Nice find! Your lawyer will love sorting out the paperwork for that one but when it's all in order you'll have a brilliant site.
The site is a great location, would be great for getting away whenever wanted. But the cabin still reminds me of deliverance 😁.
For 300k you can have your own roofless ruin. Fair enough if you have a million to spend on refurbishing it. What I could not cope with is that tower on the front - pic 5 - it was tacked on with no thought for the rest of the house and looks terrible.
He ran a "nightclub" down on the quays, before he started in the travel trade.
I'd love this, if it was €150K I'd buy it tomorrow. A little bit of money gets the house sorted. Over time you can do one of the outhouses up. Nearest neighbour 300m away, so you can play the music loud and they won't do anything to annoy you. Only disadvantage is there'd be a fair bang of slurry around the place for a few weeks of the year.
The drive up the avenue every evening, or every Friday would lift the spirits.
5 mins to motorway exit. 15 mins to Carlow or Athy train stations, so handy if you're WFH 3-4 days a week.
Map View: https://www.google.com/maps/@52.8972587,-6.8954705,392m/data=!3m1!1e3
Probably a bit more work in the house than is readily apparent at first look, but if you were anyway handy you could have a lovely time restoring all the outbuildings. I agree, nice house. Bit of a slurry whiff round here today, but fairly distant I think. It can be a bit strong when its an adjacent field but you get used to it and its not often. At least its not pig slurry, now that would be a reason for not buying.
This thread is gone to shite with the amount of nonsense in it. It used to be interesting properties!
Lots of grass well kept in the pictures but you would be out cutting it all the time for at least 7 or 8 months of the year.
2 donkeys (they need to be in pairs), or couple of goats, and a few bales of hay would sort that I think.
Absolutely love this house. Seems fairly good value for money!
That's a stunner @Navy blue! I got a bit of a laugh out of the line that it was renovated to a beautiful standard...in the 1800s 😂 It still looks fab though. The only bugbear is that they painted all of the drainpipes and the window frames in red!
Its beautiful and it does seem a good price. I have a feeling though that most of the rooms may not be up to the standard in the photos.Expensive to heat I would imagine aswell.
It would make a lovely B and B or small hotel.
That is rather nice, the rooms shown seem to be in good repair but hard to tell. They could have had some decent photos taken.
I had to check if the owners were selling themselves the photos were so bad. I'd be fuming if I had paid an EA to sell my very fine house and that's what they came up with.
The castle has its own website. Its rented out on Air BnB. It seems the current owners bought it in 2015 and have being restoring it bit by bit. I expect a vast portion of the house has not being restored yet so the new owner would need deep pockets.
That does not surprise me
Lovely house, but for a 1.75m house couldn't they afford to get proper photos (of the interior) ?
Old money, run out, perhaps.
Imagine spending 1.5 million on a house and having this conversation every time you have to give directions to it:
"What's your address?"
"It's cum assist, Sea Road, Malahide."
Nice house - I would definately change the name of the house though if I could afford to buy it.
Google translate says its Romanian and translates as 'How to cyst'.
🤣🤣🤣
Never a better time to be glad for eircodes!
I like the house but not the site. It's right up against a wall beside another estate, so could get noisy. Also estate agent describes it as 'adjacent to Malahide Estuary. Yeah, it's 500m away from it by foot and it's not much to shout about.
If I had the money I'd look elsewhere.
What3words not much better;
I think if I lived beside that house, I'd move too 🤣
1 bed for €425k! they could at least have repainted outside. It is a 'slick city pad' but still.... and yes the neighbouring house looks awful!
I feel there related to Jack and Vera in Coronation Street!
The interior is well done, but for 400k+ it would really need to be. The yoke next door is an eyesore, a coat of paint would improve both houses.
It is amazing "improvements" people make. A friend of mine used to call Coolock little Dallas as so many added fake roman pillars to the front of their houses.
Betty White's old gaff in Carmel, California up for sale for $7.95m. It's actully well priced when you compare it to some other places in the area. I like the interior.
She's not dead 3 months. You'd be ran in this country if you tried to sell a house in that space of time.
I know where I'd spend most of my time, but the bedroom has an incredible view as well.
The view. wow.