Really?
Completely sober pet, can you say the same?
Who do you think is an Irish person? Someone born in the country according to your posts?
Can you link any post where I said you were a 'plastic paddy' ?
Please?
As I said, it's true
You are not automatically an Irish citizen if you were born on the island of Ireland. You may be entitled to Irish citizenship if your parent(s) or grandparents were Irish. You may be entitled to Irish citizenship if you were born outside of Ireland, but you may need to register your birth.
https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/irish_citizenship/
The Left have purposely made the term confusing or vague to make it seem like we have no culture or ethnicity of our own.
Their nationality is the nationality of their parents.
Such rubbish. The 'left' have nothing to do with it!
Do you think anyone born in Ireland should be Irish?
🙄🙄
justice is blind.
worldwide
Christine O’ Mahony IS Irish though, and what’s more she is culturally and ethnically Black Irish, seeing as another poster told people to check the census, that’s exactly what I did -
I’m not a lib either btw, I just find the attempt by some posters here to think they can declare who is and isn’t Irish, is laughably stupid.
Btw if you think Ms. O’ Mahony is critical of Ireland, you haven’t yet seen the output of some posters here who think they have the authority to declare who is and isn’t Irish, and the amount of shyte they spout about the Irish people who don’t see things the way they do - from “morons” to “indigenous natives who have no pride in their own country”, to “libs” 🙄
Honestly go take a look in the mirror before you think to call anyone out for criticism of this country.
Does it really matter whether we consider them Irish or not? They're here. They're not leaving. Once they've gained the right to remain, then, for all intents and purposes they are Irish. No Irish government is going to revoke citizenship. Not going to happen. (Oh, I wouldn't be surprised to see France or Denmark do it to their non-native citizens, but it's not going to happen here).
Which is why it's so important to investigate and ensure that we are encouraging the best possible fit for citizens to this country, and not throw it around like candy at a party. The application and approval for citizenship should be rigorous and careful. As opposed to what it is today, that is. The Irish State should be ensuring that Irish citizenship has value, and that value will not exist if it's easy to get. Which it is.
Oh, and for those who might be confused about my stance on this. My earlier post was about perceptions, and acceptance. Not the status of being <insert nationality>. Most foreign born who become Irish will struggle throughout their lives encountering Irish people (and other foreign nationalities) who believe them to be foreign. As will their children, should they not be white. That's not a reference to racism, but rather the perception that exists, as Ireland is a predominately White population, the association is that Irish people are white. Pasty white. 😃
No different to Denmark, and the Danes.. What would you think Danish people looked like? Not the rational thought that appeared second. The first thought. Yup. White. Even though they have an significant non-native population. It is what it is.
Klaz I am assuming you are Irish.
If you had a child with a Chinese woman, you have said that child would not be Chinese. Would you consider that child Irish?
It's honestly hilarious the verbal acrobatics some posters are going to in order to deny this Irish lady her identity.
She really did trigger some of ye lol
Fair play to her
Irish citizen with an Irish passport or for the census black Irish was she born here ? You did say their nationality was from their parents .
Your wan is just some ass juvenile posting for a reaction she must have some complex about herself .
Do you know anything of her background? What does being born here have to do with it?
If she was born here before 2005 she is irish. If one of both of her parents is Irish, she is irish. If she is adopted then she is irish.
Which of those things is more Irish to you? Should we change the rules of who is an Irish citizen?
There's only a certain group with a complex who are reacting negatively, everyone else just had a chuckle.
Do you still claim nationality is from the parents so if her parents are Africans then she has an African nationality and an Irish passport.
You would be more correct to say she has an African identity.
So if she was adopted and the foster parents were Irish would you say she has Irish nationality?
Her DNA would not be Irish or are you of the belief we all came from Africa and we are one and the same .
You appear to be making an argument out of nothing or just Idle posting . I did say is an Irish citizen where did I dispute that ?.
adopted people are automatically given Irish citizenship.
posters on this thread have no idea what they are talking about.
Well it would be a chuckle if she said she was native Irish .
This thread is just ridiculous. Posters not knowing what the word migrant means, not knowing that asylum seekers and refugees are different things, thinking that legal immigrants are the minority, posters not even knowing the first thing about how anyone has Irish citizenship, posters thinking people born here are citizens, posters thinking anyone not born here cannot be Irish.
It's just ridiculous. Coming on moaning about foreigners when they don't have any understanding of anything, it appears 🙄🙄
Yes she would have Irish citizenship where did I dispute it but she is not native Irish . Irish and Irish citizenship are distinct .
Seriously, why has she triggered you so badly, its honestly bizarre at this stage how much hatred you are displaying against this lady in your efforts to deny her the identity she legally holds.
You don't like it, fair enough, but legally speaking she is as Irish as you or I and whatever verbal contortions you wish to use will not change that fact.
Next you'll be saying only red haired and freckled folks who do Irish dancing at the crossroads while drinking poitin can be considered Irish lol
The state uses the term black Irish . You want to cancel native and say it does not exist and has no longer any relevance or meaning.
Irish and Irish citizenship are distinct?
I'm what way? Where does it make a difference exactly? What does it matter of someone is not ethnically irish, if they are an Irish citizen, they are therefore Irish.
So you are saying being ethically Irish and it’s culture is no longer relevant and no distinction should be made .
Only you are saying that
I never said she wasn't Irish, never heard of her before yesterday and just had a gander at her twitter and all she does is give out about Ireland and the horrible nasty white Irish man..
The simple fact remains though if a person was born in another country and they get citizenship here they will just be a citizen and not Irish.
Then why do you have an issue with a distinction using the term native Irish Foreigners I know who acquired passports would not consider themselves as Irish . Those born here would feel differently but retain an interest in their parents homeland .
being ethnically irish has nothing to do with its culture. Plenty of ethnically Irish people have no interest in traditionally Irish pastimes, that doesn't make them any less irish.
So, I'll ask you again, in what way does a distinction between ethnically Irish or Irish citizen show itself? What affect does it have? Why do you think it matters?
You know Irish people can be born in another country right?
No they can't, they would be born to Irish parents but that all it would be.
😂
First you think people born here are automatically Irish, they are not.
Then people born to Irish people are not Irish, they are.
Seriously man, go get some education in these things if youre going to talk about them 🙄