Ive been saying it from the start that the whole "he'll stop at Ukraine" approach is very naïve, NATO should have went in "peacekeeping" with putin when he went into the Donbass region and make a war awkward to fight.
Thats what he should have been met with a "You launch at us we will Launch all our nukes at you" attitude and told out right and not the appeasement he was met with to encourage his bullshit even further, self serving scum like putin would never risk his own safety to launch nukes provided they even have some maintained if the army is anything to go by they cant even change tires!
Macron is Zelenskyy lite.
Or maybe, more accurate in alcohol terms, Zelenskyy.. 0%.
Setting aside the fact that many people don't seem to think it's possible for Putin to achieve virtually any of his objectives in Ukraine at this stage...
The EU and NATO are now in a position to prepare carefully for the "what next" should Russia continue down this path:
All of these issues become rushed and forced if EU/NATO engages in a shooting war with Russia; and this is all ignoring the escalation routes open to Russia should they become cornered.
I mean I'm deeply conflicted about it and wish the EU/NATO could just pile into Ukraine and knock seven shades of shite out of the Russians; but I genuinely don't see the risk versus reward for doing so right now.
For the "greater good" right now it cant be justified NATO going in but it d be glorious to see the Russians get a right good hiding and sent packing.
Not suspicious - I think she was aiming her protest message at people in the West as much as the Russian public. 'Russians against War' at the foot of her poster was self explanatory.
The sad thing here is the sheer amount of Russian troops who I'd imagine are not happy about being there. We've seen mass desertions already, and the miserable conditions of what they are dealing with like out of date food rations. It'd be great of Elon Musk's threat of 1-1 combat could happen, because all this loss of life is due to one madman's delusions
About 12 years ago, a colleague at work was telling me how his brother, who had a shoe making factory in China, had relocated to Kenya in Africa due to ever increasing costs. It was no longer economic for him to produce his shoes in China, and sell them in Europe. India and Africa are now serious competitors for China. Just it will take a bit of time for the dynamics to work through the global system. but work it's way it will, and not to the benefit of China. Putin has really triggered a massive rethink in global affairs. It may be the only worthwhile thing to emerge from this war.
That's funny, as I'm suspicious of you. Not sure if it's snake in the grass or useful idiot.
Funnily, that’s also an excellent basic description of communism in practice (as opposed to in theory). “People drunk on power” would be another good one. Russian mentality still steeped in it, China immersed in it.
Do you think it was a Russian false flag event or a Ukrainian PR stunt ???
She works in the media, is well aware of the widespread recognition of English, and probably considered it the best way to go viral
Her sign didn't read "NO WAR", it read "NOWAR" so not likely to have been written or worded by a fluent English speaker
He will stop at Ukraine since his army has demonstrated that it can't go any further.
It'll be barely able to take Ukraine if indeed it is able to at all.
This is actually worse than the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. They are going to walk out of Ukraine soon with their tails between their legs. Zs dead baby Zs dead.
I've seen several military experts suggest Russia has made as much progress into Ukraine as is possible and won't be able to make any more. It can carry on fighting for months but will be stuck where it is and not able to make any more significant ground.
Highly recommend a read of the above. Putins Russia has been working on this since 2018 or earlier. The potential for a line of bad code to result in something similar, but worse than, the recent Indian icbm launch is real.
Sanctions should only end with nuclear disarmament, nothing less. We should expect other nuclear armed western countries to provide some carrot in reducing or eliminating theirs too.
As long as we in the EU import goods from countries with no EPA standards like China and India it makes a mockery of climate action.
Same as EU green initiative’s whilst reliant on Russian gas and oil
We are where are now because of nonsense EU virtue signalling on a grand scale.
with China and Russia we let the foxes into the hen houses.
Your right I forgot about that as well. They knew they needed to do that work as well they just didn't bother.
Tit for tat with the Hague:-
Mr Wallace said Russia “has genuine security concerns about NATO going into Ukraine but that doesn’t change the fact that what Russia has done now is a crime.”
The pair said their stance was one against the increased militarisation by European allies and “other serious clauses” they believe would prolong the war.
Muppets!
Another bullshit RuSSian "Wunderwaffen".
Apparently the British army / Queens Guard members that went AWOL to fight in Ukraine, were killed when their apartment was struck.
I wonder if the British got to them first as they were in a panic about Russia using them as evidence of NATO involvement if caught.
You haven't provided a source of any kind and have made an explicit claim. Vague statements isn't backing up the claim.
Same as EU green initiative’s whilst reliant on Russian gas and oil.
Which would actually be fine if Putin hadn't turned out to be completely unreliable as a partner they could deal with. We can buy things from others like the Saudis, Chinese, Israelis etc. despite their dubious behaviour in some spheres of society. Not sure why people continue to go off on rants about the move to greener energy. We are doing it now because we can and should and because we know it will take quite some time to get the mix right.
Probably the same military experts who a few weeks ago said they'd take Ukraine in 2 days.
Russia can still win the war, just depends how much destruction they're willing to do. You do get the sense however, that if Putin could start over again, he'd have restricted himself to the breakaway regions in the east, incorporate them into Russia, and strengthen his hand politically, instead of this disaster. We've all overreached once in our life,albeit not on this scale
A CNN journalist says US officials estimate "about 6,000 to 8,000 Russian ground-force fatalities" so far.
That would mean "there have been more Russian combat fatalities in just about two weeks of war in Ukraine than the US had in both Iraq and Afghanistan in 20 years."
On sheer numbers they would have had logic on their side but that assumed the Russians could actually prosecute such a short war and that Ukraine would simply capitulate. I think it is more likely the Russians will begin to look for an out via talks, one that they claim as a victory of sorts: probably those rump regions in the east. Sanctions are just a few weeks old, nobody wants to buy their oil and it's all downhill from here.
the Recent photo op between the Russian and Chinese presidents re ‘cementing ‘ their friendships does not preclude a level of ‘ friendship’ between the U and Ch presidents . Ukr and China have some kind of a nuclear reactor deal between them and China have investment interests in Uke also. Is this not sufficient grounds for Ukr to REQUEST arms from China and put a ‘spanner into the works’. Such a move would help to neutralise China in the war
If Russia do indeed take control of Kyiv what then?
Will Ukraine forces lay done arms since their capital is taken and president captured/killed?
It's becoming more evident by the day that Russia can't control the whole country so it's going to have to be Go big or Go home soon for Putin you would imagine.
When the dust settles and we look back and find out what really happened in this war I would not be too surprised to discover that a couple of these high level Russian officers deaths were internal on the Russian side. Officers who questioned the czar, or got too popular with the troops and were seen as a threat. Russian autocrats have previous in this kinda thing and the fog of war is ideal for that sort of "cleaning house".
Russia can't take Kyiv this would be wasted ink discussing.