery open at weekends., can't speak for Dublin.
I refuse to believe anyone would go to A&E out of choice, of course there's a small cohort who clog up A&E "S needlessly but the vast majority attending go there for good reason. You also mentioned blood tests and must know results from same are much faster sometimes 2 hours depending on hospital, days when using a GP.
This Particular crisis in Limerick is nothing new, its been going on years and Limerick not alone.
The problem is there is essentially no GP service in many parts of the country from 5pm to 9am and weekends and many people have literally no option if they are unwell but to attend an A&E department, knowing they may be waiting hours.
You are correct, its the government's fault. I know you think people like to sleep on trolleys for days on end.
2019 November.
2019 breaks record for most patients on trolleys – and it’s not even December (inmo.ie)
2019 has seen the highest number of patients on trolleys in any year since records began – despite it still being November.
“We take no pleasure in having to record these figures for a decade and a half. We know the problem, but we also know the solutions: extra beds in hospitals, safe staffing levels, and more step-down and community care outside of the hospital.
“No other developed country faces anything close to this trolley problem. It can be solved, but a strong political agenda to drive change is needed.
Basically there's problems where the world is watching and the ongoing crises such as health and housing.
There's no 'new' normal, just more normal. People on trolleys.
Who in the World is watching?
No other country gives a s**t about Ireland's problems, they are more concerned about fixing their own
Will the DPP fix Leo the Leak?
I'm hoping lesson's will be learned, so to speak 😉