So the balls-up has started since last night which makes Fairview from clontarf to Edges corner a single lane with bollards down the centre.
This will be a permanent feature and works will take 21 months.
Considering the speed of construction in this nation, I would be surprised if it’ll ONLY take 21 months… guess we’ll just have to see 😉
It is not solely about cycling infrastructure. This is as much for public transport as anything else.
Cycling infrastructure should not come at the expense of continued bad infrastructure for the rest of people. There always seems to be a greater fuss about this than addressing the chronically poor public transport issue which moves a lot more people.
Just came across this thread and experienced the Fairview problem last week before a detour through that lovely avenues of Marino! Is it really going to last 21 months?
Completely agree.
There are three camps: the Already Do (ie me),
the Could Be Convinced (ie my missus),
and the Will Never Get Out Of Their Car (ie my Aul' Lad).
Good infrastructure should appeal to the second category, and there are lots of them
Hes good at that, thats what trolls do.....
If you wanted to, sure you could spend up to 4 or 5 grand on a brand new high end bike and equipment. But you can start cycling today on a perfectly good second hand bike for less than €50. If you wanted to start driving, you can do so after about a year if you try really hard to jump through all the hoops, and entry to the world of driving costs an absolut minimum of 5 grand plus continuous fuel and maintenance. Also the lads with the lycia and high end bikes are looking to cycle faster than 30kmh for long stretches so the urban cycle lane is of little use to them.
The barriers to entry to cycling are lower than they have ever been. I reckon if I set my mind to it I could get a free bike before the end of the day. I know I have given bikes away myself for free before. The poorer estates my way are full of kids on ebikes now aswell so the class element thing is a nonsense but another good way to get a dig at people who work hard for a living.
I see the dislike of cyclists similar to the dislike of vegans in that people recognise that they COULD do more but have given up the moral high ground for convenience (or laziness).
There is a perception that cycle infrastructure is intended to cater for middle aged, middle class, male cyclists, with good jobs, who own expensive road bikes with lots of flashy gear.
When it is actually aimed at the many, many cyclists who don’t fit into that bracket, as well as those who currently don’t cycle at all.
The class thing is interesting, cycling costs about 1% of what car ownership costs, yet we are told that the poor have to drive and the rich can cycle. How do you square that circle?
re the comment about 70-80 year olds and cycling - my parents, and the parents of a lot of my friends, are in that age bracket, and the vast majority of them are still mobile and many play golf. the one or two who are not mobile are either over 80, or the issue with their mobility stems from them not having cycled/walked enough. arguing against provision of cycling infrastructure because of a 75 year old not cycling is in a roundabout way ensuring that future 75 year olds also won't cycle.
Dublin is not like Amsterdam right now. But progress towards sustainable transport can't happen without pain for those who believe that there's nothing that can ever take them out of their car.
So. He got stabbed in the chest in the shop, and his father eventually succumbed to injuries received after being beaten up in the shop? And he's blaming the not yet extant cycle lane for closing the business.
"I have completely failed to recognise the changing demographics of my customer base, and it is someone else's fault that all my customers are dying off".
Dublin Live belatedly reporting on the jeweller who claims that he was forced to close because of the cycle lane (no mention of the bus lane, water works, etc).
Wonders why his 70-80 year old customers cannot continue to use the parking across the road (ignoring the fact that there is no parking across the road and it is not safe for anyone to cross a fast moving six lane carriageway)
The peasants are revolting
Even worse than that, cyclists and buses can end up playing the worst game of leap frog, where buses have to overtake the cyclist, who then overtakes the bus when it stops. Repeat all the way into town.
Have you reported them to DCC?
They’ve a 24 phone line
https://www.dublincity.ie/residential/transportation/faulty-traffic-signals-lights
I though it was supposed to be just cyclists that break red lights!
Out of curiosity, why did you write illegal in quotes. You broke a red which would have been illegal and not "illegal" as if it is more minor
Hope whoever is in charge makes sure the lights work correctly. Was coming from Alfie Byrne to turn right onto Malahide Rd. last night
Four sequences of lights I sat through with no right filter arrow before I risked an "illegal" right turn on the " presumed" stuck filter.
Segregated cycle lanes means that cyclists and buses won’t be sharing the same space - that can cause issues, as buses have to try and move out to overtake cyclists.
The bus lanes themselves are being extended closer to junctions, and added to around Connolly and Clontarf Road.
You might say these are only small things, but when you add them all up, cumulatively they can make quite a difference.
Forgive me for ignorance, but how will bus users be helped? Are there not bus lanes in both directions as is?
Back when I wasn't a member there, and was just bringing the kids to the swimming lessons there, I'd drive into the carpark occasionally. The overflow carpark was limited to members only. There's definitely been no advertisement to me that the policy changed either, so a lot of parents might not realise.
Of course, there's still people who drive in even though they're members. They're weird.
That's the million dollar question. I've heard that we could have enforcement as early as next year with cameras. If that's true it would be huge. I think it would slash bus journey times, most delay on rush hour bus trips in my experience is spent queing with cars in bus lanes. If that went the service would become dependable around the clock with the existing bus lanes. Joe Duffy would be snowed under with calls from folks who think it's a disgrace that they have to follow long established laws.
I myself can't see it happening, the culture isn't there, nor is the political will. If the cameras were brought in and it was managed by software, there'd be little or no way the TDs, gardaí or well connected folks could get their fines cancelled.
i know road widening etc. will cause much disruption (if they get the CPO and planning permission) on the Malahide Road, but will these new bus lanes be enforced at all? are they going to be segregated? I don't really see the point in bus connects if it will be the usual free for all.
Yes, I counted myself and can reveal that 99.9% of rush hour congestion is composed of either people with their granny in the passenger seat heading to a medical appointment or people heading to do an 8.30am trip to Aldi to bulk buy.
People who write these things must surely be tongue in cheek?
Very few commutes in Dublin, we're talking single digit percentages, are longer than 10km.
And yes the geography of fairview is such that unless you're commuting from spongebob's house under the sea to the city centre, there's basically nobody using Fairview on a long distance commute. People saying that they need to drive because of the distance are either a tiny minority of commuters or in the case of fairview, simply lying.
This thread must surely be satire? There will be full access for all vehicles maintained at all times. Itz a project that will finally attempt to create a reasonable quality bus and cycling corridor in a city with shockingly bad public transport and cycling infrastructure. You're going to be very upset indeed when bus connects comes round and far reaching reductions in road space for cars come about.
This is one instance where DCC has not ballsed anything up.
That makes perfect sense now. On the quays a few years back, loads of people driving up the bus lane. Rolled my window down to ask the the Gardaí in a car to my right about it, they responded that there was nothing they could do about it.
And I constantly see cars going both ways through bus gate, often with Gardai cars behind them, and nothing's done about it.
There are moves to bring in ANPR penalties for exactly this kind of problem. But it’s very slowly going through the governmental system at present.