Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
Nice confidence boost today after the 2 previous drab affairs against Kerry and Tyrone. Solid campaign overall. Flynn has improved alot this year too but ROD has just gone up another level today.
I hope we continue mixing up the direct style with the running game too and wel be in with a chance again this year. Bonus game next week but a final is a final so be good to win especially against Kerry. I hope Harrison injury isn't season ending
Probably tomorrow but it will be on Sunday, Div 3 and 4 on Sat and Div 1 and 2 on Sunday
All the hurling finals are next weekend as well
Final @ 4pm Sunday
That
will
do
I know many didn't massively want the final but I think it'll stand to a lot of them. There are quite a few who haven't had too many big days in Crocker, can only stand to them imo. I'm looking forward to it anyway, be great to see how a few of the newer lads measure up.
I don't think it'll make a big difference as long as we don't lose anyone else to injury.
We won it in 2019, which was a fantastic day, but we lost to the Rossies a few weeks later....
Nice for the galway lads to sample the atmosphere of a big final in croke park
Rtes “analysis” is a joke
Any word on Cillian O' Connor?
Jordan Flynn seems to be coming into himself. He was very promising at underage level and it was all really tainted by that incident with the referee. Took him a few years to really get the temperament under control and sort of restore his rep. Glad to see him getting the head right because he has a lot of potential.
Probably one of the highlights of the league for me was seeing him put in a fair few solid performances in midfield. Himself and Ruane could will be a formidable pairing if they keep progressing.
If there was a point when I stopped worrying about his temperament it was the Dublin game. He handled the early yellow well against them.
That temperament, I’ve said it before, it’s something you’d rather have to knock out of a lad than knock into him.
He was very good today. I’ve been an admirer of his from the early days of his senior career, he’s a very good passer and when he does pass (a few go astray mind) the ball is usually going to exactly where the receiving player would hope it to be. He’s able to kick from distance and the goal he scored today will do his confidence the world of good. He’s a big strong lad too. Reminds me of Seamie O’Shea in a lot of ways.
It will be like old times with galway and kerry takin home the silverware in croke Park.......
I agree.........it is a long time since Galway took home any silverware in Croke Park
Any indication on when tickets will go on sale?
Looks like tickets are included free for season ticket holders as per usual
Great stuff
The meeting between Mr. Pot and Mr. Kettle was acrimonious.
It’s rear we get to the final of the big one but when we do we win more then we lose … not fill the togs.
I’ve never met a better bunch of bucks for talking about winning a final ye’ll never get to
9 wins out of 22 in Football and 5 wins out of 25 in Hurling.
The records must be missing some of those wins you're speaking of?
That's the spirit.
Chin up!
You have too much time on your hands but fair play ….I don’t . But I do know ye are 0 from 12 at a rough guess since Meath in mid 90s …. Still ye have provided great entertainment and have thousands of runners up Medals to console yerselves.
In before any talking heads or interlopers come along with some really lazy analysis and suggest Mayo will find it daunting v Kerry in Croke Park.
The last time Kerry beat Mayo in Croke Park was 2011.
Since then it's been three losses and two draws.
Tickets on sale now, €25 not too bad for two games.
Ye bucks don't need to go to CP to fill the togs even with finals at stake.... Ye have been flat out doing it at home.
I have noticed a clear dislike for Mayo from Kerry and it comes down to having the edge over them. TBH, this game could go either way but that tyrone defeat will hurt especially since they have been moving along nicely. It will hurt Jacky anyway since he has been clearly done numerous times by the red hand.
I would love to see Flynn, Carney and these newer guys really have a proper crack at the game. I think we have loads of good players but we need to see the newer guys cross the "good" line, just like ROD has done. That is the quality we need to find but I do feel this game is bonus territory for us and at the same time nothing to say we can't win this. It will be interesting to see how we perform.
Was half thinking of staying the Saturday night but prices are ridiculous. Over €250 for anything half decent.
I have noticed a clear dislike for Mayo from Kerry and it comes down to having the edge over them.
I've been living in Kerry since the early 2000s
Up until ten years ago the locals would plamás me about how they'd love to see Mayo win etc.
That was all good when they were hammering Mayo by double digits in All Irelands.
But it soon stopped after Mayo became a real challenge to them, and added to that Mayo's ability to run Dublin close, and beat them when Kerry never could.
Jack has only managed Kerry twice against Tyrone in championship football...Won one, lost one.