So the balls-up has started since last night which makes Fairview from clontarf to Edges corner a single lane with bollards down the centre.
This will be a permanent feature and works will take 21 months.
Look, not sure if my first post was misinterpreted, but for the avoidance of doubt: I'm not trying to justify their actions, I'm all for PT and I cycle into town more often than I've ever driven in.
But making blanket statements of incredulity serves no purpose and makes posters look foolish. People saying stuff like "North East Dublin?.... Sure you have the DART over there, whaddya need to drive for?" is completely ignorant of the reality on the ground. Imagine telling someone in Kinsealy they should be happy they can spend an hour walking to Portmarnock train station. How long would it take to get to the Dart from Seafield Road in Clontarf or Tranquility Grove in Kilmore?
The Dart is great, but serves a miniscule portion of the city. Walking anything up to 15 mins to the station and having to wait 10+ mins for the train is pretty feckin masochistic when you'd be in the North Strand by that stage if driving. Haven't even mentioned the weather yet, even.
And that's why people drive. Not because they need to, but because the alternative is unacceptable (to them).
You can still just continue up to Marino Park, go around it, and come out at the same spot, and you'll save time. I do it myself rather than drive through Fairview. I don't see a problem with it, but I drive slowly through built up areas. A lot of people don't.
I'm not saying it's not well serviced. I'm just pointing out that the assertion being made (I.E. where are all these people coming from?) is staring them in the face. There must be close to a quarter of a million people living in the areas I mentioned, when totalled.
This is the post they replied to. They responded by insinuating you were smoking crack if you really think that there is a substantial presence of the LUAS on the Northside because, subjectively and objectively, Both red and green lines having a "substantial" Northside run is clearly a load of bollocks.
You're the one who used the term substantial. He refuted it and you replied with a map which proves his point more than yours. Up until that stage / point, he never mentioned anything about there being 'no luas' on the Northside, unless I missed it?
When it comes down to it, he's spot on. Only 6 stops further North than, what, Dorset Street? Hardly what anyone would call substantial.
Metro has been delayed because of funding
Except he didn't poo-poo any assertion about substantial Luas presence on the northside.
He made a poo-poo assertion himself that there was 'no Luas' on the northside, which is nonsense.
I grew up in Donnycarney. That area has probably the best bus connections of the entire country. Thankfully, due to much development and restriction of private cars it is also quite a quick bus service.
Ah yes, thanks. I have used that myself on the bike many times - for some reason in my head I thought that was a one way road rather than just a no-right turn.
Compared to their south side runs, it's nothing. Sure the red line is never more that 50m from the river.
Marino, Killester, Beaumont, Raheny, Donnycarney, Clontarf, Dollymount, Artane, Coolock, Raheny, Kilbarrack, Donaghmede, Belmayne, ClareHall, Kinsealy, Portmarnock, Malahide, Howth, Baldoyle, Sutton........That's a lot of areas with a huge population, and not everyone is within walking distance of the DART, at either end never mind both.
The catchment area is huge, with essentially two main roads into town serving all of them. They've no other way, so that's why they go that way.
Not being close to a train station is not a reason for "needing" to drive into the city centre. There are other options for people. People choose not to use them and then make claims that public transport is poor, etc and at the same time happy to keep the status quo rather than redesign road space which would make public transport quicker. The majority of people who drive into the city do not need to drive and could jump on a train/bus/luas/bike/walk/whatever - they choose not to - I used to do that myself when I drove into the city daily, justifing it to myself because simply I wanted to sit on my own in the car and be able to smoke. If more people used these alternatives then the roads would be less congested for those who actually need to drive in.
6 stops on the Northside outside of the city centre. Six. There are more LUAS stops in Tallaght alone than there are on the northside, so he's 100% correct in poo-pooing the assertion there is a "substantial" LUAS presence over this side of the city.
The thing is, vehicular traffic isn't technically allowed go that way, but I've never seen it enforced.
You can even see one car on Haverty Rd facing the wrong way on Google Streetview
The PO is the first left after the pedestrian footbridge. Great shortcut for cyclists as that corner by the bike shop is a death trap on a bike, especially with Numptys flying up the inside in the bus lane.
The main delays seemed to be outbound and they were substantial. Fair amount of ducking up through Marino by the old post office to avoid the jam at the junction. Yesterday a food van stopped to unload at Marino College there - that caused great fun.
where is the old post office? I thought the route through the Marino estates had been more or less blocked by one way roads to stop that kind of thing.
The outbound is always a mess because Malahide road drops to 1 lane. Nothing in these works will change that, at worst they move the merging problem slightly further into town.
I drove in past the roadworks today during rush hour.
The usual yellow box blockers were having their effect, but that is nothing to do with the works.
Lots of private cars taking the bus lane.
The traffic moved along inwards, though at one stage what looked to me like two suicide cyclists shot out from the left at speed - I can only presume they went rogue and that they are not being guided from the footpath side of the park back out into the traffic?
Yeah it's hilarious on Twitter everyone with the usual tired trope - sort out public transport first and then make these changes!!!!1
I'm from and live in north east Dublin too, it must be one of the best catered areas in Ireland for public transport.
I'm from the northeast of Dublin, and the area is served by the Dart, and no less than three bus routes, all three of which pass through Fairview, so am delighted at the reduction in bus journey times that these works will bring. Am struggling to imagine where it is you could be driving from that is seemingly so bereft of public transport options.
It switches at the entrance to Fairview Park opposite Marino Mart. I think it's something to do with the bus stop up ahead.
Yeah it switches from one side to the other at a random point. I never really understood why 🤣
was walking beside the cycle path along fairview today on the tree side and it mysteriously changes to walkin on it around the bridge,not sure where the change ocurred but I missed it.
Many years ago when I was a trainee on work placement, I was told something similar. “Do you have a car?” was the first thing the new boss asked me. “Yes,” I said, “but I’m only down the road and was thinking I’d cycle in.” “No no, that won’t do at all. A colleague did that before and naturally people assumed he was an alcoholic who had lost his licence.”
These days I own my own business, and I cycle past that place twice a day. I still think of that conversation every time and have a good chuckle!
🤣🤣🤣🤣
If the arguments against the work in any way involve describing what is currently there as "grand" then they are not worth listening to.
True but it shows the available transport links which would help negate some of the "I have to drive across the city" excuses
I remember many years ago frank McDonald wrote about a bank manager who approached him; he cycled to work but the bank decided to issue company cars to all managers so he had to take one. A few months later he was summonsed to a meeting and asked why his wife has been seen driving the car, so his obvious answer was it would be sitting in the driveway during the day anyway, so what harm? So they told him to dutch the cycling and drive to work, they had spent a lot of money getting the car for him.
Drumcondra station serves people heading west though, and would have very little impact on traffic in Fairview, I'd wager.
Actually, Drumcondra station wouldn't be too far away either which is served by the Maynooth and Newbridge trains.
So just the DART then?
Weren't those trees to be cut down until a bunch of green tree huggers protested and tied some ribbons around, and they got left in place. It's impossible to fart in Ireland without someone objecting.
If the removal of a tree is required in order to implement cycling infrastructure then surely the cycling benefit outweighs the loss of the tree.
I'd say it's going to lead to a congestion charge rather than any actual new measures to move more mixed traffic through the city.
I suppose even if you took 2 car lanes worth wide of Fairview park to leave existing flow as it was you would still have the traffic bottlekneck at Malahide Road and coming in to Clontarf but you would be back to where it was previously. The ancient trees that are so close to the bus and cycle lane are a ticking time bomb, only a matter of time before there's fatalities.
Just talking about this today. Brother in law is a director in a multinational in the IFSC. They're actively discouraged from using public transport and (god forbid) cycling. It gives the wrong impression apparently.
Anyway on the fairview thing, looking forward to this. Its a horrible stretch tp cycle from the end on the clontarf path which puts you in conflict with taxi and buses. Having a dedicated path here will make it much more pleasant. Fairview has been besieged by traffic and essentially has a dual carriageway running through ot so no harm to give some of the road space back to more sustainable means.