There is a criticism is that he plays too conservative when in contention, whether he is playing for money rather than wins who knows.
Don't think it's that personally, playing conservatively usually doesn't cost you in the majors, just don't think he's that strong in the white heat of championship golf, not that many are in fairness
Regarding Casey - he was obviously unlucky on 16, but when I saw him not go for the pin on 17 I thought to myself that's why he doesn't have more wins. He was 3 behind. Cam Smith wasn't going to drop three shots, whereas 2 was possible. 1 was very possible. He should have been trying to get the birdie on the card, worry his opponent and if he could make a birdie on the last too he'd have had a great chance of the play off. He looked to me to be trying to protect his 2nd / 3rd place finish.
Put it this way - you wouldn't see Harrington have an outside chance of a win and think I better not risk losing third place.
Coverage of the matchplay really is shocking. We just saw MW Lee missing a putt on 18 to halve his match with Hoge, despite the game being finished since about 6pm, and after we were shown the final group table half an hour ago!
It is really bad tbf but oddly bad cause they are onky concentrating on a few matches each day not showing many shots from some of the big names even, don't think I've seen Adam Scott in the 3 days just off the top of my head.
I will never get my head around how bad coverage is for golf it just can't be that hard especially these days
It's shocking. I still think the Ryder Cup last year was the worst I've seen. 8 balls on the course for the foursomes and we barely saw a third of the shots.
There's absolutely no excuse for it with the amount of money in the game these days.
Gotta say McGinley has improved a lot over the last while. I always forgave him due to the amount of information he imparted about the course but it's like he has finally settled in and isn't worried about calling somebody for a poor shot.
Dougherty: "And now I'm delighted to welcome into the commentary box DJ's coach..."
Me: "OMG Butch!"
Dougherty: "...Claude Harmon III"
Me: *mutes TV*
Seamus power wins match....don't say it....don't say it.....irish eyes are smiling ....ffs
McGinley saying world number is chopping and changing. Rahm is no1 how many weeks now?
Mcginley as close to giving out about the coverage as I've ever heard from sky commentary. "not sure why we are seeing this at a pivotal time"
As they cut to some scenery.
4 games and we still get to see feck all of power
Claude actually wasnt that bad.
I cant count the number of times Laura Davies made the absolute wrong call on shot choices, what a shot was going to do or even what the scores in the matches were. Herself and Coltart both seemed to have no idea how the matches were lying a lot of the time
She's a brilliant commentator, I'd image me they didn't have stats available there.
Dare I say it, he might be building (here’s that word again) momentum!
Big fan of Ewen Murray but he needs to drop the tut tutting of players spitting. He's been beating that horse for nearly two decades.
He has improved a bit alright, and is settling in. Still spouts way too much utter sh1te though at times imo, like he's the matchplay oracle or something. Once he realises there are moments when you don't have to say something, he'll be better for it.
This new fella Scotland on Sky is as dull as dishwater.
Where do they find them?
He seems like a bag of nerves when he's on camera
Was a bit of a prodigy Zane Scotland. Think he qualified for the Open at 16 or somesuch. Failed to live up to expectations.
Gotta say, Henni's presenting skills are making Dougherty look v good.
I'm not a massive fan of Dougherty as a commentator, but he does a very good job as a presenter.
Henni sadly has about as much charisma as a bag of spuds. She's hopeless as an interviewer too and shouldn't be anywhere near our screens in any capacity.
Yeah, I like Nick, think he does a good job.
Coltart's pretty terrible though. Doesn't matter what their career was like if they're a good commentator, he always seems in foul humour and never does any research, more interested in snide comments about the other commentators.
It's probably the accent that got it for him, people love a deep Scottish brogue.
The Masters coverage is usually terrible, I suppose nothing will change again this year?
Doesn't the app give you the ability to see every shot of any player you want now?
Yeah but it can be glitchy enough and it's a bit of work I'd prefer to just see it on the TV.
Never had any issues with it in ~10 years, so what are these glitches? It's probably one of the more polished apps and cracking user experience.
Might be poor internet.
I never had any issue with it either.
Having said that I prefer TV coverage and I'll be tuning into the American coverage.
Yeah app works mostly OK but I run into trouble every now and again but just show the feckin golf on TV ffs, this is why I pay for sky golf all year.
We can't still be having these conversations? The Masters restricts the times the broadcasters can show, Sky or American ones, so it's irrelevant that you pay for sky sports.
They seem to relent a little more every year though, night and day from when it was just the back 9 on Saturday and Sunday.
That's exactly my point, all well and good giving us this app but why are they restricting tv coverage? Nonsense in this day and age it's a major ffs.