In 2020 23.2% of the prison population in this country were non Irish.
the % of non Irish living here is about 12%.
Pfft. You're regularly in here arguing anything pro-LGBTQ+ is just WOKE nonsense.
Don't even pretend you give a shite about them now.
I'm frequently reminded why I was right to cease paying the licence fee three years ago
He didn't. Although this quote is often misattributed to Benn, including recently in the House of Commons itself by Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP (Hansard), the quote actually comes from the Scottish journalist and writer Neal Ascherson.
Writing for the Independent in January 1996, Ascherson describes his take on the al-Masari affair in an article entitled If we teach children morality, what will we say about the arms trade?.
The al-Masari affair overflows in all directions with moral relativism. My own view is that to expel a political asylum-seeker because his country threatens to cancel business contracts with Britain is absolutely wrong. And it is not only wrong but dangerous in the long term to us all. This is because of one of the Laws of Politics that I wrote long ago into my little black notebook: "The way a state treats its aliens is the way it would treat its own subjects if it dared".
Ascherson was subsequently paraphrased in the Guardian by Francis Wheen, who wrote in 1999:
We should always watch how politicians treat refugees, Neal Ascherson once wrote, because that's how they would treat the rest of us if they thought they could get away with it.
This seems to be where the more recent framing of the quote has come from.
As for what the al-Masari affair refers to; Mohammad al-Masari is a Saudi political dissident who fled Saudi Arabia in 1993, and sought asylum in the UK. He successfully fought against the British government's attempts to deport him in 1996. This is the context in which Ascherson presented the quote, although as the above excerpt shows, he had come up with it long beforehand.
That's as good as your "meme" anyway.
The reason I asked is because there is no connection, the point made no sense, but if you say it’s common sense, fair enough. Immigration laws exist to regulate immigration.
People having different opinions, depending upon the circumstances, isn’t hypocrisy. People aren’t even required to view different circumstances the same way. Otherwise you could equally be accused of hypocrisy, and it becomes a pointless point scoring effort. You’re hardly just interested in point scoring, are you?
You don’t seem like the type, when you made the point earlier that it was mostly men were crossing the channel, and now it looks like you’re critical of anyone making assumptions about people based upon their religious affiliation. That doesn’t make any sense either, but I have no doubt you’ll handwave away that inconsistency as common sense too.
Another blatant hypocritical viewpoint being made the past week aswell.
Anyone who says murders are due to Islamic beliefs or whatever are told that no one knows that yet and not to make any assumptions, that it's just an unhinged nutjob.
Yet no one has a problem with the murders being attributed to gay hate. All the vigils I have seen have been plastered in LGBT flags. I did hear the guards say they are looking at a possible hate crime aspect but the actual type of hate crime wasn't revealed.
Because it's common sense. Do you know why immigration laws exist?
Funnily enough, I spent the weekend in Copenhagen and went to Malmo yesterday for the day before flying out.
There was a big police presence in the city centre because of a football match between the local side and another big team from Stockholm. The train stopped at Rosengard on the way in and I didn't see anything to suggest there'd been riots there the night before. The city centre was packed with people soaking up the sun.
The only thing was that the train back was cancelled because of concerns from the police and we had to get a taxi.
As I said you were attempting to rewrite history. Kinda funny how this thread tries continues to portray things in a certain way that are just not true
And ignore the campaign to leave the EEC - A Brexiteer on the real left, my word. And the protectionism of British Borders and British Jobs.
Just remember that there are no No-Go Zones in Sweden. That's a far-right conspiracy theory. Much like calling the Country Swedenstan now.
we know why its low on their agenda.
Gas how people try to rewrite history
Good to hear, i literally was just on their website, at work so no access to tv.
I literally just watched the RTE news report this
The 2 men savagely murdered in sligo are been buried today and nothing on the rte website about it, Ashling Murphy's funeral was televised by rte.
Not sure my occupation is relevant since I am not looking to gain illegal entry to the UK but since you ask, yes I am a software engineer.
Anyone who actually supports these people is supporting illegal immigration and supports open borders with no limits.
How do you make that out?
Any illegal is taking the place of someone who is legally migrating to another country.
And again, how do you make that out?
Are you a doctor or an engineer?
Doctors and engineers apparently.
BBC were interviewing people in France in camps. They noted it was mostly men in the camps.
These lads were just saying they want a better life. They were admitting they were economic migrants.
Immigration laws exist for a reason. Any illegal is taking the place of someone who is legally migrating to another country.
Looks like Sweden are enjoying another day of riots over someone burning a Quran.
A lot of European countries are going to end up having independent breakaway Islamic states form within them as more immigration comes from the Islamic world.
Maggie Thatcher and her generation would have absolutely nothing to do with open borders or what is going on in the Channel these days.
Nothing. Nor would the real left actually. Men like Tony Benn. Nothing to do with it.
Hilarious!
I have been called a leftie and SJW on this thread, now I'm Margaret Thatcher😂😂
I suspect that your only concern is that there is a shortage of minimum wage labour.
There is more to life than your unfettered free market.
You don't believe that the hospitality sector are crying out for people?
Perhaps you need to read the news more.
What does Margaret Thatcher have to do with it?
Maggie Thatcher will never be dead as long as you are here Bubbly.
The "mask" was never there. 😅Mary supported David Norris in the 1970s in his legal cases to decriminalise gay male sex.
She's still quite a strongly devout Catholic. Shes not disagreeing with them from an atheistic viewpoint at all. I would describe her more as a liberationist Catholic than a liberal.
Again this one would have presented herself as 'right wing' or standing for traditional values to fool the Fianna Fail vote when she got herself into public office. But eventually the mask slips.