If being an unaligned country with a large army is no deterrent to Putin's ambitions is it time for ROI to join Nato?
I've never witnessed such contorted contradictory thinking from a poster. This is garbled nonsense Francie on all levels. You really should be taking a long hard look at yourself.
Certain strands of the political left (of which broadly I ascribe) have tied themselves in knots and made an utter disgrace of themselves over the past month. The above post is an examplar of it. No idea and zero will to face down fascism. Utterly woolly notions of "anti-war" thinking aggressive nationalism on a warpath can be talked down with a saucer of milk and rhetoric of peace at any cost. Under the hood is a deep psychological aversion to cornerstone Western institutions that have built precious European peace on a practical civilian level, and defended it militarily on a treaty level for a generation and a half.
Everything that has upheld the European peace is cast in suspicion and doubt, revisionist history is deployed - and there's the behavior of a blinkered racehorse when the actual aggressor is brought up.
Pretty disgusting all round.
So can you tell us why Russia wasn't a pariah state in 2014?
What was the difference then to now?
These guys are still in the UN ffs.
Have at it yurt.
This is like trying to talk with a schizophrenic. You've made a show of yourself Francie.
Can you answer the question now?
This isn't an episode of The Chase. We've covered this ground before, dumb bad faith contradictory questions get ignored.
No it hasn't been answered. (prove me wrong...happy to accept it was)
Why wasn't Russia sanctioned and ostracised out of business like it has been now, in 2014?
Explain it to me because f***ed if this 'Putin bot' knows.
Russia was sanctioned from 2014 on bright spark, the rouble collapsed late that year as a direct effect from them. You were probably too busy pushing crayons up your nose to notice.
You advocate kicking them out of the UN?
Is that even possible?
Did you advocate sanctions on Russia in 2014?
A certain Irish political party defended them to the hilt in 2014... ;)
'Joining NATO' does not necessarity equate to updating your armed forces.
Iceland for example is under the NATO umbrella, all it has by way of defence is it's coast guard/fishery protection force and it's police.
It rents out Keflavik air force base to the US - it does not allow them to leave the base and they get the NATO defence umbrella AND get paid hansomely for the use of the base.
Now for many years during our non-alignment we have a base in Shannon Airport - sureley we could lease it out for a large amount of money and not necessarily have to pump it all into a larger armed force.
Yes I know that.
But out of business? Treated as a pariah state?
Nope...our own Minister of Foreign Affairs was out there looking to sweettalk them into a vote at the UN. That was just us, god knows who else was at it.
Credible sanctions? Gimme a fecking break here Yurt. Absolutely sure fired geo-political gameplaying keeping them at suitable arms length but not really when it came to wanting something. Moral grandstanding without a care for those annexed or killed in the aggression.
So,when will our political establishment be willing answer qs in relation to natos bombing campaign in kosovo??
You mean when the UN asked NATO to help them in the Balkins???
You don't have a clue.
What is clear here is that the usual crew don't have a bull's notion of European history. They parrot soundbites that may be great on Twitter but is of course historically wrong. The lastest one is NATO's involvement in the Balkins as if NATO was gunning to get involved. The same people will hold the UN up on a pedestal as high as Everest.
Yet, the UN asked, yes ASKED for NATO help in the Balkins.
There are more about turns here than a garbage truck.
Oh FFS, you just did a BoJo!!
It doesn't appear you knew that at all. You're a joke.
Every candidate UNSC country canvasses every UN member country. Get over it.
Ireland, Canada, Norway would have canvassed every country from Nauru to North Korea - that's the UN, and that's diplomacy. Grow up and come into the real world.
You don't appear to believe in military action, military assistance to Ukraine, treaty alliances to protect European states against Russian aggression, sanctions. Nothing.
What is it, in the adult world, in the face of fascism and invasion, that you actually believe in doing?
Except i have not implied any of those things...infact i have said nato should provide the air support ukraine is looking for
But yes,yous continue to post strawman arguements.....seems to be sum total of your posts really
How in god's name would I not know that weak ineffectual sanctions were applied?
Will you answer the questions asked of you without projecting stuff on to me?
Why was Russia not put out of business in the way it is now in 2014?
Is it ok that you can annex a wee bit, invade a wee bit? You get a second chance?
Answer the fecking questions Yurt, stop telling me what I do or don't know.
🤣 Yes the collapse of the currency and a three-year financial crisis is weak and ineffectual. Turn on your headlights, because you're operating blind.
You didn't have a clue about the 2014 sanctions
and they PATENTLY didn't work.
Why was Russia not made a pariah state in 2014.
A pariah state being one where NOBODY would be going to sweet talk them into a vote, where they would NOT be able to move their money around the world, where their oligarchs would not be wined and dined in NATO countries etc etc.
You haven't addressed the question, you are as usual fixated on me.
Answer the fecking question Yurt.
If I were a government spokesperson for "the political establishment" answering questions about NATO's intervention in Kosovo, I'd say "the Irish state congratulates the treaty alliance in f*cking up the militarist government of Milosevic and his genocide committing pals, and wishes the treaty forces every luck in the future."
Pr*cks like Milosevic and Putin only understand Tomahawk missiles coming down on their head. That's the real world. You can sing hands across the borders all you want, sometimes F16s in the air is the only thing for it.
Saucers of milk would have worked about as well for Milosevic as they will for Putin. Kosovo was NATO doing its job and preventing further genocide of Kosovar Albanians - they deserve a prize for it and the only people still bellyaching are Russia, the Chinese and assorted cranks on the left in Western Europe. For the record, Ireland was one of the first to recognize the independence of Kosovo, and more power to us for doing so in the face of Russian and Chinese pissing and moaning.
No. Your question is stupid, and posed in a stupid way.
😁 I rest my case.
Correct me if im wrong,but werent many of the bombs dropped in kosovo contained depleted uranium even causinh controversy then.....also pretty sure i recall them bombing a fertilizer plant (?) and it poisioning air for an entire city (this in particular as was around time IFI was wound down)
You are happy for irish state to be responsible for the above,and more,which to me amount to crimes againest humanity.......lets get our political and media to stand over these actions and accept responsibility for em,before even dreaming entering nato (which i dont think for 1 second they will do either)
These above bombings and morality surronding them,is entirely appropriate and relevent,given the grim likelyhood of russia likely to deploy chemical weapons soon and refusal of nato to enforce a no fly zone
I'd advise you not to waste any time getting into the legal game, because resting your case after making a twit of yourself is scarcely a good courtroom tactic.
Aside from anything else, one of the conditions of nato membership is that 2% of gdp is spent on defence forces. Would ye be comfortable with ove 7 billion going to it and where would it come from?
In fairness to Yurt2, I made the same misinterpretation. For future such occasions, you may want to italicize, bold, or even use “Ireland” instead of capitalizing “us”.
To be fair of the current 30 member nations of NATO only 10 spend 2% at least of gdp on defense. Ireland currently spends only 0.3% of gdp on defense. But as recently as the early 80's we were spending about 1.5% which would compare favorably with most of NATO's members.