blazz i ve seen you express admiration and support for dissisant republican terrorists on this site , you are exactly the kind of person who should and would draw the attention of the state security agency's
fair play to them
Haha the last few pages gave me a laugh
Looks like SF are emptying the subs bench………………
Not even the little smiley I added no ?
Just to be abundantly clear,like most people, I do not want any of the security apparatus of the Republic of Ireland dismantled
It has served us well
It needs enhancing
Deosnt look scarcastic to me anyway...given way yous all blindly support the special criminal court irregardless of its obvious failings,wouldnt be of any suprise to anyone,if you were serious
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Except they were not. You're paranoia is getting to you.
Why would special branch be stopping you???....
Lol.
There were no 'special branch' stopping you 🤣
You seem to be a tad paranoid.
You have no idea who they were. And they didn't introduce themselves to you as 'special branch'
Detectives are plain clothes and armed. And you still haven't explained what the royal visit has to do with you getting stopped?
Stopped by 'special branch' eh? Did they identify themselves like that?
And what does the royal visit have to do with gardai stopping you?
'delivering a newspaper' I can imagine which newspaper that was.....
I'm no fan of the proposed law, but as you wish, other posters will draw their own conclusions.
(is no one else noticing the Roman inheritance law referenced in this reply?)
I have never interacted with special branch either, quite strange story.
law and order politians would abuse this sf law to silenece dissent
(kind of how our present rulers demand charities platform government or they cut off funding,similar to threats issued to newspapers aswell....totally normal behaviour aparently....the law is well meaning,just our rulers cant be truste
Vast vast majority of people have never ever interacted with special branch, you have twice and are calling ROI a police state and now getting p!ssy with others for commenting without full info,
Pass on the full info or people will come to their own conclusions.
And nothing in that paragraph you wrote was "fairly clear" it was all innuendo.
Why are they irrelavant,i havnt broken any laws
This needs some elaboration:
Ya mate,thats why i stopped and searched twice last week by special branch miles and miles from where that royal visit was to take place....totally normal behaviour by an extremist government and got stopped and verbally abused by special branch for delivering a newspaper previously
Ok Your personal interactions with the cops are irrelevant
We are not Russia and the Gardaí are as far from putins police or the hyperbole I read above from you as I am from the moon
Lol
Hyperbole much
We are not Russia
Gardai are not the Moscow/Putin police
Ah yeah arent run like russia,hence why fg send gaurds to interrogate bloggers at dublin airport
I feel.the legislation is well meaning,esp for sf with the abuse their higher number of female members in particular get....but ultimaely flawed in a country which treats whistleblowers like ireland deos
Do you not fear it will be used to silence dissent as anyone who dare speak out will be threatened with court and sueing,with virtually noone able to afford courts,irregardless of how right they are??
This legislation will let it that only those who are part of the top 1% finance wise can speak out and poorer people will be threatened into silence imo....
imagine if micheal mcdowell or the rest of the mad right had access to this horrendous oversight and powers,things are bad enough as it is here
If you say something that's true,then you have nothing to fear from the courts
If someone sues,cost for you is not an issue
Theres no regardless
Theres no punishment in the courts for dissent only right or wrongs declared
Say something untrue or defame ,then you may lawyer up,expecting to pay your costs,the defamed persons and any awarded damages
This is right and proper
We aren't run like Russia thankfully
That woman apoligised??
Tbf.theres little more she can do,and didnt hide behind veil of anomity to abuse/defame anyone,bit of an poor similay to use in light of such cavet?...
the punishment for defamation is steep enough in courts under libel laws and regularly used already to silence dissent here as most who speak out cant afford court cases,irregardless of how true they may be saying
Would you not be concerned a government with access to this type data would overstep mark and use it to stamp out opposition....like.i feel its well-meaning,if naive and if another micheal mcdowell type character made it into dept of justice would abuse the position and over reach massively??
Well, identifying the sources of online abuse is fine in principle. but if the only punishment for eg vile tweets is going to be a slap on the wrist it may not be worth the effort:
In a response to another user, Ms Ennis tweeted on March 21, 2012: “Some people were hit with the ugly stick, you were raped by the whole forest.”
Can you think of any other party where a person making such a tweet would still be in a job?
Suprised there not been more made of this.
Looking to sort issue of anon.abuse online,if anything paddy cosgorve messing has shown,is twitter anomity isnt much use.
Mixed feelings as obviously sinn fein have an extra-ordinarly level of women in positions of promenience and clearly they come in for some pretty horrific abuse.....
Also with matty kenny and pearse doherty property being attacked/burnt after right wing elements,whipping each other into a frenzy..
I still feel some anonmity is crutial online,given the way whistle-blowers are treated here and journalists can be hit & miss as regards willingness to rock boat,
(possibly for fear of missing out on advisor jobs in future governments?)
A government with ready access to this data could & would easily overstep into oppression,famously a ex-TD who recently had to apoligise publically this week,sent gaurds to interview a blogger at dublin airport.....will there be enough safegaurds
I stand behind my point that SFs overriding focus is a United Ireland.
Given the times we are in and the issues we have to deal with seems all secondary to their primary focus.
Housing is a huge issue, prices, health care, …….aaah sure call for more houses, tax deductions and more staff, that will cover all that stuff.
Meanwhile our two intrepid leaders will hit for the United State to beat the drum for a United Ireland !
Isn’t everyone in our island going crazy for that idealistic approach.
Has the whole country bet into a cocked hat, so it has.
I can certainly see it being talked about much less in border counties since the GFA for obvious reasons. Among my social circle in the border counties (I'm from a border town myself, I'm a Fermanagh native), there has been a noticeable uptick in the conversation since Brexit though. I've said it a few times, though I wouldn't claim it as a particularly original thought, but the DUP have done more for Unification than the Shinners ever managed.
As for your workplace, that's pretty much part of the point I was making; discussing SF in any sort of depth, it is difficult for Unification to completely not come up as a topic for discussion..... though being discussed doesn't necessarily mean in a positive light. My issue was around claims that groups were discussing SF regularly and the topic had just never come up, when others on the thread are disparaging SF for having Unification TOO front and centre, as the core intention behind everything.
As for MLMD.....you'd have to imagine one of a few things; the first would be that even the sort of person who wouldn't be bothered talking about Unification down the pub inevitably finds themself discussing it when speaking with the leader of SF, who place it so centrally to what they stand for and that has given her a biased view of how much it is being discussed when the leader of SF isn't in the room. The second is that she's engaging in a little of the wordplay I was referring to earlier and including those who are vocally saying they don't want it (after all, those people are still discussing it widely), the third being that the social circles of those with such strong negative feelings towards SF as to be regularly posting in a thread like this also aren't entirely reflective of the opinions of the broader public.
I'd imagine a mixture of all the above, I'd imagine MLMD's social circle isn't likely to include a huge number of rabidly anti-SF, anti-Unification folk, much like I'd imagine the average poster on this thread doesn't have a huge number of the sort of folk sitting in The Felons bar in West Belfast or Peadar Brown's in Dublin in theirs. The broader reality is probably somewhere in between the two experiences.
It's funny, I'm from a border town and since 98 everything has changed. It's a different world and no one talks about reunification.
Also, due to where I work, we do regularly talk about Sinn Fein,and there's not one single person who has any interest in a United Ireland.
be interesting to see where Mary Lou is getting her impressions from.....