Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
For day to day stuff, certainly.
For an event of this scale and supposed importance, terrible to be honest. Lacks warmth, which is vital.
You have a lot to learn about modern life. Now, if it was an auld one like me, stuck in her ways, I’d understand. But, I’ve learned to embrace Zoom and Teams as an acceptable, alternate way of communicating. Letting one’s dislike of someone because of their political beliefs cloud one’s view is immature and sad.
What's the bets the Irish write the US scripts and the Americans write what the Irish have to say?
😁
Is see Mary Lou met Biden today, maybe she stepped in?
I'd be sad for the man on a personal level, this event meant a lot to him. But if it is genuinely for the benefit of the country, I don't think a cold Zoom call is the best we could get out of it. No biggie, just an observation.
If people can sing the praises of Ireland in their treatment of Ukrainian refugees specifically and nobody can mention the hypocrisy inherent in that, because of how we don't treat other refugees, than it sounds like an echo chamber for professionals to me. I think I'll give it a miss.
For those confused, Linkedin is used by professionals the World over. It's a facebook/twitter to allow professionals to communicate/share idea's etc etc.
It is also used as a tool for people to gain employment and of course for people to headhunt top talent.
Of course, it has become a bit of a safe haven for people from facebook/twitter/online mob/etc
The fact he done with call even after testing will be appreciated by the President, the Irish in American and the strong Irish/American community.
To be honest I doubt anyone is too interested in the usual complainers online. I see Paddy Cosgrove is making an idiot of himself as usual, him and his "journalist" mate are an embarrassment to the entire country now. He is doing exception work in turning people back to the government.
What would have been awful is if An Taoiseach was unable to do the Zoom call. I wonder what Frankie would have to say then!
Don't use it. Sounds like somewhere were you can say what you want. An 'echo chamber' I think that is called.
😂
So you don't use the online tool but then go ahead and make a comment on who is on it and how it is used
🤦♂️
Isn't Linkedin more than likely just the same people that are on other social media apps, but on their best ass-kissing behaviour. I don't think it's possible for anyone to dislike or disagree with anyone. They just merge into clumps.
Just ignore. Anyone in this day and age complaining because of a Zoom call due to covid is baffling
What? Somebody might point out how other refugees are treated you mean? That'd be awful! 🙄
Not moaning at all JJ. Looking at how it might have been more effective than an old man talking to the telly. Somebody who has shone in business or arts in America would have been better than that static and obviously scripted event. Just saying, like.
Are you actually having a whinge at this???
Zoom and video calls are now a way of he world.
Like the fact you’re moaning about this really gives away your persona.
It is great to see the reaction on LinkedIn not just from ireland but across the World to the Irish government offer to the people of Ukraine, as one person said they are giving them “social security numbers is incredible”
On St Patrick Day this type of good will doesn’t go unnoticed, especially in the business World
Also at least on LinkedIn we are spared the online mob which have ruined every other platform
Well I didn't mean just rock up to the door as a stand in. But given the pandemic a cleared and vetted stand-in might have been an idea.
I can nearly guarantee the US officials would object to that.
We can save a fortune next year and do it this way if it has become 'fairly standard'. Good thinking Batman!
Maybe 3 years ago, now it’s fairly standard
But I’m sure some people will find reason to complain
SHould have had somebody to stand in, Biden sitting talking to the telly looked bad tbh.
The fact he is in the US and he has travelled etc will be appreciated by the President and the American people, especially with all the issues in Europe at the moment
It will take place virtually, with the shamrock being delivered by a government representative. Thankfully, Mr Martin doesn’t have any symptoms and is self isolating as required.
So what happens the event? Is it cancelled or will he be replaced?
I wouldn't bother to be honest.
If people actually visited the US they would be aware of what a big deal it is. Not just for all the Irish who have moved and live in the US, but for all the Irish Americans which go back generations.
Chicago which is a great city and huge Irish connections, this is a greta video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDFXqfnxf2Q
Another ignorant statement straight out of the deniers playbook.
COVID impacts different people in different ways. It’s not funny if people get the flu either.
What is funny though is the same people spewing that bile will be the first ones giving out that he has to spend a week longer in the US on taxpayer dime.
Covid at this stage is just a flu.
And you’re one of those people who wants everyone to live in misery and mocks anyone who doesn’t subscribe to it.
Anyone getting COVID at any stage is not funny.
And we’re the only country that gets a guaranteed meeting with the US President every year full stop. So yes, it is a big deal.
You're one of those people that have the "we're the only small country that gets a 1 on 1 guaranteed meeting with the US president every year.
The whole thing feeds into our inferiority complex as a nation. "Look, the big important people acknowledge we exist!!"
Twitter will be in meltdown later on when Joe talks about being Irish and quotes some Seamus Heaney. I think Twitter would breakdown if he referenced something like Tayto or Fr Ted.