That’s a tough one to take. So dominant in the first half but only one up. O Rourke was having some first half but ran out of steam in the second. Tyrone upped their intensity and their tackling was great but we did run into some dead ends.
showed some great heart when we went three down and two wides could’ve gotten us over the line or a draw. We were the better team over 60mins barring the 15 mins or so when Tyrone got on top in midfield.
finally, that is one of the worst refereeing displays I’ve seen in years. Not just the soft frees given to Tyrone, the lack of cards was appalling. Madden pulled down and the called for carrying- some of it was just laughable. I can’t even be bothered to try and list them all. We were playing 16 men, plain and simple.
Felt the referee was poor on us but we should have won that game. Yet again the lack of a top class free taker when the opposition has one costs one of our teams.
Absolute sickener. Referee was a disgrace. No yellows for Tyrone for cynical tackles. An overcarry against Cavan after a man only after receiving a pass. And the amount of soft frees. The defensive unit were brilliant and dominated both kickouts. Walking out a Tyrone man said to me that the ref was awful against Cavan.
That's a game we should have won
Jaysus this ref is doing us no favours.
Yeah shooting is off but we are taking the ball into the tackle around the middle way too much
I'd be worried we'll run out of steam in the 2nd half
We can't buy a free either
Doing ourselves no favours here. The lack of a man inside is killing us. It seems to be shot from distance or lose the ball. 4 or 5 silly wides.
Saying that playing very well until we get to shootong
Can they make changes to the 26 named once it is released? If they can, not much point getting it to be honest.
Again, he's been gone 2 years. That's what is factually correct. Not 3 or ''several''. Wait until the season is over before you incorrectly label it 3 seasons.
It was only intended to be a year as per the article when he left. If you were living in Australia where Covid was having a minimal effect following the strict guidelines they initially had, would you have moved back to Ireland where we were going through lockdown after lockdown?
He also played 7 years of senior football but had been involved with underage intercounty panels at least as far back as the 2010 minor team. I would imagine he was on development panels before then too. So you're looking at ten years plus of intercounty action.
It's a GAA forum. They are your GAA club. I find it interesting that you'd try to use items like looking up the Crosserlough minor team results against me yet you'll repeatedly refuse to confirm your own club.
I actually brought up the topic on this occasion because I wouldn't mind ending this conversation and usually asking you your club causes you to scarper from a discussion because you seem to have a fear of providing it!
anyone have the exact location of the pitch. Google maps shows a gaa pitch with no stand or terrace.
Also where would ye reckon the best place to park would be?
It's good of you to speak for the man but he has given interviews himself regarding this.
'If I Took A Break But Stayed Here, You Don’t Get Away. You Would Hear Talk Constantly' | Balls.ie
[QUOTE]
"I was chatting to Andre, our strength and conditioning coach and he said it is probably the best thing I can do.
"Every year just runs into the next. I find I have niggles then that carry over. I mean I had a grade 2 tear in my groin after the Monaghan game, I was not expecting to play against Armagh. It builds up. I had two bad hamstring tears over the last two years.
"It is a chance to take a break. Even if I take a break but stayed here, you don’t get away from it. You would hear talk constantly. 'Why aren't you in? Did something happen?'
"When you go away, you are just away. Life goes on. I always wanted to do it anyway, it fell well. It is the right time."
After he returns he will join up again with the county set-up. Football still means as much as it ever did. A step away from the mania will have major benefits in the long run.
[/QUOTE]
I don't think that sounds like a player who ''doesn't want to be there enough''. Sounds like a player who had a number of hard years playing through various injuries and realised he needed a break. There's another article if you want to search it, I know you like searching things, where he does state his intention was only to go for one year but then Covid hit.
I would also think its unfair to take his comments out of context as you have done. That quote in 2018 was about players who were available for selection but opted not to join the panel, as I'm sure you are aware.
To be honest, with your comments here about a player who gave his all for the jersey for years and captained the team, it's no wonder we have a problem attracting players like the Ramor lads this year. A bit of appreciation goes a long way.
Has your own club any players on the minor, U20 or senior setups this weekend?
Is Dara not heading back Australia again for a bit?
Team still not released i though it had to be 48hrs before championship games.
I'd agree, to an extent, that we focus on the lads in there at the moment. Your other comments are incorrect however. I don't think Dara has ever said he doesn't want to be there. He's said he needed a break after several years of long intercounty and club seasons. Let's not forget he burst onto the panel in 2013 when still an underage player. He also took a heavy physical toll on himself in years like 2018 where he worked very hard, after getting injured in the League final, to be back for the championship. Plenty of other players from more successful counties like Dublin have needed a break over the years.
You also state he is ''several'' years out of the game and the country.
''Several - more than one, more than two but fewer than many''
He's missed two intercounty and club seasons. A couple. Not several.
Let's not forget a precedent has also been set with Conor Moynagh.
I think if you asked any of the lads soldiered with him for many years if he should be an addition to the panel, we both know what answer you'd get.
I didn't really pick up on those comments having listened to the interview - what did he state?
I'm wondering is it a bit of an Ulster media thing too - the likes of The Irish News and the Gaelic Life. Speaking to friends outside the county, ahead of the games this weekend, a few have mentioned to me that there's a feeling the Antrim game is win or go for Mickey Graham. I haven't picked up on that feeling in Cavan but it very much appears to be the opinion of the rest of the province.
I think Cavan will against Antrim and will win by 4/5 points. I sense there is a bit of anger in the camp for sure and Grahams comments on wac illustrate an annoyance with the media and the hyping up of Antrim as a coming team. Few lads coming back too and there is plenty of improvement possible in Cavan.
an wouldn’t it be lovely to see that crosserlough man back in that full forward line again sometime.
I did say it’s what I’d like to see more than what I’d expect. I’ve given my thoughts on Gunner before so I won’t repeat that.
Stephen Smith did have his moments in the League final but I still have doubts about his intercounty quality.
There’s always room for another Crosserlough man in the full forward line if he was available though!
What team are people expecting?
Here's what I'd like to see and don't believe its beyond the realms of possibility:
Galligan
Fortune Faulkner Clarke
G Smith Moynagh McLoughlin
Galligan, Conor Brady
J Smith, McKiernan, Cian Madden
Caoimhin Reilly, P Lynch, Cormac O'Reilly
It was Eamonn McGee who said it on the GAA Hour and he said he wouldn't even ask his own brother Neil a question about what night Donegal train because you won't get a straight answer. He was pointing toward how secretive panels are. I have to admit I do have an issue with dummy teams and the use of them but I don't have any issue with players not offering cliche ridden interviews where they go through the motions.
It doesn't help media twist things and take things out of context. I'm not saying our local media do but that is a lot of the problem.
It's just the way it is these days. No county player is saying anything off the record in the build up any more. Neil McGee (I think) said it was a waste of time talking to players these days as they more or less all have a vow of silence about what is going on at training and the like. It's all media managed and not unique to Cavan. The only interesting interviews are possibly going to be when someone hangs up their boots, and only if they don't have aspirations to coach or manage. McVeety and Clarke in 2019 were very raw and honest, for example, but otherwise it tends to be "one game at a time, hope we take our chances" and so on.
WAC reckon tickets still available as I thought. I think the problem was alot of people expected not to get tickets so didn't plan to travel. To be honest, after the drab Division 4 campaign and final, the team haven't exactly given punters anything to be excited about. Hopefully that will change come Saturday.
The latest WAC pod took a bit of a turn towards the end I thought re players not giving interviews. I realise the two lads are always going to support the media but I would applaud the players for their stance - do any of us really want to listen to an uninteresting interview where a player goes through the motions and the same crap cliches are thrown out?
After all, the manager had already provided them with an interview and spoken for the team. The players are giving enough of their time in a shortened seasoned where things are very condensed at the moment without having to throw the media tidbits of information.
The days of anything interesting being unearthed in a media interview are long gone. You might get something after a game when emotions are high but certainly not before it.
There was some tickets available earlier today on ulster gaa website.
He certainly made some interesting calls in the first 45 minutes that I've listened to. Tipping Derry in Ulster for example. Both he and O'Kane have tipped Monaghan. The media attention on Armagh seems to have gone quiet.
He then proceeded to tip Galway for Connacht. That surprised me also, it's very hard to call but Mayo and Roscommon will be hard beat.
He did an RTE Show with Des Cahill back around 2013/2014. He has also been doing bits on BBC and Northern Sound.
Are they all sold?
County Board got 1500 for sideline terrace. No stand for supporters. And a limited number went on sale for behind two goals.
Are tickets for Corrigan hard to come by? I assumed they were easy enough to get as I've seen numerous clubs on social media posting about tickets. The county board have also offered to move any U13 boys fixtures scheduled for Saturday at 12 (had originally been 1) to Saturday the 30th. I had assumed this was another move to encourage people to travel as the ticket allocation wasn't gone.
Listening to the WAC podcast with Cahair O'Kane, I rewinded it to listen to his opinion twice but I can't even remember now, only a day later, if he tipped Cavan or Antrim. He certainly wasn't concrete either way and stumbled through his prediction - in the end I think he said a month ago he would have tipped Antrim but now he backs Cavan to just about get over the line with difficulty.
More interesting were his comments re Tyrone having three good man markers when they come up against any team - Hampsey. McKernan & McNamee. Who would those three be for Cavan? Faulkner hasn't rediscovered the form of 2020. Killian Clarke has been playing out the pitch. I'd see Jason McLoughlin as a good man marker but he has also been playing further forward. Whilst we're by no means an attacking force, I actually have concerns about our defence given how we have struggled against marquee forwards in the last couple of years - Quigley, McCurry, McGuigan, Sweeney.
As another O'Kane point said, the problem with Cavan is that you really don't know what you are going to get. Back to the age old adage - the consistent thing about this Cavan team is, unfortunately for us, their inconsistency.
Tough on the minors. I reckon there will be a decent crowd in Brewster. Tickets for Corrigan are hard to come by so plenty of fans will head down Friday- even if it’s a rubbish night for anyone involved in a club set up.