Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,802 ✭✭✭AllForIt

IMHO, I don't agree with the gist of this.

Do you think Putin will or will not take Ukraine eventually? I do think he will even if it takes a number of years.

The 'keyboard warriors' as just trying to prevent things getting way worse, in the sense this extends to other countries, even if that takes years to transpire.

As for Kasparov, I don't see how hating Putin means he hates Russia. And he's good at taking out Kings and Queens! By using the best strategy.

Dictators like Putin are in this for the long game, 10 years, 20 years, whatever. It is simply my strategy to finish this as quickly as possible, rather than passively let it go on for decades.

And when it comes to Putins nuclear war threat's, why can't we threaten him with the same? Why are we intent on looking so passive. I don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Cody montana

The UA army announced that in Mariupol’ it eliminated a senior #Putin regime terrorist holding the rank of major general it’s the commander of the elite 150th Motorized Rifle Division, Oleg Mityayev

• Site Banned Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,764 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Meh. The Israelis got someone in a Dassault office in Switzerland, to sneak out the entire plans and schematics for the Mirage fighter bit by bit, day after day, where each would be photocopied and returned. Then Israel started manufacturing Mirages without paying Dassault. The Chinese had a great role model when it comes to theft of intellectual property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,781 ✭✭✭✭listermint

As I do you. So here we are on two sides of a table.

I think most Russians are grand..and many Russians have alot to answer for.

I also think theirs alot of trolls on here and some folks are here to pretend there is no disinformation war going on and never was.

But here we are with our opposing beliefs. I am however conscious that my beliefs are backed up by international interference in elections and a prelude to a ground war in 2014.

Your beliefs are based in calling people crack pots for thinking this disinformation campaign comes into forums and across all forms of social media.

Hayho , as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,781 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Putin doesn't have ten years. He's pretty old all things considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

And when it comes to Putins nuclear war threat's, why can't we threaten him with the same? Why are we intent on looking so passive. I don't get it.

Because he knows NATO leaders are rational people and would never follow through on such threats. So they would be just bluster..

Whereas the West cannot be absolutely certain the same applies in reverse...Hence the strategic advantage of 'playing the madman'....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Bayonet

"The largest export customers for Mirage IIICs built in France were Israel"

Which version are you talking about, because I've never heard this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

@listermint - Now we both know that's not a fabrication now , don't we.

Fixed that for ye.

Greek General: 'Some of our spears and swords are missing? What about shields?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,425 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It seems to be accepted by nearly every military analyst that the war is going very badly for Putin. The Russians have made surprisingly little ground in Ukraine in nearly three whole weeks of fighting - they can't even be said to have gotten off to a particularly good start in the first two or three days of the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Poland's PM @morawieckim in Kyiv after talks with @ZelenskyyUa @Denys_Shmyhal: EU has to grant Ukraine the candidate status ASAP, you must get defensive weapons

https://liveuamap.com/

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,525 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

How are they bullshit? They have been pictured together plenty of times.

Abramovich was a governor of an area in Easter Russia under Putin. A high court judge in 2012 stated he had a "very good relations" with Putin and "privileged access to" him. He was also the first seemingly to recommend to Yeltsin that Putin should be his successor. I would consider those close ties personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,748 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Has any other country done that yet or are Japan the first - I know the EU, US etc were talking about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

You'd have to wonder with the death toll starting to stack high, will the Russian people turn on Putin, i mean theres young lads in that tank that will never see home again because of an unjust war caused by one maniac.

Something is very wrong with their military. From top to bottom. Their intelligence can't be that good either because they thought it would be a piece of cake. They literally live next door to Ukraine with presumably millions of ethnic Russians living there, and they didn't know they were going to have to battle for every inch of Ukraine? it's a complete disaster for them. This is like the west's Iraq war x10, and it's only been 3 weeks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's hardly a stretch.

I'm really not outraged. Flabbergasted, yes, but if anything fascinated watching the same tired old simplistic tropes being blindly led out as an overemotional reaction to the overwhelming current. The same basic Them Vs Us retarded thinking that causes crap like this war. Very human. Not so much the good side though.

For the craic, name anything "culturally significant" or scientific, or economical from the continent of Africa since 1992. No? How about the whole of the Middle East. Oceania. South America. You've a fair list to be going on with there. Does that make all or one of those examples degenerated, retrograde and rude? Hey, let's get closer to the nub of things; name anything "culturally significant" or scientific, or economical from Ukraine since 1992. I'll help you here with the Maidan revolution. However I'd bet the farm most here typing away furiously had the barest notion of it, if any, before this invasion kicked off. Hell, the plain truth is the only reason I knew anything about it, and it was limited, was because I knew a Ukrainian woman a while back. Much like most when the word "virus" was mentioned before covid thought of a bug going around that antibiotics helped, with a bit of ebola on a TV show or Hollywood flic thrown in.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

That raises another aspect to all this. The West has ploughed an awful lot of weapons into the country for obvious and great reasons at this time and they need all they can get, but when this is over and Ukraine are rid of the Russian military, that leaves a lot of military grade weaponry in the country and not just assault rifles. Handheld and portable anti tank and anti aircraft weapons for example. And I doubt anything like a definitive inventory is being kept for obvious and practical reasons. If they get into the wrong hands the threat of appalling terrorist atrocities would be a concern.

I was thinking about this the other day. If a peace deal is agreed that splits Ukraine, there is a chance of civil war (remote, but possible). With all those weapons floating about, that would be quite a problem indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭rogber

If you think Russian is a relatively simple language you must speak very little, yes words like "internet" and mobilniy telefon are close to identical, but it stops there. For native English speakers Russian is an extremely difficult language, and compared to French, Italian, even German there are very few shared words. And yes, I understand it well.

As for Russian culture post 1992, there's plenty if you care to look. One example: the film's of Zvyagintsev, which take an extremely critical view of modern Russia

Interesting amount of gain added to the desk brightness - almost as if someone didn't want anyone to make out what was on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Longing

It's a stretch that I see reds under the bed. That's a pretty crap analysis. Although you're a good man for that considering the absolute paragraphs you spit out to get a micro point across.

We actually align on alot of stuff. But you've an awful inflated opinion of your own opinion. And if someone remotely goes against your analysis you're two feet tackle man front and centre.

But yeah

Reds under the bed etc etc etc.... Yawn

You continue to link to this site without linking to the sources. I can only assume you are trying to drive traffic to it for some personal reason.

There is a source link for everything on that site, please use it

image.png

Hell, even use the share link if you must drive traffic to that site. Posters here would then be able to access the actual sources

Linking to https://liveuamap.com/ is the equivalent to posting a something from boards and linking to https://www.boards.ie .

Wibbs, he's involved in Russian politics and he's saying more or less the same thing as:

And Estonia's parliament has called for NATO to establish a no fly zone. Face facts, there are people who know more about Russia, Russian mindsets and Russian politics than you, I or anyone else here, who have made sane risk assessments that differ from yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,096 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

"Like children" is putting it mildly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

He hasn't got a number of years AFI. Not even close. One way or the other this will end, good bad or indifferent within this year, if not sooner. There's too much at stake, not least of which the flow of money. That's my prediction anyway, for what it's worth. Which is eff all. But we'll see how that plays out.

Kasparov is a great chess player. A board game with rules. Humanity isn't nearly so playable or predictable, though chess players like to think it is. He's been married three times, so he's apparently not so great at the basic two way humanity stuff.

The muppet in the Kremlin has maybe ten years. I strongly suspect this misadventure has shortened that. And there are more ways to skin the cat of ending things quickly than escalating them. And it saves more lives.

Threatening nuclear war is a no win game. You don't respond to dangerous humanity ending threats with more threats. That's more in the realm of the schoolyard stuff of my dad will beat up your dad. It won't end well. For anyone. The Kremlin muppet has done so and yet he and his subjects are now looking down the barrel of a recession and expulsion from the world on nearly every level. The stakes are that high. IMHO he's signed his own "retirement" with that threat, never mind the criminal invasion on top.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.