"You might be less likely.........."
I don't think you can argue with physics. There is no might. Primary reason you are waiting at the lights at 02h00 in the morning, many will not detect ya on the bike. Induction loop will not trigger especially if its a non-steel bike, but the sensitivity can be increased.
Haha yeah I was waiting for the bad bit but apparently "cycling through roundabout" "carrying object while cycling" and "cycling through carpark" were as bad as it gets. Apparently he has absolutely loads of these stories about this one cyclist aswell (what route was he taking that he managed to follow the cyclist through all these locations anyway, did he turn off the road to follow him in his car?). Oh yeah and this lunatic behavior that affected literally nobody is apparently the reason all car drivers need to have dashcams installed aswell 😂
It really is mad the hysterical raving that the sight of a bicycle triggers in certain types.
Wait till you hear about motorists, Missus.
You'd need to know the one individual to understand. He regularly photographs cars, posts pictures of cars on twitter; used to do so here. It's his hypocrisy that's incredible. His latest obsession is photographing people stopped in traffic on their phones, but he's the type (much like some here), who see no incongruity in criticising that, while cycling onehanded holding a kid's scooter.
As to loads of stories - well Council staff joke that any meeting he's at will automatically take an extra 10 to 20 minutes as he waffles on about bikes. You could ask them if you don't believe me. Or ask parents dropping kids to Cappagh Park for Soccer - he has them plagued as well.
As to the route. He was going to Dunnes. I was too. I wouldn't dare overtake him. I stay well clear off all cyclists (1.5 metre rule), especially nutjobs such as he.
*Edited to add - those who are on Galway boards for a while will remember him well when he was here. He makes the cycling cultists here look very mild by comparison.
I dont believe you and even if these terrorized "plagued" soccer parents or mildly inconvenienced council staff exist (they dont) your posts are pathetic tbh, you sound like a complete and utter snowflake that the sight of someone going about their business on a bicycle incites such hysterical nonsense as this. "Nutjob" ffs.
Fairly harsh post, as a cyclist myself I find that lads antics to be incredibly tiresome. And if he is doing as Ceeview says then it's massively hypocritical. There's no particular reason for you to discredit the posters story.
Carrying something in your hand while cycling a bicycle is massively hypocritical compared to using a phone while operating a car? Yeah that makes a lot of sense.
One way streets, cycling on footpaths etc. Don't be cherry picking bits to suit now.
He says "pedestrian ways" whatever they are, not footpaths, dont go outright making things up to suit now.
Still a fine example of cyclist derangement syndrome though, someone getting around on a bicycle thats never going to hurt anyone has paragraphs of bile written about them online, called a hypocrite and a nutjob etc because he complains about people using a phone while in a car which kills and maims over and over again. Do you think they'd be getting this excited about literally any other form of transport?
Its like the lad from youtube, cyclingmikey. His videos have resulted in probably hundreds of points, fines and losses of licences for drivers using phones and driving on the wrong side of the road and the abuse he sometimes gets is unreal.
I liken it to clampers who get dogs abuse from folks who get caught parking where they shouldn't. If they did what they were supposed to, they wouldn't have a problem.
It's him and his antics, not his mode of transport that gets people's backs up.
On the scale of antics, where would this fall?
That's par for the course on that stretch of footpath. Morning, noon and night 7 days a week. Can't understand how it's allowed continue but it's like a lot of things in Galway really.
Indeed, hopefully there's some folk around Galway who can highlight these types of issues so that they can raise awareness and maybe get some fixed 😉
Is there a community warden in Galway?
There are a few of them. Or at least there were pre-Covid. Haven't seen them since.
the pro cycle lobby in full force here...... all cyclists are angels on the road.....
as for the cyclist mentioned earlier, he was recording people in their cars with kids also there was incidents where he was throwing himself on people's bonnet in westside. along with other videos of him blocking traffic while holding a camera.....
there is a way to report cars if you find reason to complain (although some of the recent complaints posted here shows some people have a chip on their shoulder that the cycle path was not proceeding) , shame there isn't the same for cyclists that actually works ( only works if person became known to gardai such as the person identified on this thread).
also cars on parked on footpath, i don't condone this behavior but not exactly relevant to the title of this thread. Then again a lot talked here isn't really on topic anyways.
Pretty grim antics there alright. I say Gardai don't even see this any more? Bohermore is a primary artery into the City Centre, this is not hidden away, it should not even need to be reported if we have active Gardai working in the City.
A type of Galway Syndrome variation on the Stockholm Syndrome that the Gardai have been conditioned to accept.
Well he/they arent doing a great job of it seeing as it hasn't been fixed in many a year.
That particular character's Tweets seem to have little to no interaction on them also so I'm not sure he has any real impact outside of annoying a lot of people.
Would make more sense to simply send a photo of such parking to the relevant councillors in the area and ask for their assistance.
I believe that he does. If I recall correctly he has been told to stop by one because he was highlighting too many issues
Surely not taking photographs of cars? Does he not know that it wears out their catalytic converter if you take too many photos?
But speaking of which;
if they are so compelled
perhaps they should throw their hat in the local elections. unseat some councilors that are anti bike.
You think that illegal parking like this gets sorted by sending a photo s Councillor?
Its been known to happen
Better than just whining online about it I'd say.
Does it upset you to see repeated examples of selfish and illegal parking shared in public?
Yes I'm at work here Andrew in floods of tears at the sight of cars. It's ok though I've an appointment with a therapist later so I'll work through it. Cheers for the concern, appreciated.
more like the same people whining online that doing anything about it in person.
City councillor raises concerns over cyclists running red lights
I am surprised the Gardai fell for this one again at the JPC from our local Cllr. FF FG
Must be the 25% decrease that is bothering FF so much 😂 From 8 in 2019 to 6 in 2020 - why focus on such a narrow inconsequential subset? If one stands at any traffic light junctions in the City for 10min would can see what the real issues are. If FF could get out of his Taxi and observe around him he might see the light compared with his Windscreen view of the world.
What can you do about it in person? I've tried all the options - contact Gardai, contact local clampers (Dublin), contact local parking wardens (DLR), speak to drivers directly, contact local Councillors, contact companies whose vehicles are blocking footpaths and cycle lanes, and the social media thing. None of them work consistently. I've had some successes with some of the channels, but more failures than successes. So the last resort is to 'whine online' or in other words, paint a clear picture for all of the general ignorance and selfishness of drivers who don't give a toss about others in their community.